WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Red Sonja" Remake to Begin Filming Next Year

Posted: June 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Red Sonja" Remake to Begin Filming Next YearSubmit Comment
Last year, Robert Rodriguez was planning to film an adaptation of "Red Sonja," with his girlfriend Rose McGowan (Grindhouse) in the lead. The goal was to have the film in theaters by 2009.

Now, producer Joe Gatta spoke to Empire magazine [via Coventry Telegraph] about the current status of "Red Sonja," revealing that the movie has been delayed and the new plan is to begin filming in early 2010 and release the movie by later that year.

"Because of certain issues and the economy, we had to change our plan a bit. It's frustrating because we thought we'd make the movie last year, before Conan," he explained.

He added that "Red Sonja" will be an origin story that will ignore the previous 1985 film, and instead will be based on the original Marvel comic book created by Roy Thomas and Barry Windsor-Smith in 1973.

Despite the fact that she started out as a secondary character in a "Conan the Barbarian" comic, Gatta is certain she has enough standalone appeal for a solo movie. "She's beautiful and sexy, and she kicks ass," said Gatta. "Although you have to be really careful so it's not campy. You want to make it real. Make her convincingly tough. And I think we have a script that's cracked it."

The new Red Sonja film will be directed by Rodriguez' long-time associate Douglas Aarniokoski, who helmed "Highlander: Endgame" in 2000 and whose credits are mainly as an assistant director on such films as "From Dusk Till Dawn," "The Crow: City of Angels," "Austin Powers," and "Resident Evil: Extinction."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:53:36 PM

I believe he had nothing to do with the first Highlander (as the article isn't specific until they mention: 'End Game' later). His credits on IMDB sure don't indicate that. Oh and: 'Because of certain issues and the economy, we had to change our plan a bit...' means his financing fell through. And there's an interest for Red Sonja as a mainstream character like the people voted with their dollars for CatWoman... meow... Zzzzzz... Get Red Sonja bent over by Conan and we'll watch.
acslaterson writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:59:34 PM

I don't know, you make a female lead version of 300 and it could work.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:04:04 PM

Only if she ices up or pinches her nipples like Cox and Aniston (or better yet, they both pinching each others nipples) on Friends did.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 8:16:53 PM

i know how the word remake is annoyingly annoying heh...but i do like the fact that they're basing it off the origin marvel comic book...now...if only they stay true to it!....this is common problem with movies...most never stay true when they're based off of something...whether if it's books, true story/events, doesn't matter...they change it dramatically...and they change it dramatically also...did anybody here know that roald dahl was disappointed with 'willy wonka and the chocolate factory'?...lots of things in the book had to be changed for the movie...but they didn't have the technology to show everything the right way....so why change all that mr. tim burton??...it's why i'm also having 2nd thoughts about the new alice in wonderland...i have a feeling that burton is gonna follow the lewis carroll story...and then spice it up the way he did 'CATCF'...but comparing those two...i'd say alice will have a better 'translation'
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 10:03:36 PM

Yeah the word remake is annoying. But also the people that go crazy over the word.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 12:34:10 AM

everybody is going crazy over that word....so they changed it to reboot or retelling with hopes that everything was fine...hell no it ain't
telur writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 3:18:05 AM

i only willing to see red sonja remake if Rose McGowan naked
shteak writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 8:37:29 AM

Roseanne Barr... Then i'll watch it.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:06:58 AM

Dont get me wrong, Rose McGowan in super hot, but shes also like 5'3" and has zero muscletone. Brigitte Neilsen was 6'1" and even looked a little awkward slingin a huge broad sword. My point being, there aint a sinlge actress in Hollywood with the size or the chops to make this role halfway believable. Come on Rod, you can do better than this!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:30:33 AM

BTW. Jessica Beil is has to be the fittest actress in Hollywood and yet she's only been cast in like one or two action movies. Somebody should get their sh*t together and put those guns and that booty on the big screen slingin a broad sword. I'd pay double to see her kickin some barbarian ass!
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:53:21 AM

@SACdaddy - you're right. Biel is about the only person that could do this up right.
Cinestarr writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 3:38:17 PM

No matter who's casted it will suck just like the first.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:05:54 PM

Yeah. Sonja is NOT a main stream character. Unless... she time travels, and she and Catwoman oil up and roll around on some rooftop! OK... off to make some phone calls... brb!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 8:30:25 PM

hey maybe they could get both jessica and rose to be in it. U know, have a girl on girl fight to the death, to decide who red sonja would be.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 9:37:37 PM

Hell... Roseanne Barr would only have to roll onto Biel!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved