WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is "Transformers 2" Poorly Marketed?

Posted: June 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is "Transformers 2" Poorly Marketed?Submit Comment
Back in May, Michael Bay wrote an email to some Paramount executives about how disappointed he is with the marketing campaign for his "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen." Check out the email below and let us know if you think the film has been marketed poorly.

Bay's Email [via TMZ]: "I've been locked away editing for six months, but I have been waiting and waiting for the "anticipation" of an "event movie" to make it to the "public zeitgeist." You all talk so glowingly about "Transformers" being the movie of the summer but unfortunately this has not gotten to the public.

I still run into so many people even this weekend with kids that ask "is that movie coming out this year?" Your owner Sumner went on air in wall street last week talking how Paramount was going to claim the summer with "Star Trek" and "GI Joe." I guess he didn't even know it was coming out either.

I'm sure the Yahoo downloads of the trailer are far lower than last movie - I would of got something saying how we broke download records like last time. Right now we are not an event. There is no anticipation. Remember back to Spiderman 2 - it was everywhere.

At this time, last movie we had a 30 minute MTV event around the Video Awards, now we have our two leads just announcing an award - they want me to play a small clip. I consider this so lame. Clip don't blow people away!

I cannot figure if this is a cash issue with your company? Is there some clever idea why are we not spending? I'm not sure. I'm sure though, the movie will do fine, but not to your internal expectations because right now we are fooling ourselves by being cocky.
"

Click here to read more about "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen."

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 4:17:50 AM

Michael Bay talk too much. Transformers 2 will blow anyway
T.S. writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 4:35:26 AM

I hated the first one and don't care to see the second one, but, I do think they have poorly promoted this film, which has the ability to be a monster hit.
masKritic writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 5:14:48 AM

whoa whoa whoa michael bay didnt want the first trailer out until like May so he can stfu.
Kid_A writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 5:57:01 AM

"Poorly"... it's not the actual word to define the marketing of T2 now - for two months only this movie is talked among with Terminator 4, so not commercially, but speculationally marketed excellent.
PirateDave128 writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 9:03:53 AM

Who cares the film is likey to be terrible anyway
darthraige writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 9:05:31 AM

Poorly marketed as in, let's release 20 different TV spots with all different footage before the f*cking movie comes out? That's one thing I don't get. Ok so, let's ruin the whole entire story and movie by releasing new footage for each spot and drive people away. Thank MFC I didn't watch the TV Spots.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:37 AM

WHO CARE! DONT KILL ARCEE!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 10:09:08 AM

He's setting up the blame game- when it bombs or under performs- Michael BIG ASS Bayheimer (as Obama Calls him) will say- it was all because of the marketing- Had nothing to do with robot balls, poor writing and directing.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 10:18:57 AM

This sounds suspect.
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 11:13:30 AM

Well... there was an earlier article released on here that said the Mother Companies were strangling the $-making movie side of their businesses. This makes sense actually. Paramount probably figured Transformers 2 didn't require the marketing funds like the other movies did. So, this could all be true.
Stuntastic writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 11:29:34 AM

Is he serious? I guess he didn't realize that we were in a recession. It's the same reason why GM isn't doing as much advertising for the Camaro like they did in the first movie, hell they're bankrupt.
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 11:35:02 AM

I hear ya. But I think his complaint was just more towards the other movies getting more of the marketing $ pie and not his. These Director's are pretty possessive about their movies.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 12:19:06 PM

That sh*t is f'n everywhere...how can he say that?? I can't go 30 seconds without hearing or seeing that sh*t on tv.
Ranger writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 12:30:31 PM

He's high.
The-BRAD writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 1:51:25 PM

No one else is going to comment on his sh*tty grammar?
The-BRAD writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 1:54:36 PM

If you're going to get all pissy with the people who cut your cheques and fund your 'project', at least appear intelligent! Bay's an ass. (Even Obama thinks so)
Osiris3657 writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 2:10:42 PM

Yea, I agree that his grammar is f*cking awful...is that really is an E-mail from him. Embarrassing
bluemeenie writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 2:15:31 PM

[because right now we are fooling ourselves by being c*cky] Like penis measuring contests! Now there's some marketing!! Come on I put balls on the robots!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 3:18:07 PM

The critics are poorly marketing this film.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 4:34:46 PM

He must not watch very much tv or sports. I was so sick of seeing Trans 2 trailers during the NBA playoffs that I flipped channels everytime one came on. There's only so much Shia Screaming I can take.
usualclerk writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 5:09:40 PM

The film is garbage and he is just trying to cover his arse!
Eben1277 writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 9:16:57 AM

He has been burned by poor marketing in the past. The Island was amazing, even the critics received it well, but, as good as it was, it was marketed ass backwards and made nothing.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 24th, 2009 at 10:07:10 AM

"He has been burned by poor marketing in the past. The Island was amazing, even the critics received it well, but, as good as it was, it was marketed ass backwards and made nothing." Yeah, I can say too that "The Island" was a good film, but didn't get the recognition it deserved.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved