WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Penn on "The Avengers" Status

Posted: June 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack Penn on "The Avengers" StatusSubmit Comment
Writer Zack Penn (X2, Elektra, X-Men: The Last Stand, The Incredible Hulk) spoke at the Los Angeles Film Festival about writing "The Avengers," the movie that will bring together several Marvel superheroes.

"They're doing Captain American and Thor first, and then Avengers is coming out," Penn said. "They want to see that they're all connected. I'm taking a meeting next week with the Thor and Captain America people, and we are all going to get together, and I will see what is going to happen. I'll see where they are leaving the characters; it's pretty complicated."

He continued: "There's a board that is tracking what is happening. [We'll see] how this movie overlaps in that movie. Marvel is autonomous now. It is night and day: Everyone has read every comic. They know how to make a cool movie."

But even though Penn is surrounded by very knowledgeable people, he still remains insecure about whether "The Avengers" will turn out to be a good movie. "It's hard to make a good movie," he said. "We all have the best intentions, and it still might suck."

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:15:03 PM

SECOND
acslaterson writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 8:06:08 PM

Jesus Christ, give this to JMS(who writes a damn good Thor book and can write screenplays like The Changeling). I don't know why Marvel is even trusting this guy with the pivotal Avengers script. It makes me nervous as f*ck!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 8:43:45 PM

acslaterson, thats exactly what I was thinking. and borat just f*cking go away or say something that actually has something to do with the subject at hand/;
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 9:04:10 PM

Jesus borat, go f*ck your Dad... again.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 9:07:05 PM

And I don't like anyone writing The Avengers to use the word 'suck' as a possible outcome for this movie. He's not being honest as much as he's covering his ass.
AJWPProfile writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 11:12:45 PM

Can they just adapt the "Marvel Zombies" comic books...Hilarious collection my friend handed me the copies to borrow.
tcu21 writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 11:47:33 PM

I wouldn't trust Zack Penn with this, the super hero movie scripts he has written haven't been great, although I do give him props for The Incredible Hulk. After Elektra I'm surprised they didn't take away his right to write anything at all haha.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 1:32:41 AM

What about Ant-Man? Wasn't he supposed to get his due in 2010? Or did that fall through. And I agree, AJWPProfile. They have some fake "Marvel Zombies" trailers swimming across YouTube.
TheCount writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 1:32:47 AM

They should do Marvel Zombies, any movie is better with Zombies, I didnt like pride and prejudice but Im sure Ill love Pride and Prejudice and Zombies when it comes out
acslaterson writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 2:52:32 AM

I thought I read in the Marvel forums they might be doing an animated Marvel Zombies. Can't remember if it was an actual story or a fan suggestion.
telur writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:56:12 AM

give the script to mark millar, Geoff Johns, or Michael Brian Bendis
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:49:17 AM

Honesty is a good thing on this one as the odds are against it.
quakes1121 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:51:51 AM

Anyone attached to X-3 in terms of writing and directing should not be given any more work on superhero movies. They have failed miserably and have inevitably devalued the most marketable and successful Marvel franchise in history, dont let Zack Penn near the avengers, PLEASE !!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:33:24 AM

Zzzzz
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:48:23 AM

Wow, Penn really down on himself at the end
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 12:11:01 PM

He's not a stellar writer. I mean... he wrote a better second Hulk. But the first movie didn't set the bar very high. This guy may off himself (Heaven forbid) in a fit of depression looking at his blank pages of the Avengers Script to be, and we may actually get a great writer in his place.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 12:26:26 PM

I like this guy's confidence. I guess he's being realistic considering the piles of sh*t (Spidey 3, both Hulk movies, Punisher Warzone, and Wolverine) Marvel has been turning out lately. WP was even reporting that they were considering WILL SMITH for Capt. America. That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard! This company is obviously having problems. They should be kissing Downey Jr.'s ass for lending so much of his talent to Ironman. Without him Marvel would be in the bailout line with everyonelse. At least this writer doesn't have his head stuck in the sand.
tolgaboy writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 3:49:17 PM

that story teller has already f*cked up x3
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:38:27 PM

I thought the last Hulk movie was pretty damn good, so I'm sure he could possibly write a decent Avengers script. But this movie is sooo far away. Who knows if it will really ever become a movie. What happens if Thor or Captain America (or both) bomb? You think they'd still try to make this?
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 9:53:09 PM

Zack Penn better pull it together. I hope Marvel knows what they're doing.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved