WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith's "Red State" Update

Posted: June 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin SmithSubmit Comment
It has been two years, since director Kevin Smith started talking about "Red State," a $3 million horror script that he wanted to start filming by the end of 2007. Unfortunately, in October of 2007, the Weinstein Company passed on the movie, with Smith moving on to "Zack and Miri Make a Porno."

Now, according to Bloody-Disgusting, Jason Mewes spoke during a Q&A session at the Monster Mania convention in Connecticut, where he spoke about "Red State." Apparently, the project in on hold indefinitely, since Smith already has two movies ready to go before "State."

"Red State" is based on Fred Phelps, the founder of the Westboro Baptist Church, which became infamous for taking a supremely homophobic stance and for picketing the funerals of soldiers killed in Iraq.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 9:55:37 PM

This would of been so much better than zach and miri make a porno. f*cking weinstein company, you guys suck ass.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 1:44:42 AM

There's no update here at all. Not a single piece of information that isn't already out. That said, this is by far the most intriguing project Smith has in development. Hope it gets made.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 1:59:31 AM

I saw this story on these Baptists on the news a while back... they turned my stomach. Not like a family is in mourning enough than these self-righteous pigs picketing a funeral of a family burying a family Member that served in the service. Side note: (not to group all Baptists together, but I dated one (ie: poked) a couple of years ago. What a can of nuts she was!
thomas deadison writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 2:42:42 AM

Yeah, I was almost going to clarifyh before you said "not to group all Baptists together". You don't want to group anyone with the Westboro Baptist Church. They're f*cking insane. Just youtube Fred Phelps.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 2:51:58 AM

WBC is pretty awful. I haven't verified but I'd put money on them attempting to picket Carradine's funeral. When Heath Ledger died, they put out flyers and ads saying something along the lines of, "Heath Ledger is dead and now burning in Hell and we will picket his funeral!" They did the same with Burnie Mac. I don't think anyone or any thing is scarier than the religious nuts.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 7:25:10 AM

Though I'm happy Zack and Miri was released (f*ckin loved that movie) and I bet his next two projects will be amazing as well (Smith is just an extraordinary writer and an incredible director), I would loved Red State to be made. Its such a different type of film than anything he's done before and it's not fair that the company is not letting him branch out. For whatever reasons, his films dont do well at the boxoffice anyway, the f*ckin Weinsteins should just give him the $3 million and let him go out there and try it, they'll definately get the budget back at the least.
Ranger writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 11:55:57 AM

I can't wait for those protesting Baptists to burn in hell... lol. I always get a kick out of those that think they're doing 'God's Work.'
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 3:50:34 PM

what are guys sayin?...there is no hell....well ok there is...but it's not after you die....we're already living in it....i'll give you a clue....it's a cruel world....there ya go...as for those religious nuts that say people will either go to hell or heaven....uhh...i only have one thing to say to that...it's not for them to decide IS IT???...hope that makes enough sense
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 3:54:38 PM

i just don't believe a man who speaks for God ultimately gets to decide those things....some of those kinda people are pretty damn judgmental...everybody sins, simply cuz we're not perfect...still the point is getting along or not
bluemeenie writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 4:43:30 PM

Fred Phelps just didn't like DEAD gay people....which is why I guess they'll come back to life and...do gay things to him-there's the plot folks.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 4:45:22 PM

Yeah hate the haters- because you're righter...?
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 4:59:16 PM

At least Smith is moving into different genres...glad to see him trying to evolve his craft in little ways at least...
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 5:04:45 PM

...and before you jump on me as usual Smith has already stated it himself: "I'm a crap director but I know I'm a fantastic writer"...and he's right. He writes the best dialogue out there, but this guy barely knows how to piece together a dolly shot. Not knocking him- I'm just glad he's getting out of Jersey and rude comedy to try something new. If you look at his work without fanboy eyes- the last thing he is is a great director. The only thing he makes an impact with is his outrageously awesome dialogue skills. If he was a GREAT director all those community college actors he gets to read lines wouldn't sound like they're reading lines. thank god he ditched most of them for Zack and Miri- which was an awesome flick (and he actually moved the camera now and again).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved