WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan's "Inception" Has $200 Million Budget?

Posted: June 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher NolanSubmit Comment
Canadian paper The Calgary Sun is reporting that Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight) will begin filming scenes of "Inception" in the province this November, spending a significant portion of the $200 million budget in the process.

That's right, "Inception" has a $200 million budget, while "The Dark Knight" had $185 million budget. "It's not going to be just a two-day shoot," said the paper's source. "It's not just some CBC mini-series. It's pretty substantial. These guys are going to spend more money before lunchtime than most (networks) will spend on a series. It's as big a movie as has ever been shot here."

The insider added that "Inception" will employ hundreds, if not thousands, of local film workers starting this summer when construction on the elaborate set is due to begin.

Some of you may be wondering if the $200 million budget is in Canadian dollars. If that's the case, then "Inception" still has $176 million budget.

Click here to read more about "Inception."

Source: The Calgary Sun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Osiris3657 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:23:14 PM

That's fine, Chris Nolan can do no wrong.
masKritic writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:37:52 PM

i didnt like prestige though
BREALZ writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:43:06 PM

that's insane...i hope i run into him. maybe i could get a part as a goon in the new batman flick
borat writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:43:38 PM

nolan is tha sh*t right now yuh yuh wassup nathasha yuh yuh
lostwarrior writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:52:24 PM

I could honestly careless how much its made for, as long as its good, and considering the cast and the director it should be nothing but awesome.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:52:35 PM

Well... Calgary is where they filmed a lot of the Reeve's Superman, Unforgiven, Open Range, Legends of the Fall, Shanghai Noon, and a TON of others... interesting. IMDB still states filming will be in LA (but it appears that's only where the financing is from). Guess it just needs to be updated. As for the math above, the other side of the coin is, if ALL the $200 mil. IS US $'s AND it's ALL being spent in Canada, then they have a $230 mil budget up there (but I suspect most/all of post prod. would be in teh US). I also see the Captain America Actor in the running Neil Fifer is from Alberta. Maybe he'll be in this as well.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:07:28 PM

Well they can do no wrong by giving the man $200 million, he is an artist in what he does. His other movies besides the batman films are fantastic, i really loved the Prestige..is Michael Caine in this film, cuase he is becoming his Deniro!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:11:55 PM

Skippy Spartan, yes he is, i read a few weeks ago, that he will be on set for 2 days, so yes Michael Caine will be in it
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:58:11 PM

This just means that Inception will $15 million better than The Dark Knight...I smell a masterpiece
lostwarrior writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 9:38:55 PM

Jesus Ranger are you on Neil Fifer's ball sack or what? thats all you talk about is fifer, fifer, fifer. Go blow the guy toss his salad and call it a night, k little girl. damn
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 9:52:47 PM

lol... I just think the guy deserves a chance. And if he's gotten his foot into the door. We're always on about things on here about Hollyweird needing new blood.
telur writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 11:21:25 PM

half of that is corrupt by nolan to his pocket
whoever writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 11:22:17 PM

@lostwarrior, it's called self promotion! Unfortunately Neil/Ranger does not understand that getting out there and making your own short films or harassing casting agents is far better than always talking about yourself in a forum!
BurmaShave writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 11:47:57 PM

It's worth noting none of Chris Nolan's non-Batman films made all that much money, though MEMENTO was very profitable.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:13:15 AM

k....we make some good films up here..he made a damn good choice goin up to calgary. def one of our best provinces.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 1:03:03 AM

Well...maybe they'll spend some of that $$$ on more viral marketing...Lord knows I wouldn't mind! Keep the Inception news coming people!
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 2:26:53 AM

whoever - huh?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 8:20:47 AM

Dark Knight made $533 million BurmaShave. He's one of the few directors out there that you can always count on. Momento is awesome!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 11:58:26 AM

I'd like to hear what's so expensive about this story?
jaz_mayor writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:14:05 PM

Peter Jackson can do no wrong? Chris Nolan can do no wrong? It only takes one, just one f*ck-up and the people who praise you become a lynch mob. $185 on The Dark Knight. didn't think it cost anywhere near that.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:42:13 PM

Nolan is competent. No worries.
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:50:15 PM

bluemeenie - well, DiCaprio is 10%+ of the budget right there...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:57:36 PM

At this point, Warners will do all in their power to keep Nolan on the payroll...you know, since McG and Zack Synder may have lose their "go-to" status due to the ambitous yet not quite profitable big movies they made...Warners is achin for the 3rd batman and at this point they will make sure they keep nolan to do it...And if he don't, maybe Joel Schumacer will step in and take the helm again...Can't wait for more am/fm nipples on the batsuit...lord knows, if he did, that Eddie Murphy/Riddler rumor could be the real mccoy.
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 1:36:50 PM

AF - you have a little more to the inside track of the industry I'll assume? Re: AM/FM... lol.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 3:11:13 PM

@Ranger-Yeah DiCrapio asks for a bit of 'the lot' these days doesn't he?
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 4:04:19 PM

He does. But (and I know everyone won't agree with this and that's ok). I know some feel they don't get paid enough at their job, and I state that everyone is paid what they're worth (I can already hear the replies to this), because the employer found an employee to work for that amount. Is $20 mil a lot of money? OF COURSE IT IS! But DiCaprio picks the tough, non-fluff projects, makes great movies and makes everyone a lot of money (that's Hollywood in a nutshell), so I figure he's worth it. Few know that Adam Sandler is in the $25. mil category while DiCaprio is on the $20 mil. Funny how Hollyweird works.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 10:48:04 PM

wow...i didn't know dark knight had a cheaper budget...crazy bad ass film...how much money has that movie made now??
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 11:06:36 PM

Over $1.2 Bil once the DVD sales are done with: http://www.the-numbers.com/movies/2008/BATM2.php These figures are just staggering these days. Hey... anyone know if there is a 'formula' out there (there must be) to calculate 'comparative' earnings for a film. I mean... Gone with the Wind did well, as did Titanic, and so did Dark Knight (obviously) - in the 21st. century with the greatest population of movies-goers in Earth's history. There must be a site out there that 'evens the playing field' when comparing a movie's success today vs. one decades ago.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 11:18:59 AM

@Ranger- I think editor's or writer's should get the most profit..they do the most crucial work imo
Ranger writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 11:25:54 AM

Funny you should mention that BM. I'm a HUGE fan of the Editors! I don't disagree (at all), but I do see why the money goes where it does (not saying it's right). But the Actor is the final icing on the cake - the Director next... etc. I mean... great stories have been killed by bad acting and directing. And bad scripts (we wish) just wouldn't get made (but then we wouldn't have 'B Movies!'). Hollyweird is like pro sports. You can be playing in Triple A Ball and make bugger all. One step up to the show and you're into the tens of millions. It's not 'fair'... but it's just how those that ice the cake have built things.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 6:28:23 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved