WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Futuristic Movie Timeline

Posted: June 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Futuristic Movie TimelineSubmit Comment
Dan Meth, who has posted several charts that visually display TV and movie facts, has now put together a new chart that shows a list of thirty two futuristic movies. Each movie has a bar that stretches from the time of release to when the "future" in the movie will actually take place.

"Back to the Future 2" took place in 2015, while "Twelve Monkeys" was in 2028. But there are also movies like "2001" and "Escape from NY" that take place in the not-too-distant future. In fact, since we are in the year 2009, those flicks don't seem that futuristic anymore.

And then there are films like "Planet of the Apes" and "Logan's Run," which are set so far into the future that we won't be able to reach those years in our lifetime.

Image: (click to enlarge)


Source: DanMeth.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
m5dmb28 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 8:34:31 PM

i want this as a poster, this is bad-ass!
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 8:40:40 PM

That's pretty cool
acslaterson writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 9:33:14 PM

Of all of those movies I think Idiocracy is the most likely to be our future, hahaha. I work with a girl who didn't know who we fought in World War I, and she is a pharmacist.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 9:54:10 PM

Meh, that list NEEDS "the time machine" lolz I don't even know what's the year, I just remember the moon crashing, and THAT's bad-ass.
Feanor224 writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 12:01:19 AM

If anyone remembers, in the original Terminator movies, Judgment Day was supposed to happen in November 2007. The future has already passed.
coldplayesence writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 1:48:53 AM

^^ wasn't 1997???
bluemeenie writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 10:46:21 AM

My new wallpaper
smokemouth writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 12:34:50 PM

"But there are also movies like "2001" and "Escape from NY" that take place in the not-too-distant future. In fact, since we are in the year 2009, those flicks don't seem that futuristic anymore." hahahahhahahahahahahaha holy sh*t, more quality writing at Worst Previews.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 3:21:05 PM

"I ate the future- yum yum yum- it's in my belly now- and now I'm gonna fart" Megan-tron Fox
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 5:00:00 PM

Alright it seems you guys love this one so I'll let ya enjoy it...all it did for me was a shrug and a "so...?"
lostwarrior writes:
on June 18th, 2009 at 10:26:50 PM

some one has a lot of time in their hands

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved