WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Uncle Ben's Killer Returns in "Spider-Man 4"

Posted: June 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Uncle BenSubmit Comment
According to SuperheroHype, actor Michael Papajohn was answering questions at the Wizard Word Philadelphia, where he revealed that he will be reprising his role in "Spider-Man 4." He explained to the audience that if he told them what his role entailed, he would have to kill them.

Papajohn appeared in both "Spider-Man" and "Spider-Man 3" as a carjacker and the original killer of Peter Parker's Uncle Ben. What director Sam Raimi is planning for him this time is yet to be known. Could he return in flashbacks or become another supervillain?

The script for "Spider-Man 4" is now complete and the film is scheduled to hit theaters on May 6th, 2011.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: SuperheroHype


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Projekt SHIN writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:49:37 PM

*sigh....... i swear.... just make a darker spiderman... (not in comparison with dark knight) but push the pg-13 limits... maybe even R and bring carnage... the correct venom... and you got yourself a solid blockbuster
Projekt SHIN writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:49:59 PM

i'm pretty sure no one cares about this douche bag.....
acslaterson writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:54:43 PM

Right...., I was hoping they wouldn't screw with continuity anymore after 3. This guy going to conventions reminds me of Drama in Entourage, hahaha.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:21:30 PM

yea what's with that?...movies that bring such disappointments on the one/several moment[s] or the one/several character[s] in the movie....and still they 'can't release any details'....i know sam raimi's thoughts on venom...it's his least favorite villain out of the whole comic...first off, he didn't create spiderman so the choice should not be up to him...so the studio cuts him out of the 'creative control' and puts venom in....ok, who did a terrible job on the look of venom when it's on eddie brock?....better yet who's idea was it to cast topher grace as venom??...who's idea was it to put in that jazz sequence and dancing?...it's spiderman, not spiderman rocks!....does anybody here think spiderman would've done better if they started the first movie off with several villains and showed peter getting the spider bite as a flashback?...
johnny_boy writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:25:10 PM

why the f*ck are they having this guy back for? we thought on part 1 that he killed uncle ben and then surprise it wasn't him it was sand man.i dont like this.i hope hes just talking out of his ass as in he thinks he knows what hes talkin about.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:29:11 PM

i guess at the same time...i thought it was boring that only one villain gets to hog the spotlight back when the 1st one came out...but you don't see any action between the hero and the villain until after an hour into the movie....i guess that's why i like the fact that tim burton decided to introduce batman already as batman...and we still got to see his take on batman's origin...why is it the comics always have to start from the origin these days???
johnny_boy writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:32:23 PM

synthetic1985, i totally agree with u. raimi could bitch that he didnt have enough control creatively.but he did make bad decisions.he should of let his grudge against venom go at the time of filming and maybe part 3 could've been good.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:43:08 PM

i gotta say something else.....about having more than one villain in these movies....some people say it's better that spiderman 1 and 2 only had one villain...i say different...because people appraise the dark knight so much and that had more than one villain....i think the studios just need to stay true to the comics...i heard they stayed true as much as possible on 'the watchmen'...so we get the best of the dc comics done nicely...but the best of the marvel comics done poorly?...this is getting interesting
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 7:59:47 PM

I can't believe they'd even considering wasting one frame to film this guy in yet ANOTHER Spiderman. It was COMPLETELY resolved in the last movie. He MUST be coming back as a villain.
borat writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 8:32:30 PM

this is already looking gay
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 8:35:42 PM

^Exactly. Makes no sense why they would even THINK of going this route. Already, I smell a contrived, poorly written script that could run the franchise into the ground. This should've been entirely forgotten by the second film. And yet, rehashed in the third, it's staging a third round in the FOURTH film. What's Raimi thinking? He makes a smash hit with Drag Me to Hell, but can't think up something fresh for Spiderman? Is it me, or is he better at his own stuff? I wasn't looking forward to this movie, but now I'm thinking it's going to to suck. Even if Papajohn only appears in flashbacks, it's still unnecessary. SM is about Spiderman, not the history of his guilt over the death of his uncle. Constantly hearkening back to the past tells me the writers have no good idea on how to move this franchise forward.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 9:19:37 PM

then it's clear....we should not pay to watch spiderman 4...if hollywood is to ever learn their lesson about good writing or good movies...we need to learn ours by not paying for this bullsh*t....we gotta do our part by telling friends and family that they shouldn't watch these movies when they come out...so that way, word will spread around, the studios will lose millions of dollars for thinking they could bullsh*t the audience...and best of all they'll think twice about doing so many remakes or milking a story till it's dead or even after it's dead lol...very simple operation...but very hard to carry out....my main concern for this operation is that people save an extra 10 bucks and hollywood stops being so uncreative
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 9:55:56 PM

scheduled to hit theaters on May 6th, 2011....so that weekend....plan on not watching it...anybody here remember me saying about a movie mistake they made in the first spiderman?...when you see spiderman attempt to punch the green goblin for the first time in the movie...he blocks and says 'impressive'..but his lips don't move when he says that....well here's another mistake i didn't realize till now....it's with uncle ben....when he talks to peter in the car about becoming a responsible adult, he says 'remember, with great power, comes great responsibility'...ok that's fine...but here's the mistake....it's after uncle ben dies and peter pulls out the drawing of spiderman he made before finally becoming spiderman....anyway uncle ben's words slightly changed....'with great power, comes great responsibility....remember that pete, remember that'....there's many other mistakes in the first movie...but i forgot so many of them lol...i just hate it when it comes to a comic being made into a movie...these days, they start it off as an origin, they only include ONE f*cking villain...so they could make more movies and make more money out of it...i am so glad that they didn't do that with watchmen...chris nolan's version of batman didn't do that either...batman begins had 2 villains as an origin movie and i thought that was great
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 10:01:47 PM

While I'm no more hyped than the next person, some of you are taking this wayyy toooo far. Like seriously how the hell does the casting of this guy lead to thoughts of a "poorly written scripted" and "contrived film" Like get over yourselves for a minute. No one seems to be willing to cut Sam a break as well. This guy stands up for independent filmmakers and screenwriters like theres no tomorrow. He produces quality work with the exception of Spiderman 3 for reasons he cannot be faulted with. You have to see it from a reasonable standpoint, can you imagine the pressure he was under from fans, his actors and most importantly the studio? He was holding their bank in his hands and when you have that much power they have to try and control you as much as possible. I say ease up on him and at least wait for a trailer to start bluffing with the "I'm not gonna go see it" You all know you will, you aren't fooling anyone lol. You'll at least go see it to see how bad it is, if it does turn out to suck.
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 10:21:05 PM

Hmmm. I like this so far. Maybe they'll reveal his real name to be Cletus Cassidy and he'll become Carnage. Who knows.
Ghost Face50 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 10:28:08 PM

This guy is going to be Carnage. Can they make it more obvious. He goes to jail for the death of uncle ben, Lizard breaks him out and gives him the red venom. Venom will return to help Spider-Man defeat carnage. They better make Venom bigger this time.
Lordchristo writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 11:12:08 PM

You're all wrong. He comes back to finish what he started. . . to take care of his arch-rival, Aunt May! An epic battle erupts in the streets on NYC, and only Miss Lion can save us!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 12:31:46 AM

TH3D4RKKN1GH7...i can't give him a break yet...not for spiderman....when you're that rich....you should be able to afford to stay true to the comics...it doesn't matter what the fans think, it doesn't matter what anybody thinks...staying true to the comics is EVERYTHING in terms of pleasing the fans...but studios and many other like minds are way too hell bent on money so all that staying true to the comics is flushed down the toilet...people were pissed with spiderman 3 cuz when venom got on eddie brock, he didn't get enough screen time, yet many were disappointed that topher grace was venom...but raimi said if he had it his way, venom would never have been in spiderman...so tell me, would you cut him a break for that??...i wouldn't...especially when it comes to down to the fact that raimi didn't even create spiderman...besides...why should we pay again?...so all those rich people can keep their expensive ass properties and the appliances they have?...if there's any hope at all, he'd salvage what was ruined and fix it, and he'd have to bring back venom...but that's not gonna happen is it?
kmccarney88 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 12:34:16 AM

If they bring this guy back for another flashback it is beyond over kill. If I have to see him run down the hallway with the bag of money one more time I am going to f*cking shoot myself! And DarkKn1gh7 what the f*ck does Sam Raimi standing up for independent filmmakers have to do with anything? Does that make Spiderman any less sh*tty? No it doesn't, so why would we cut him some slack. Quite frankly I think Raimi is way overrated as it is, and I Also think that the spiderman movies are way too overhyped. Don't get me wrong, the movies are ok and could be a lot worse but they could also be a LOT better.... And I'm talking about all three films, not just the third. But speaking of the third that movie goes down as one of the worst films EVER!
KaloVisor writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:09:26 AM

Oh Come on! Spider-Man 3 one of the worst films EVER? I agree it is not the best of the Spidy films. but is is far from AWFUL!. sure it has it's cheesy moments. too many villains. and lets face they could have a made Vemon. a lot scarier. and Peter is way to over the top with his nerdiness. but it has some good parts too. I like the Moral of the story "You can always choose to do good" and Harry is cool in it. he forgives Peter and helps him in the end. and I actually Like Kirsten Dunst as Mary Jane. and it has some good action sequences (not great). so it's not awful. just look at reviews MOST people liked SM3 not as well as the first 2(well some people did) but most people do like it just like most people will see SM4 (including me) not to say that everyone has to like it. just stop talk about it like it's the worst movie ever made ever, cause it's not. have you seen the "Hulk (2003)"? that is a bad movie.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:36:22 AM

Well said.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:41:32 AM

Movies are only meant (mostly) to be escapism entertainment for 90mins. And most movies deliver on that very premise. Was the EMO Peter Parker thing a bit thick in the 3rd. movie... yes. Could Topher acted better in Spidey 3... yes. Did Mary Jane treat Peter crappy like, pretty much all the time... yes. But... is J. Jonah Jameson, Aunt Mary, Harry (and Harry Jr.) not excellent casting... yes to that as well. People making these movies don't have the luxury years later like we do to pick this stuff apart. They're not perfect, and in that way alone the closely imitate real life. MegaForce... NOW THERE WAS A BAD (but not in the bad/good way) MOVIE... lol.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:42:31 AM

Whoops... forgot to add: and I think Tobey has been the perfect Peter Parker.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:45:37 AM

the jazz dance was certainly the thing that could've gave spiderman 3 a better run...instead of dancing he could've been fighting sandman again or harry...or himself...but what do we get?....a jazz number that nobody ever dares try to copy lol, and a big disappointment....it's not the movie we're disappointed in, it's the terrible job they did on characters, the cheesiness...they put stuff that didn't need to be added to it...they were close on venom...but not close enough...eddie brock is built like jock, not slim like topher grace....so when the venom gets on him he's supposed look even bigger....and venom's mouth is supposed to have a slimy tongue that just loves showing itself off like the licker from the 1st resident evil movie, and a lot of saliva....carnage is just more evil...and he's not really bigger cuz the symbiote bonded with a mass murderer...so he's smaller than venom...but like 10 times more powerful....imagine what the avengers would be like if they bored us for an hour with their origins?....after 50 minutes...you see spiderman in his actual costume......in iron man...i think it took longer...in x-men...why is it that the jet only flew once, for one mission?!...in 'the mask', stanley puts the mask on, more than once...spiderman 3 kept me entertained as far as the action went....but they could've done a better job on venom...especially after placing so much cgi work into the sandman
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:50:17 AM

i guess i'm saying, in my eyes, the only way sam raimi could repair this, is bringing back venom....to team up with spidey against carnage....but before that happens....there should be some more battles against spidey....i dunno, i guess i grew too much on the 90s cartoon and that game 'maximum carnage' lol
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 3:13:57 AM

As soon as Topher Grace was cast as Eddie Brock I knew it was going to be a failure that's kind of when I lost faith in the film, but what I'm saying is this, we shouldn't totally crucify Sam Raimi for the failure which is Spiderman 3 because it isn't entirely or even mostly his fault. He was pushed to add Venom because thats what we wanted as fans, but you can totally tell that it wasn't what he originally had planned for his story. I appreciate the effort to make the best out of the situation he was given, but yeah he has no choice but to knock it out of the park here on part four. On a side note, Synthetic what are your feelings towards Batman Begins?
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:00:31 AM

batman begins i thought was great....at first i was like, 'oh god they're resurrecting batman again?'...kind of how they resurrected terminator but batman was better in that comparison...far better...anyway, back then i thought it would suck, didn't understand they were giving it a fresh start, i expected the worst after batman & robin lol....but it was totally the opposite...adding liam neeson was such a smooth move on nolan's part...cillian murphy as scarecrow was new and when i saw that the first time, that's when i was really taken by surprise where they were headed with this....a totally new villain nobody ever saw on screen before...that's when i started opening up more...i remember how everyone was all pissed off that heath ledger was gonna play joker...but about a month before he died, i had watched 'lords of dogtown' again, and i started to open up more to his acting....and then i was ready and willing to see his take on the joker....but then he died...i felt so ashamed ever thinking so negatively and talking that way of him to friends just because i thought he was a bad choice for the joker....he proved me and lots of others wrong....i mean, anybody could have done it, and that's why he was great for it
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 8:49:54 AM

This guy doesn't need a name nor do we care...His name is "That Guy"...You see him in a a movie and u look up and go "oh look it's that guy."
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 9:44:38 AM

I'm becoming more and more worried about this franchise after 3's miss fires.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:56:04 AM

After seeing Drag Me to Hell(one of the best movies of 09) I'm pretty much convinced that Sam Raimi is nothing without Ivan Raimi. The Spider Man movies blow! Well #2 didn't completely suck.
rocko writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 11:07:32 AM

I gave up on the franchise after Spiderman Man 3, they already f*cked it up, so their just digging themselves a deeper hole.
Kill-the-director writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 12:06:37 PM

he looks like he could be shocker to me
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:16:44 PM

Didn't they make it so the Sandman killed his uncle in part 3? now there just F*&$*@! everything up....
the_tortel writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 2:15:17 PM

Ben's killer AGAIN? Beat a dead horse much?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 2:31:13 PM

KaloVisor and Ranger its that kind of talk tbat allows sh*tty movies to be thrown at us. And your really going to say the 2003 Hulk was awful, compared to nearly all of the marvel comic book movie adaptatios it was a masterpiece. Do i have to remind you of the Fanstasc Four movies or the second punisher movie. Sam Raimi is a genius when it comes to horror and he should just stick to that.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:00:58 PM

@MYVAGHURTZ - I'm flattered my friend, but I sincerely don't believe I have that kind of power over Hollywood, but thank you. XO!
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:01:52 PM

NOW... is this REALLY Uncle Ben's killer or is there a 3rd. guy we don't know about that will be revealed to us in Spidey 4?! Oh... I'm on the edge of my seat!!!!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:03:00 PM

no carnage, no vamps, just the LIZARD, he has been in the last 2, perhaps this guy will be a victem in the 4 and hopefully last installment of this series. and rami did do a great job with drag me to hell, so perhaps this will be just as good as the first two films u know. everyone is allowed to screw up everyonce in a while.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 7:08:03 PM

I've been expecting the Lizard since Spidey 2. I don't know what the hell they're saving him for.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:10:05 PM

lostwarrior you made a valid point there....but raimi doesn't have a whole lot of time to make mistakes...that's why i thought putting as many villains in the first movie as possible would've been something totally unexpected and fresh...just like reading a spiderman comic watching him fight all these bad guys...but when you add 'drama' to it...they level it down to only 1-3 villains per movie...never any more than that
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 10:28:03 PM

Shouldn't Spidey be shooting webs from his ass?! I mean... look at a Spider. WTF?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved