WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Pixar Grants Dying Girl's Wish

Posted: June 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Pixar Grants Dying GirlSubmit Comment
Ten-year-old Colby Curtin was diagnosed with a rare vascular cancer about three years ago and her condition got so bad that she became too weak to get out of bed. It was obvious that she would soon die.

Colby's one wish was to see the new Pixar movie "Up," which is why her mother and family friends started making frantic calls to the studio to help grant the young girl's dying wish. And Pixar came to the rescue.

The company flew an employee with a bag of stuffed animals, a movie poster, and the DVD of "Up," which is only in theaters, to the Curtins' Huntington Beach home on June 10th for a private viewing of the movie. Colby got the see the film, but died about seven hours later.

"When I watched it, I had really no idea about the content of the theme of the movie," said mother Lisa Curtin. "I just know that word 'Up' and all of the balloons and I swear to you, for me it meant that (Colby) was going to go up. Up to heaven."

Pixar officials declined to comment on the story or name the employees involved. But a family friend had the following to say about the Pixar worker: "He couldn't have been nicer. His eyes were just welled up."

Click here to read our "Up" review.

Source: OC Register


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 76 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:10:34 PM

it truly breaks my heart when young kids are diagnosed with horrible diseases like this, it really is awful....but im glad her wish was granted!!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:12:39 PM

Wow that is sad
Agent Calavera writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:20:19 PM

only a DVD? Blu-Ray would of been better
thomas deadison writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:31:23 PM

Sad. :(
lostwarrior writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:45:04 PM

man thats awesome, wp actually reported something considered news WOW im shocked. Damn kinda made me cry.
tomnottommy writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 5:52:18 PM

i love pixar even more now. thats so awesome of them
Ranger writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 6:02:53 PM

Great story. But I want to see Megan Fox in some girl-on-girl action before... gassssspppp... hack, HACK! COOUUGGHHHH!!! Wheeeeezzzeee!!!! h...u.r..r...y ...m....E ...g.a.n...
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 6:05:16 PM

that's so crazy....seven hours later??....so sad to hear she died...but man that's so awesome of pixar
takai writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 6:07:28 PM

I'm glad that there are still people like this in this world.
Ranger writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 6:29:37 PM

Most people are. It's just the media give most of their attention to the outlaws... and the cat saved out of the tree gets page 13. This was very nice of Pixar.
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 6:58:35 PM

a very cool and sad story
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:03:09 PM

That's so sad. I'm glad she got to see the movie. Pixar is so great.
Ranger writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:05:13 PM

I wonder if that's really a picture of the girl, or just the picture that came with the frame.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:11:10 PM

yay pixar... sad story
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:25:43 PM

Makes me happy when film companies do this, George Lucas and his studio do this a lot, they send countless gifts to sick children and even help in organizing members of the 501st (a Star Wars charity for children) to visit these kids, it brings a smile on their faces!
wonderBOY writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:37:12 PM

couldnt the parents just dl the movie like all the other people or just take her to the movies
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:44:56 PM

Much respect for Pixar...you guys are a clas act..that was a great act of kindness...I have two kids and I would want someone to help my kids' last wish if they were in this position...And this is why Pixar is so great.
AJWPProfile writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 7:46:21 PM

If we all ignore Ranger will he go away?
vwkombi writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 9:31:33 PM

People wonder how Pixar did 10 successful films in a row. This is how they did it, by caring that much about their auidiences. It makes me feel better now for spending money i was going to use for dinner on Finding Nemo and Ratatouille.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 9:56:53 PM

Awww...thats a damn shame. rip colby.
acslaterson writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 10:04:13 PM

Extremely sad, and what a classy move on Pixar's part of keeping it low key and not even revealing the employee's name. In an age of media whoring it is refreshing to hear when companies do this sort of thing. I was going to wait to buy Up on Blu Ray for the girlfriend but now I think I will take her to see it in the theater too.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 10:18:34 PM

wow.. a business with a heart.. that is very rare.. especially successful businesses w/ like 10 movies that grossed ovr 100mil each.. pixar nvr ceases to amaze.. gotta love em'
JoshuaB81285 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 11:06:38 PM

And this is another reason Pixar is quickly becoming my favorite film studio. Bless them.
telur writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 11:35:08 PM

so if there are 100 kids like Colby Curtin, Pixar would gave them all DVD?
RE4713 writes:
on June 19th, 2009 at 11:50:59 PM

(WonderBOY)couldnt the parents just dl the movie like all the other people or just take her to the movies she was dying and couldn't get out of bed because she was so weak...read the article
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:18:27 AM

Amazing. God bless the little girl, her family and the Pixar people.
KaloVisor writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 12:35:12 AM

that is Soo, Sad It's good to know she's with God now though.
wonderBOY writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:02:05 AM

These movies tug at the heart and boggle the mind
minkowski writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:03:00 AM

If there's a god, it's Pixar for finding the uncommon kindness to give this child one last happy time.
prabuwiz writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:28:10 AM

pixar is truly great.
masKritic writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:55:19 AM

RIP Colby and thank you Pixar.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 2:58:30 AM

@AJWPProfile - ahh... no. Are you feeling neglected my friend?! Blow me.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:14:24 AM

@wonderBOY - you're joking right? The ARTICLE states the girl was so sick she passed away ONLY 7 hours after watching the movie. Need we translate the article into another language of your own choosing?
lost_addict writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:22:07 AM

so she chose 'up' over 'land of the lost'?weird...
Aido4258 writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:44:32 AM

Bless her.
cave canem writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:45:59 AM

@ranger I'll give you 1000$ if you never post on wp. I bet another 1000$ that you can't respond without a gross comment
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:49:46 AM

Ahh... I'm a bit wealthier than that. So good luck with the fake $ offers... lol. And I'm great, I don't hate. I love you my friend! Besides, I've buried more loved-ones than you have fingers and toes (I'll only assume you have a full set of each with neither pair of limbs ending with hooves), so before you come off here like some kind of angelic, caring guardian... lick me.
rocketman writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 4:19:35 AM

FOX and all the other greedy studios ahould take a not out of Pixars book.m condolences to the family
Bystander85 writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 4:55:41 AM

Kudos Blink Pimp. R.I.P Little Girl
Projekt SHIN writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:27:22 AM

look, everyone here on WP knows that "ranger" is a douche... so pay no mind.. trolling on a sad topic like this... ridiculous... If we really do ignore him... her'll go away guys... or at least change his SN cause he's a fat, loser, who lives in his mothers basement...
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:28:41 AM

It was very nice what Pixar did. I'm sure other studios have been generous at times as well (it just may not get published/posted). But yeah, Pixar really came to the table for this little girl. Nice to hear such stories.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:29:15 AM

and the fact that you're bragging about being alive long enough to witness seeing your loved ones being buried... is waaaay beyond me... stupidity maybe?? regardless if you were roving a point..... just stop.. you're makin an ass of yourself...
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:29:58 AM

@Projekt SHIN - talking about yourself again...lol. Did this story upset you my widdle friend? You scared to ask your step daddy for a hug because he touches your naughty place?
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:32:03 AM

@Projekt SHIN - I wasn't bragging c*nt. You haven't been out of your mom's welfare house and into the world to be able to tell the difference. Have you ever even been to funerals where the parents are burying their children? I've been to several (yeah... there I go... 'bragging' again). So until you have a few of those under your belt. Stop trying to come off here more holy than now caring for a little girl you never know... twat.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 5:36:01 AM

look, everyone here on WP knows that "Projekt SHIN" is a douche... so pay no mind.. trolling on a sad topic like this... ridiculous... If we really do ignore him... her'll go away guys... or at least change his SN cause he's a fat, loser, who lives in his mothers basement...
Elvis Van Helsing writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:21:11 AM

Ranger, seriously, just stop.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:24:51 AM

Elvis Van Helsing, seriously, just stop.
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 6:30:14 AM

I'll assume most here did not know this girl. While true her passing is very sad (people die everyday... it's a fact). I can assure ALL of you that this family is too busy mourning to be popping onto here to read all the condolences... but it's nice we have all left them (even me). This post is about Pixar's kindness and compassion shown towards this little girl and her family. Pixar and many other companies are usually this generous. But don't worry... I know you all will be back to bashing Pixar (or any other Studio) the next time their greedy profits (which, by the way you've given them by viewing their movies) are posted. DEATH TO THE WEALTHY!!! They should ALL DIE (just not little girls). That's life... suck it up.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 8:25:50 AM

lol i obviously hurt rangers feelings... everyone here knows you're just a troll kid... ok?? either way.. whatever gets you off.... hope you have fun replying with a middleschool comeback.. kthxbai
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 1:15:59 PM

Ranger-are the other kids not playing nice with you??
Ranger writes:
on June 20th, 2009 at 3:29:11 PM

No they're not...sniffle...
minkowski writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 2:47:40 AM

lol. No wonder women laugh at men. They see them act like this. How old are some of you anyway? 14? And on a news post concerning the death of a little girl?? I'd say some of you should feel ashamed, but shame requires some humanity and restraint. At least two of you have neither.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 11:07:19 AM

@minkowski agreed..
swoooop writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 1:11:28 PM

Damn, canser blows. I know, my dad died of it. Pixar, U guys rock :)
lostwarrior writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 2:33:44 PM

@ ranger, man that was funny, but damn kinda f*cking mean aint it. I mean sh*t man, im a c*nt u know, and i dont think i could of said that. damn man, your f*cking awesome.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:38:11 PM

LW - thx. Bud... lol.
Ranger writes:
on June 21st, 2009 at 6:39:21 PM

@blwmehotranger - sorry. I choke on small bones, and I don't return favors.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 9:51:28 AM

Wow, that's what I love to hear, People with a heart and an urgency to use em. Pixar really can't do wrong, I guess. What a sad story though, I hope she is resting where ever she is now.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:14:51 PM

This is old news WP...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:17:24 PM

Does look like a frame picture...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:19:43 PM

If I only had 9 hours left with my daughter- 2 of them wouldn't be watching a movie.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:22:17 PM

btw- watching a movie called 'Up' before you die- doesn't mean you go 'Up' to heaven...like st.peter asks- "what movie did you watch right before you died?"...um.. "Drag Me To Hell".."Ohhhh sorry guess what- you should have watched 'Up'-cya!"
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:22:39 PM

Maybe BM, but I'll bet those 2 hours... watching her laugh and such were pretty special to the family. And if she was that sick to move... I don't think there were a whole lot of other options.
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:23:04 PM

@bluemeenie - lol.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:25:10 PM

THE STORY CONCLUDES: "After her funeral 9,0076 Balloons were tied to her casket and she was sent 'Up'- in memory of the movie that killed her"
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:25:52 PM

Up was great movie- but I bet her parents will never be able to watch it again- sucks for them all.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:26:59 PM

@Ranger [I don't think there were a whole lot of other options.] perhaps...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:29:25 PM

Ranger is lol funny and sensitive see all- What more could you want from the guy...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:49:33 PM

@swoooop Do you know what "blows" worse than "canser"? CANCER!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:51:45 PM

[Projekt SHIN - 06/20/2009 (05:27:22) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- look, everyone here on WP knows that "ranger" is a douche... so pay no mind.. trolling on a sad topic like this... ridiculous... If we really do ignore him... her'll go away guys... or at least change his SN cause he's a fat, loser, who lives in his mothers basement...] @PROJECT SHIN You forgot the classic- "He must be gay and never got laid"..use that next
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 1:52:30 PM

Hey Bluemeenie: You post too much!
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 2:07:41 PM

I almost spewed my coffee, you CANSERous bugger!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 2:52:11 PM

@Ranger - Did your Dad die before he taught you to spell too...lol
bluemeenie writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 2:55:18 PM

Heading should read: "PIXAR'S 'Up' KILLS LITTLE GIRL"
Ranger writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 3:34:10 PM

lol...
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 22nd, 2009 at 6:17:30 PM

now where the DVD go?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved