WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "Spawn"?

Posted: June 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "Spawn"?Submit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane previously revealed that he might want to make a small "Spawn" horror flick, instead of a big budget movie, in order to have more control and to possibly direct it.

He now tells MTV News that he already has an actor in mind to star in his film. "The main character isn't Spawn, per se, it's the guy chasing Spawn," said McFarlane. "And I've always had [Leonardo] DiCaprio in the back of my mind."

He continued: "It's a big wish, but his dad was a big fan of underground comic books and he came from that. It's not a big special-effects movie, it's a character movie, so I could shoot it in 40-50 days and you don't have to budget that much time."

McFarlane added that the role won't be either of the two detectives from the "Spawn" universe. "We had Sam and Twitch in the book, but because of some of the stuff I'm trying to sell in Hollywood, we might have to change the characters a bit," he explained. "But it would still be a police character who's chasing down a case and in the middle of this 'Godfather'-type movie, something weird is out there and no one knows about it except him and a few other people."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 6:02:31 PM

NEVER GONNA HAPPEN
acslaterson writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:02:19 PM

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! f*cking dude has lost his mind!
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:39:31 PM

DiCaprio will star in that right after he finishes shooting that Titanic sequel in December.
MrSammich writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:46:20 PM

Todd, give it up. You are so lame. Nuff' said.
WV-Films writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 8:46:36 PM

Ok Tod........sure Tod.........whatever Tod.......This movie sounds like "Cleaver" from the Sopranos.
telur writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:09:51 PM

is Leo gonna die again like in Titanic, Aviator, Departed, Blood Diamond, or Man in the Iron Mask?
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:37:02 PM

telur - lol. How true, eh?
BlueMobius writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:39:33 PM

Iiiii don't knowww! This is actually starting to sound interesting...well, minus the DiCaprio part. That guy blows. But the concept is intriguing. Reminds me of the offbeat Hellraiser sequels that went straight to DVD. They were solid films (well, a couple of them were) and showed you can still do independent horror with established milieus. I'd like to see McFarlane do this.
bacci40 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 12:01:20 AM

news alert for the toddler...no one cares about spawn or you...that what you get for blowing all your caishe on home run balls and thinking you were to big to write or draw your own comics
Alex DeLarge writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 2:24:17 AM

This information is useless to the point where it wouldn't have even mattered had you not posted it. Not gonna happen, I can tell you that now.
majorziggy writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 2:28:10 AM

what's the point in going low budget if ur gonna tune down the violence and change the charecters and try to get an A-list actor in it!? seriously WTF TOD!?the people who are going to wanna see spawn are adults, people whom grew up with spawn, not f'n teenagers, cater to the people whom have kept spawn a popular comic figure, the people who watched the hbo series, bought the comics, bought the action figures. i highly doubt many of them are under 17, and i'm pretty sure all of them would like a hard R that sticks true to the charecter origins
JKline writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 11:05:03 AM

Spawn rules
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 11:11:19 AM

acslaterson- the guy has gone COMPLETELY MENTAL hahaha...he's compromising like a mutherf*cker. What are they giving him for a budget? 50 cents and a handycam?
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 12:48:54 PM

FYI, Leo doesn't die in The Aviator.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 1:10:20 PM

This is not going to happen
jsoto127 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 1:27:21 PM

SPAWN HAD ITS DAY... IT OVER!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 3:41:11 PM

what a bad way to kill spawn...especially after a decade
AntiHero2012 writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 4:12:16 PM

All u fags will still go watch this movie anyways. Losers
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 9:45:26 PM

Holy crap, you guys are brutal... LOL!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 1:26:35 AM

i'd rather see spawn 2....i thought the first was good enough...but there's always room for an R rating for number two...but would that ever happen?....i saw the cartoon movie and that sh*t was intense
Kal-El writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:08:13 AM

I've been thinking about remodeling my bathroom, and I've always had Dicaprio in the back of my mind.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 10:11:21 AM

When I slipped on the toilet I hit my head and drew a picture of this...
Ranger writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 2:17:12 PM

synthetic1985 - you're right. The HBO animated Spawn was intense. Exactly how the movie should be made (R-Rated) - but that isn't likely to happen. And in Todd's defense... were it all of our money up front, NONE OF US (be HONEST) would give up the PG paying audience to 'stick to our guns... our 'art'' to make an R movie and lose a couple a hundred million at the box office (not domestic... after worldwide for this flick). So, I'm sure it's eating away at him more having to make these concessions than it is to us to read about them: PG $'s vs. R-rated $'s, the Studio wanting more 'artistic' control if it goes bigger budget (thus bigger distribution - it's a complicated formula folks.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 17th, 2009 at 3:23:26 PM

Done like this Spawn could be awesome. HBO series was great, movie was kina sh*tty, but not too sh*tty. The comic was awesome, at first anyway, I stopped reading all together after a little while. Spawn I think was always meant as more of mood style horror.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved