WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

What's Going on with "Robocop"?

Posted: June 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WhatSubmit Comment
Back in December, director Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) revealed to Howard Stern that he doesn't think that a "Robocop" reboot will happen, even though a week prior to that interview, he claimed that everything was on track for a 2010 release.

So what's going on with "Robocop"? Io9 go in touch with MGM to find out just that.

According to the studio's spokesman, the project is still on track, but will not make the previously promised 2010 release.

MGM is now aiming to complete the film for 2011. He added that both Aronofsky and writer David Self (Road to Perdition) are still working on the script and that casting has yet to begin.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:07:21 PM

2011? I'll just add this to the most over stuffed year of film in history, and assume we'll all just be watching hallowed out TV sets with fires in them like Terminator 1 in 2010.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:54:54 PM

the 1st one was fun u know, not crazy wigged out amazing or anything, but it was kool. Aronofsky is the right choice for this, so it could actually be better than the 1st.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:52:58 PM

Unlike Die Hard and Terminator, Darren Aronofsky's RoboCop needs to stay true to it's rated "R" nature (the movie was originally given an X rating by the MPAA in 1987). Making it "PG-13" would just seem like another Iron Man. I'm a huge RoboCop fan, but watching my favorite film being water down to a PG-13 rating is unrealistic. Sure the story is the most important thing of course, but what Paul Verhoeven did with the original 1987 RoboCop film was he enhance the story with his graphic violence, while still keeping it smart for it's audience.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:54:12 PM

I could see this reboot being better than the original. The original wasnt all that spectacular but Aronofsky is a f*ckin sick director, this new one will be crazy no doubt.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 9:17:43 PM

The original will always be the best. But Darren Aronofsky's RoboCop will no doubt be better then the sequels.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 9:58:08 PM

murphyslaw93 - you're entitled to you opinion, of course. But you're out-voted here my friend. The first RoboCop... 1987 was STELLAR! The sheer brutality of Officer Murphy's assassination, to the progressive effects (for their time). Clarence Bod*cker (the ultimate *sshole!). To Emil getting soaked in toxic waste only to be splattered on the car hood like a box of rotten tomatos, to Robo's gun. All too good! But then again, the first: Terminator, Matrix, Star Wars (now #4... ugh!) are all my fav's as well.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 9:58:41 PM

CyberpunkCentral - lol. Please don't mention the RoboCop sequels ever, ever again!
telur writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 11:24:48 PM

it's like The Avenger push back to 2013......believe me
BurmaShave writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:03:20 AM

lostwarrior is daft, ROBOCOP is one of the best films of the 1980s.
BurmaShave writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:04:17 AM

Seriously, to all who want to talk down the awesomeness of the original, I can only say: Bitches leave.
shteak writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 4:48:47 AM

I'd buy that for a dollar!!!
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 10:12:28 AM

@Ranger lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 11:50:30 AM

pass....i'm not gonna spend money on a remake....i see no problem with the first one....besides...those old cheap graphics, like when the terminator is after them in the hallway in T1....those graphics scared the sh*t out of me as a kid
jaz_mayor writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:25:42 PM

Robocop 4: Robo in love, directed by Mc f*cking G. Then leaked on the net by Rupert Murdoch?(question mark, cos I'm not saying he did I'm questioning it).
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:43:19 PM

Dead or alive.... you're coming with me.
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:47:03 PM

synthetic1985 - I hear ya man. I do NOT like 'remakes' 'reboots' 'rehash' works anymore than most of the rest of us. But this one... they're building on greatness! Throw in some Matrix-like effects. Give Robo some firepower like the ED209 (sans pig squeels) - and this could become a complimentary classic to the first!
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 12:48:10 PM

This makes me scared.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 2:00:45 PM

@ ranger....probably...but still...i just watch the first one and i'm still impressed....these new emo movies for teenagers in high school these days are too easily pleased...they didn't grow up with cgi getting better since 'the mask'...i guess i wouldn't mind a remake...just don't do a bad one or change sh*t all the time, especially on certain things that shouldn't be changed....really hate that....but they do it anyway and they'll do it with any other franchise because they're rich and they can.....well...let them...i guess it really doesn't matter...after all, it's not like they'll live forever to enjoy it
Ranger writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 2:01:56 PM

synthetic1985 - I agree. The first one is timeless.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 16th, 2009 at 3:15:46 PM

[What's Going on with "Robocop"?] NOTHING...YAYY!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved