WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Guillermo Del Toro's "Frankenstein" Details

Posted: June 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Guillermo Del ToroSubmit Comment
Last week, director Guillermo del Toro revealed that he will probably begin filming his "Frankenstein" film in about five years, but has already cast his friend Doug Jones (Hellboy, Pan's Labyrinth) as the monster.

To get a few more details, Sci Fi Wire caught up with Jones, who revealed that he learned of the news the same way as everyone else, on the internet.

"Guillermo did say to the press that he's already cast me as his monster, but we've yet to talk about it," he explained. "But in his mind, if that's what he's decided, then it's done. He's got a four-picture deal with Universal, so once he's done with The Hobbit, I think the first thing that's up on the docket will be Frankenstein. And reinvention is going to be the name of it, because he's going back to the Mary Shelley book and starting fresh with it."

Even though "Frankenstein" will not go into production for several more years, Jones said that he will soon meet with del Toro to begin doing make-up tests. "We are starting makeup tests, actually, in a couple weeks," he said. "We are going to do some tests just to see, because he has five years to play with this. He's taking that luxury of time to make this absolutely perfect."

Jones added that the monster will be based on the artwork of the famed horror illustrator Bernie Wrightson, who spent close to a decade creating illustrations for a special print edition of Shelley's Frankenstein. "It will not be a big, lumbering Boris Karloff type, but more of a skinny, skeletal, stringy-muscled version made from spare parts of some other guy," Jones said.

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 7:14:21 PM

oh snap FIRST suck it!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 7:21:22 PM

borat please just kill yourself man,
lostwarrior writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 7:43:43 PM

now on the topic at hand. Ive never been a fan of Frankenstein at all. But if Deltoro is doing it im sure its going to be well done. So much time is being put into this project already. reboots or remakes are gettin really old. But this might be the exception. Hopefully at least. it really depends on how much creative control Deltoro really has on this one.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 8:50:57 PM

ugh I was hoping Doug Jones would play Dr. Frankenstein but.. of COURSE he has to get into the makeup and play the monster.. Shame, Del Toro will probably cast Jude Law or some sophisticated brat as Dr. F
lostwarrior writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 9:02:49 PM

yeah i was right natashaliddleston, sorry, and i did not even read the f*cking books. and this guy wont be needing a lot of makeup. and in the last posting it even said he was playing the monster not the dr. so please read the entire article before you want to make an ass out of yourself.
acslaterson writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:05:03 PM

f*cking Christ!!! Stop talking about sh*t you are GOING to do and concentrate on your current project! I don't want to see news stories about what you are doing 5 years from now.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:14:58 PM

people usually never do what they plan on doing 5 years later...and that 5 ends up turning into somewhere between 5-10...cuz it just lags
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:36:12 PM

haha lostwarrior you are a worthless tool, READ the previous post about this project ENTIRELY... of course, you do know how to read don't you? Or am I talking to a small brained chap? The first post did NOT say Doug Jones was portraying a monster, it stated simply "Frankenstein" then Del Toro was working on make-up for the film. It didn't say for Jones or any other actor involved. It's also hilarious how desperate you are to be right. Must have a micropenis for that kind of inept logic... Thanks for making an ass out of yourself.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:41:51 PM

and also sweetie... don't even think about debating things with me if you haven't read through the source material. Lostwarrior.. truly lost. Bye bye jackoff. *ps: How does it feel having your balls tramped on by a girl?*
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:46:32 PM

Yeah, because taking five seconds to talk about a future film five years in production really puts a crimp on all his other work. Del Toro should refrain from eating, sleeping, f*cking and breathing, because acslaterson doesn't think the direcotr should do anything but concentrate on his one and only current project. You do realize these directors have DOWN TIME, when they aren't working on one and only current project? That's when they work on other stuff. It's called artistic dedication. It's called passion. But you just want him to stop because YOU say so? I mean, has the guy EVER put out a really bad film just because he wasn't concentrating on his one and only current project? No, he hasn't, and because of this, you need to stop trying to control everything. Didn't Fight Club teach you anything?
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:47:22 PM

"How does it feel having your balls tramped on by a girl" Depends on what she looks like, how much she weighs and if she's wearing high heels.
acslaterson writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:09:29 PM

It is the second story in the past week on a movie that is 5 years out, but none on his current project of The Hobbit film(s)? That makes absolutely no sense to me. Have you heard news stories about James Cameron's next flick? No, he is busy busting his balls on Avatar. I love del Toro's work but I don't need stories about his 4th project down the line. Give me updates on what you are actually doing now.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:17:16 PM

James Cameron is just that way. He's ALWAYS considering other projects, but he doesn't really talk about them. He doesn't talk about his current projects either. In fact, I hear VERY, VERY little industry news about him. He's something of a mystery to those that don;t know him. So he's a bad example. And we've had Hobbit news on WP and other places, just nothing relevant. We all know the movie is coming out, so daily news briefs on the Hobbit aren't necessary. It's not like del Toro talks alot. Personally, I like to hear about the FUTURE. Films a few years away interest me more than films due within a year. I mean, they'll be here soon enough, but it's nice to know what's to look forward too in the coming years, and watch the evolution of those films and how their shaping up. Furthermore, back to Cameron, the fact he's not talking much about Avatar must mean it's a beast. I can wait, though. He kinda went south with Titanic and his ten year hiatus, so I'm not in a hurry to see Avatar.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:18:00 PM

relevant=recently.
acslaterson writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:33:38 PM

It says they are starting make up testing in a couple of weeks, it just seems a little early when filming on The Hobbit hasn't started yet. I just don't want del Toro to extend himself too far. Pan's Labyrinth is one ofmy favorite movies and I want him to keep turning out quality projects.
minkowski writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:44:34 PM

While not a fan per se, he's something of a genius, obviously. He's probably one of those guys that likes to open his Christmas presents early. He can't wait, like a little kid. He probably just wants to toss some makeup on that Doug guy to get stoke his anticipation. I'm sure, and other's will agree, that when filming starts on the Hobbit, he'll invest himself in that film entirely. He's no slouch. He's no Michael Bay.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 10:38:51 AM

["It will not be a big, lumbering Boris Karloff type, but more of a skinny, skeletal, stringy-muscled version made from spare parts of some other guy,"] AND GAY
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 23rd, 2009 at 10:59:53 AM

@Lostwarrior, Agree Borat needs to leave. I think Del Toro is a good match for an exact retelling of Frankenstein. I will say I never really bothered by Kenneth Branagh and Di Niro's take though. Still Del Toro will make this gold.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved