WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Doug Jones Cast in Guillermo Del Toro's "Frankenstein"

Posted: June 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Doug Jones Cast in Guillermo Del ToroSubmit Comment
In an interview with BBC Radio, director Guillermo del Toro revealed that he has already cast Doug Jones as Frankenstein in his planned adaptation of the classic tale. You might remember Jones as Abe Sapien from "Hellboy" and Silver Surfer from "Fantastic Four 2." [via SciFi Squad]

Del Toro said that he will begin work on the make-up within the new few weeks. But just because things are moving forward, it doesn't mean that we'll see the film any time soon. According to him, he's "not in a hurry" and is not planning on shooting the film for five or six years from now. "You have one shot in your lifetime at these things and I don't want to do it the wrong way," he said.

Even though Del Toro has many projects planned, he is currently focusing on "The Hobbit" prequels, which will take over three years of his life.

Source: SciFi Squad


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 9:00:48 PM

good choice, I wonder who will portray the monster.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 9:56:30 PM

well he looks the part already, not much makeup will probably be needed for this guy
MrSammich writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 9:58:20 PM

Come on you had to see this coming already. Those two have been working together for years, from mimic to pan's labrynth and everything I bet he is in the hobbit somewhere too. But I am not agianst the idea I like Doug Jones in those weird parts.
manichispanic writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 10:56:08 PM

a limp-wristed frankenstein?
BlueMobius writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 11:12:14 PM

Sigh...this is where I can't rely on WP's journalistic skill. OK, are they saying he's going to be Frankenstein or that he's going to be the monster? Most people think the monster IS Frankenstein. I could see him in either part and it would be provocative if he played both parts. However, why the hell do we need ANOTHER Frankenstein? I mean, seriously. We have, what, six version or something already? I'd rather see one of the other classic horror tales tackled.
MrSammich writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 12:31:56 AM

They said they will look into the make up effects soon so you can assume the monster guys. Doug Jones doesn't do much acting out of costume.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 12:59:52 AM

well said BlueMobius.. some people never read that much into literature, as often mistaking Frankenstein as the monster and not the actual DOCTOR Frankenstein... as demonstrated by lostwarrior below me
alexgi writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 1:10:22 AM

@BlueMobius: Del Toro did not clarify whether Jones will play Dr. Frankenstein or Frankenstein's monster. I can only assume that Jones will play the monster, since he is known for taking roles like that.
Aido4258 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 3:08:52 AM

He is always in Del Toro's films
BrundleFly writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 5:21:11 AM

I always pictured this with Clive Owen as Dr. Frankenstein and Brian Steele as the monster. Wishful thinking I suppose.
kmccarney88 writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 3:36:26 PM

and that is why I am glad you are not in charge of casting decisions Brundlefly bc Clive Owen as Frankenstein is the worst idea in the history of bad ideas.....no offense. Anyway, I think this guy is good at what he does, playing the part of the inhuman characters within Del Toro's films, there is no reason to think he wont be good here. I wonder what part he will get in The Hobbit? My guess is that he will be the Goblin King, but I guess you never know.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 4:37:11 PM

You mean Doug Jones is not the Frankenstein monster already??
bluemeenie writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 4:40:13 PM

Gay activitists will have a problem with this- I see it already..."So if you're gay- you have to be some sort of monster?!?!- **** YOU HOLLYWOOD! **** YOU right up your ***!...and again...and again- actually **** you in the *** in a nice ryhthmic fashion.
Alex DeLarge writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 8:34:20 PM

those hobbit movies better be good, or he's screwed forever.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 2:58:52 PM

Del Toro is great LOTR would have been much better with him helming than Peter Jackson with his slow mo emotional scenes.
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 11:59:38 PM

Correction WP: He will be playing Frankenstein's monster, not Dr. Frankenstein. Perhaps you don't know the difference?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved