WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Fired from "GI Joe" Film?

Posted: June 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Fired from "GI Joe" Film?Submit Comment
A rumor that surfaced on the Don Murphy forums about the upcoming "GI Joe" film has already spread all across the internet, causing Paramount Pictures to play defense.

Here is what the post (which has been removed) said: "After a test screening wherein the film tested the lowest score ever from an audience in the history of Paramount, the executive who pushed for the movie Brad Weston had Stephen Sommers (The Mummy, Van Helsing), the super hack director of the film fired. Removed. Locked out of the editing room."

To fix the film, the studio brought in Stuart Baird to do some editing and make sure that it will be ready to go by August 7th.

Producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura tells LatinoReview that non of this is true. "It's very unfair to Steve, it's completely untrue. He was never asked to leave or been fired or any of that," he said. "That's ridiculous. The movie tested very well."

He added: "It hurts a guy's career when people go around talking about that he was fired or he didn't do a good job, and truth is he did a really good job. People are going to enjoy the movie, and the test audiences enjoyed the movie."

Click here to read our exclusive "GI Joe" preview.

Source: DonMurphy, LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MRW007 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 6:32:01 PM

wow. gi joe must be a terrible movie.
tomnottommy writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 6:44:07 PM

HAHAHA, hilarious. I knew this movie looked like sh*t. damn
Movieman572 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 7:53:44 PM

What did they expect? Its a movie about f*cking GI JOES!
Dre-EL writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 7:55:25 PM

If this story is true the movie has officially bombed. Why bring in Stuart Baird the guy who almost detroyed the Trek Franchise with Nemises. He's a good editor (Superman & Lethal Weapon movies) but I cant praise him as a director. I hope this story is false.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 9:00:51 PM

Lorenzo di Bonaventura produced both Transformer movies, I'll go with his word.
BlueMobius writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 9:26:08 PM

Bonaventura is an old hand at all this and after seeing the extended trailer I'm not so sure this movie's going to suck. Having seen a couple clips, I can say the whole thing looks pretty dang fun. Is it going to be the G.I.Joe we remember from the 80s (which sucked, btw, upon looking at it again)? Nope...but it's going to be fun, I have no doubt.
lost_addict writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 10:59:55 PM

false rumor.movie will be brainless action fun.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 11:22:05 PM

I have caught a screening of this and it certainly wasnt a bad flick. Its made for the teen set for sure- definitely not a thinking man's flick like Bourne but it got the job done- some effects were unfinished (or at least I hope so) but I thought it was pretty damn good....and there's NOTHING wrong with Star Trek Nemesis except for the faggotty trekkie tools who found reason to hate it because they were miffed Johnathan Frakes didnt get a chance to direct again. Boo hoo- it's a good movie. Trekkies destroyed their own franchise by not watching it- hence the reimagining.
acslaterson writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 1:31:34 AM

I don't know about this but I just saw a comercial for The Hangover and I am now going to watch it again tomorrow, hahaha.
masKritic writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:00:49 AM

I was in a test screening and it was a great response. I enjoyed the film i think Sommers did a great job.
telur writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:35:57 AM

what i saw from trailer, is too over. I think never been made GI JOE: Revenge of the Snake
borat writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:42:58 AM

oh man i was hoping this would not suck
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:58:55 AM

GIJOE was a huge stretch in the first place. I'm sure Sommers won't have much of a problem removing his name from this soon to be flop. Hasbro could have directed this and it would still suck. You people who like this crap just don't ask anything for your $8 anymore do you?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 3:14:16 AM

Whoever cast this movie should be the one on the chopping block. This wigga Tatum is the worst actor on the face of the planet. Marlon Wayans and some Lohan look-alike as the Baronesse??? And this movie's much better suited for Randy Quaid than Dennis Quaid don't you think.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 9:18:56 AM

this is Dragon Ball 2 the revenge of the crap, im totally not going to see this sh*t!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 9:44:21 AM

I hope there's a PSA at the end of the movie
bluemeenie writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 9:45:19 AM

PrevalentMind Nemesis was worse than MI2!! You're nuts!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 9:46:56 AM

Nemesis was so bad- which is why we got the reboot-the last Trek movie-which was great!
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:40:27 PM

We got a reboot because Insurrection, Nemesis and the new series flat out failed. Nemesis was a good flick and a throwback to Wrath of Khan. It was paced well, the performances were excellent, they did a great sign off for Data...go look at actual critics instead of Trekkie nerds on RT who write reviews on their homepage and call themselves respectable reviewers. It was a good flick working with a tired, dragged out TNG crowd. It was 'been there and done that before flick'- BUT doesn't make it the crapfest trekkies made it out to be. f*ck Johnathan Frakes. And anyone who compares two flicks from two different genres isnt exactly the person I'll get my opinions from. Compare it to the other Star Trek flicks or other sci fi's at least. Otherwise its like saying "The Cider House Rules was okay- but Monster Vs Aliens kicked its ass." "Titanic blew- but not as much Mirrors." "ClockStoppers was forgettable but not as much as BAPS"
MRW007 writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 8:37:13 PM

im not into all this gi joe stuff. but i find the best casting they did was ray park. cause he's bad ass!
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 7:52:36 PM

The new Star Trek movie blew. Idiotic, nonsense story, characters reduced to either cud-chewing caricatures, or apple-grinding d*ckheads (yeah, get Urban, give him a hick accent, a bad haircut and have him toss out lines stolen from TOS and he does a good job as McCoy...who wouldn't?), tennybopper mentality in the script writing, contrived and wasted use of Nimoy, Tv-like filming with poor use of widescreen theatrical aspects, sexual innuendo jammed into awkward moments, characters trashing priceless automotive heirlooms in a canyon-filled Iowa in an age with no gas, time-traveling that makes no sense, silly 'red matter' (???), 'blackholes' or whatnot that never function the same twice and just a lousy childish script written by Orci and Kurtzmann, the two pants-j*zzing juvenile manchildren that grew up in the 80s but can't get the magic of that time remotely correct without gross-out, brainless immaturity (e.g. Transformers). Yeah, Nemesis does far, far better. At least THAT film had a little of the Roddenberry touch.
minkowski writes:
on June 14th, 2009 at 7:56:29 PM

"Nemesis was so bad- which is why we got the reboot-the last Trek movie-which was great!" You're an idiot. If Nemesis was the reason Star Trek got rebooted, why wasn't the whole damn thing rebooted after Star Trek V?? Damned good question. Fact is, Star trek was getting very long in the tooth and grey in the hair with the TOS demographics, and not attracting much new fresh teeny blood. They had to pander to the mindless youth, the 3G generation, to whore Star Trek out for more cash. Just like they do with ANY franchise.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 15th, 2009 at 1:11:00 PM

Well you get what you pay for I guess. Plus it takes a seriously competent director to keep G.I.Joe real without making it laughable.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 3:36:57 PM

Nemesis was the only Trek movie I liked, but I haven't seen the new one.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved