WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Rambo 5" and "Expendables" to be Less Violent

Posted: June 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Rambo 5" and "Expendables" to be Less ViolentSubmit Comment
UGO had the chance to speak to producer Avi Lerner about Sylvester Stallone's "The Expendables" and a possible fifth "Rambo" movie.

When asked if "Rambo 5" will be as violent as the last installment, Lerner said that the only reason why "Rambo 4" was R-rated and so brutal was to portray an important aspect of what the Burma story is about. But the decision to make the film more bloody caused the "Rambo" franchise to lose half of its audience.

And while Lerner confirmed that "Rambo 5" will definitely be made, he said that both the movie and "The Expendables" will be toned down. However, there will be PG-13 and R-rated cuts of "The Expendables" which will be tested to see which version is more accepted.

Lerner added that the studio is hoping that the $80 million "Expendables" will turn into a franchise and will bring back whoever doesn't die in the first film.

Source: UGO


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 4:22:45 AM

fukking violent 18 movies please Sly,thats the point of action films.
lost_addict writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 4:31:29 AM

rambo has to be violent.thats what rambo is all about.
shteak writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:07:03 AM

New "Star Wars" to be less "Spacey"...
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:09:57 AM

Projekt SHIN is expendable.
rockkillers writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:58:19 AM

GAY! I hope this is a joke or else I guess I wont be seeing this just like T4. Wow really dissapointed about all this pg-13 talk as im sure is everyone else that was actually looking forward to this.
rockkillers writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 7:07:42 AM

id also like to add that avi lerner is a woman
DisasterBlaster writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 9:58:09 AM

Toned down? f*ck off. They really think thats why Rambo lost half its audience? I actually enjoyed Rambo because it was so violent. Now we have to have 2 versions of movies to test which one appeals to parents and kids? Test my f*cking balls, see which one is more acceptable.
acslaterson writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 10:02:20 AM

f*ck, the way this keeps going all movies that come out will be PG-13 and you will have to wait till the Blu Ray to see the unrated versions. What kind of p*ssy saw Rambo IV and said, "that is too violent for me". f*cking prudes.
OneTime writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 10:59:17 AM

theres no such thing as TOO VIOLENT
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 11:20:43 AM

Hollywood must enjoy cutting its own throat. Who the f*ck is running things out there? Yeah maybe throwing babies into burning buildings and shooting kids point blank is a little excessive. But who doesn't want to see the throat ripping, neck braking, and machine gun dismembering that only Rambo can provide. You take this away and I'll guarantee you lose the other "half" of the audience.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 11:34:22 AM

Just a funny side note: I'm pretty sure only one person died in the first Rambo (First Blood) movie. John has come a long way since then!
manichispanic writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 11:47:43 AM

f*ck that!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 11:58:21 AM

lol why is everyone so mad? they just mean they'll be more like the first rambo movies and not like the latest one wich was over the top unlike all the others.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:32:05 PM

it should be rated R....doesn't matter...if kids wanna watch it, their mommy's and daddy's can take them....or their guardian....whatever the case...making it pg-13 is bullsh*t
PencilNinja writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:37:05 PM

Well, Rambo 4 was extremely violent, much more than any of the others, so even if they toned 5 down I don't think we would loose any of the Rambo magic... But the ultraviolent worked well in Rambo 4 because it was basically a warmovie. Any more violent and I think it might turn into a parody of itself...
masKritic writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:37:06 PM

Yeah i thought the last rambo was the best. I particularly liked the violence. The only movie i thought had too much violence was that sh*tty new punisher movie.
Sinestro writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:45:23 PM

And that is how you make people lose interest in a movie. Good job.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:14:25 PM

less violent=less worth watching.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 2:01:23 PM

Rambo 5 and The Expendables less violent? Sly gathered the best 'tough guys' for his film, and it will be less violent? Well, I guess it had to come to that. Next Michael Cera will be doing a sex drama with Megan Fox that is directed by Clint Eastwood. Wait for it.
RE4713 writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 2:13:36 PM

OMG so disappointed.....R-rated cut of Expendables along with PG-13 is acceptable but Rambo 5 to be toned down!!! If it is PG-13 and less bloddy....Sly is gonna lose all of his audience!!!
WV-Films writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 2:50:28 PM

And Rocky 7 will have less boxing.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:34:24 PM

@DisasterBlaster and ACTIONFIGURE - well said. It seems like Hollywood lives in this bubble and loses touch with what people want (or it's their own arrogance). Some of this was evidenced when Eddie Murphy branched out from his wise-mouth, street-wise characters and tried a bit of drama (although Showgirls worked out years later for him), and kids movies. Hollywood is too big for anyone to shake it up: unless their is one powerful person doing it all on their own: Passion of the Christ, Braveheart, Saving Pvt. Ryan, Schlinder's List...etc.
warnuts writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 4:22:12 PM

PG 13?! You got to be kidding me. How can they claim that Rambo 4 made the franchise loose half of itīs audience?! There was no franchise anymore. Rambo 4 renewed it and brought real action-flicks back to life!
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:17:55 PM

Well... we all know a movie these days can't turn their back from the hugely populated PG-13 spending crowd. The saving grace here is there WILL be a R-rated version avail (even if only... 'tested'... WTF?!).
lostwarrior writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:35:33 PM

what less violent, come the f*ck on man, this is suppose to be a action movie with nothing but big name action stars. if its going to be pg 13 maybe JCVD didnt make a bad decision. But I dont think it will be pg 13. and if it is ,is stallone really thinking this could be a success. Because if it is he wont be getting my money, ill just download it and watch it once. And rambo 5 is suppose to have rouke in it as well, it has to be rated R, ok maybe they wont be throwing babies into flames which was pretty hard core, but I think stallone was making a statement, and that statement was Stallone is making a comeback, and he did achieved that. I thought Rambo 4 was good. It was entertaining, it had a story that that made sense, and more importantly it was true to its story, just plain old action and nothing else. which is what rambo is suppose to be.
AJWPProfile writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 8:35:58 PM

That was pretty funny WV
masKritic writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 8:36:46 PM

and i think when rambo 4 came out it was under the radar. thats why people didnt see it. it wasnt the violence.
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 3:09:04 AM

You guys are all getting so damned upset. The original rambos were R-rated, but today they'd get a Pg-13. The worst you guys will get is a hard Pg-13, which is yesteryear's R. Big f*cking deal. Cool it. Action film=action, not necessarily Saw-level gore and guts. Just because both films may not have the same level of body parts, gore, flying entrails and gruesome deaths as Rambo 4 doesn't mean they won't be true action films. You guys wouldn't have lasted five seconds in the days of early Schwarzeneggar or Stallone, much less Eastwood, Norris or Bronson. The level of gore gets ratcheted up every year, and you guys never get enough. Todays hard R will be Pg in fifteen years, and still that won't be enough for some of you. Really sad. Glad I'm a true action fan, not a gore porn junkie. lol.
jasminkhan writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 3:28:22 AM

they want to see rambo with barbie doll in R5
PencilNinja writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 8:26:05 AM

I'm with minkowski on this one.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 9:06:05 AM

at least the R version will be available...and i say stallone is definitely trying his best to not disappoint fans....he's totally got my respect cuz a lot of greedy *ssholes in hollywood are just so ridiculous
lostwarrior writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 10:53:42 AM

@ minkowski, its not really about bitching u know. Its more about just being disapointed that they are taking what few good action movies that are being made and toning them down. They are hard core action films, and they doing just that. Like I said earlier, rambo 4 was really really hard core u know. The whole thing with throwing babies into flames is a alittle too much but he was trying to keep it to a certain aspect real. But it is pointless to tone down action movies. Could u really imagine crank or crank 2 being pg 13. No, and I cant really understand why they are toning these movies down. They may make more money u know, with it beig pg 13 which would allow more people to see it, but still with as many good actors there are that are appearing in this film, making it pg13 is REc*ckULIOUS. that's why every one is pissed.
RoorToken writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 1:01:50 PM

Disaster Blaster, I couldnt agree with you more. This PG-13 sh*t has got to stop.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 2:39:26 PM

@minkowski - you're right. @lostwarrior - you're right. This (site) isn't about 'bitching' or 'whining'... it's a place to express our opinions. To: everyone - ever see the ORIGINAL 'Death Wish'!? - yeah... that was dark!
RE4713 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 3:47:51 PM

one of the only movies I have seen that works as a PG-13 flick is Live Free or Die Hard.....no way they can do Rambo PG-13 after the gore fest of Rambo IV
Eben1277 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 4:39:51 PM

R5 could work with less violence if it's done like First Blood. It's funny how the MPAA has changed over the years. There was a time when you could have nudity in a PG movie, but violence would earn the R, now there are some very violent PG13's but a hint of nipple gets an R... somehow I feel the old way was more sensible.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 5:04:59 PM

it was...i mean the old MPAA being more sensible....imagine what live free or die hard would be like with an R rating....probably just as intense as the previous ones...geez i thought when an average movie came out that it would make average bank...these days, it's like they try to make a fortune off the average movie but you just...can't....only goes to show that hollywood is in the hollywrong...sh*t i should write that down...oh wait...hollywood probably already stole it...cheap bastards.....anyway....stallone should keep it R if it was that way originally....it might not make the expected bank, but it would make enough...and it would certainly maintain that level of respect stallone has with his fans...so like i said before, screw the pg-13 rating...if younger people wanna see it, their mommies or daddies can take them...or go with somebody of age...geez...you only have to be 17 now....last i remember it was 18
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 5:11:57 PM

heh...the mpaa is so weird these days....i've seen disney channel use the word 'damn'....and now the nick channel uses 'LMAO'....and the 'A' obviously means ass, and it's not too hard for young people to figure that out...so if sh*t like that is happening on kids' channels, i say f*ck the pg-13 toning down
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 9:47:31 AM

Oh come on! Whatever!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:31:05 PM

lol@ shteak
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:32:03 PM

Considering how violent the last Rambo was- if they decapitated one less person- it would be "less violent"
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:33:49 PM

I would like a 'G' Rated Rambo please...instead of blood people spill flowers and rainbows.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:34:21 PM

Either way it's all schlock guys- you do realize these are all very silly films- right?
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:35:05 PM

Heck I think Michael Bayheimer should make Rambo battle robots with testicles in the next one...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved