WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Oscars Will Now Have 10 Best Picture Nominees

Posted: June 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Oscars Will Now Have 10 Best Picture NomineesSubmit Comment
The 82nd Academy Awards, which will be presented on March 7th, 2010, will have 10 feature films vying in the Best Picture category, Academy Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Sid Ganis announced.

"After more than six decades, the Academy is returning to some of its earlier roots, when a wider field competed for the top award of the year," said Ganis. "The final outcome, of course, will be the same one Best Picture winner but the race to the finish line will feature 10, not just five, great movies from 2009."

He continued: "Having 10 Best Picture nominees is going allow Academy voters to recognize and include some of the fantastic movies that often show up in the other Oscar categories, but have been squeezed out of the race for the top prize."

The 82nd Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Tuesday, February 2nd.

Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OLK writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:11:53 PM

Idiots! Now its less f*cking prestigious. Hence A Nomination isn't as honorable as it used to be. But I guess a win is a bit better. Still, I don't Like it.
BREALZ writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:13:06 PM

great, more crap to choose from!
borat writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:16:12 PM

lol a year too late no? the dark knight wouldve been in there
Gunslinger writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:25:44 PM

Hey, maybe Bruno will make it...
AshTrey writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 7:30:48 PM

TRANSFORMERS 2 IS NOMINAATED. THATS A JOKE
acslaterson writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 8:10:01 PM

I thought they were going to broaden the categories and give out more awards, more nominations is retarded for one reward. I am one of those people that actually try to go see all of the nominated films in the theater, looks like I will be cutting back.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 8:52:31 PM

God, if this was last year than Wall-E, Dark Knight, Wrestler, and In Bruges would all have been nominated. That sucks.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 8:56:49 PM

The Reader should've never been nominated for best pic. That just told me the Academy sucks Harvey Weinstein's c*ck to no end.
Ranger writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 9:05:45 PM

Oh, just great. Now they have even a wider field to make their political choices and further taint the Oscar's. Nice work!
thedotsays writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 11:01:37 PM

Yeah cause there were so many potential candidates last year they had to expand the field. f*ck outta here. And for sh*t's sake, now I gotta hear "Oh it was an honor just being nominated..." 9 f*cking times over.
DisasterBlaster writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 11:35:39 PM

f*ck off, Oscars.
tcu21 writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 11:41:53 PM

I kind of like the change but at the same time it takes some of the prestige out of being nominated. Looking from another point of view winning the award out of a field of 10 makes the win that much more prestigious. I can't wait to see who they nominate this year. My picks are: 1. The Road 2. Bruno 3. Shutter Island (Scorsese, c'mon it's a shoe in) 4. Public Enemies 5. Funny People 6. Up 7. New York, I Love You 8. The Informant 9. Sherlock Holmes 10. Low Budget indy film that grosses over 100 mil (A la Juno or Little Miss Sunshine.
jwhite writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 12:35:01 AM

I don't know how I feel about this. They will probably still snub some amazing movie no matter how many nominees are in the best picture category.
IFP writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 1:53:53 AM

How are they gonna find 10 movies that qualify for best picture? IMO the only fair way would be to allow foreign movies into the best picture category. Pan's Labyrinth for example was amazing and could have been nominated Best Picture instead of or in addition to best foreign film.
Foop writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 2:14:47 AM

I'm not convinced there will even BE 10 great movies this year. so far we have...um...well...taken, up, drag me to hell and...star trek? did I miss any?
bacci40 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 3:10:26 AM

ok, this woulda worked in the 70s and 80s...but now, when most major films are sequels or remakes...its bs...10 films? most of the time, at least 2 of the 5 suck ass
brgrams33 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:25:38 AM

I don't think everyone is understanding... Just because they have 5 extra noms doesn't mean they will have movies in here like the summer blockbusters. They will pick a bunch of no-name art house films that nobody gives a sh*t about. This IS the Academy after all...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:54:50 AM

And Transformers 2 will win every one- 10 Oscars for best picture!!! That movie was so great- that I don't ever have to watch another movie ever again!! In fact I'm going to marry Michael Bay (Jerry Buttheimer is best man) and move to Vegas and gamble, over eat and watch strippers. YEAHHH VIVA LA USA!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:56:22 AM

For all the teenager morons on this site- all those things are 'BAD' things...
hbomb28 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 11:01:53 AM

this dumb just nominate better movie
pjmbdm writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 4:38:19 PM

Take it easy OLK, they are picking 10 movies out of the hundreds that come out every year. I'd say it's still prestigious. Overall it's just a bunch of bullsh*t to make actors feel better about themselves but don't get me wrong, I love watching the show cuz of the cleavage in HD. hahaha
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:12:52 PM

SO now 9 of our favourites will lose to the one boring piece of sh*t no one liked...
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:14:49 PM

this is so the Academy can make more money from Studios backing nominations...but if this event TRULY wanted to crown the best films of the year it would include some of the awesome and original indie flick that ARENT mass marketed by Fox Searchlight. But its the Oscars so that'll never happen.
KirkLazerus writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:18:34 PM

yay more terrible movies to get nominated

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved