WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Mickey Rourke as Whiplash in "Iron Man 2"

Posted: June 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Mickey Rourke as Whiplash in "Iron Man 2"Submit Comment
Paramount Pictures has just unveiled a first look at Mickey Rourke as the villainous Whiplash from the upcoming "Iron Man" sequel. The photo, which you can check out below, features a shot of Rourke wearing an outfit with a power pack on his chest that looks similar to that of Iron Man's.

"The technologies are definitely related," director Jon Favreau told USA Today. "That's part of the core theme of the film."

The villain's alter ego, Ivan Vanko, is a Russian who "has constructed his own version of a suit," Favreau said. Among the creative innovations: a pair of whips, powered by the suit's glowing chest piece, that are expected to keep Iron Man cracking.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Iron Man 2."

Source: USA Today


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Agent Calavera writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:19:26 PM

nice
Luminus writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:37:54 PM

He's too exposed. He could get killed wild, crazy easily in that thing.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:46:54 PM

Awsome outfit,and Mickey Rourke is ripped as !!
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:49:39 PM

Looks like a kinky outfit David Carradine would've enjoyed in his hotel room.... ...too soon?
lostwarrior writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:51:21 PM

f*ck yeah thats bad ass
tomnottommy writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 11:28:26 PM

wheres scarlett johansson as black widow dammit?
johnny_boy writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 11:29:43 PM

the outfit is cool.i notice he's wearing orange pants so i guess he just got out of prison so we'll most likely see an even better outfit later in the movie.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 11:44:28 PM

Whips? That just seems like a ridiculous weapon to use against a dude in an invincible metal suit with guns and sh*t. I don't know. Maybe I'm just putting to much thought into a comic book movie but it looks kinda cheesy
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:05:27 AM

Yeah... I've always thought this of Whiplash... LAME. Sorry guys. Iron Man... 50 yards away (AND flying) - ONE repulsor blast to Whiplash... fade to black, roll the credits. Lame.
BobMcBob writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:06:53 AM

not impressed; looks like something out of Mad Max 2
thomas deadison writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:29:43 AM

Dig it. I think it's silly to question the movie's logic by one picture of one character. I'm sure the professionals working on the film would be totally lost without the input of a few WorstPreviews users. No offense to anyone.
steeviewoo writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:32:45 AM

is that a pimple on his forehead? huh?
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:36:35 AM

No... just an allergic reaction from injecting his anti-depression meds.
manichispanic writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:39:09 AM

can't wait. he's an ugly bastard isn't he?
AshTrey writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:50:03 AM

HE LOOKS LIKFE FOREST GUMP EXCEPT HE HAS THE sh*t ON HIS ARMS AND NOT LEGS... THIS IS WEAK
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 1:40:24 AM

^^^^ you f*ckin trash lmaooooooooooo
johnny_boy writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:31:41 AM

i used to think joker was a lame villain til i saw heath ledger as joker.now he's a favorite of mine.just wait til u c rourke bring this guy to life and u all mite change ur mind 2. besides dont 4get we all wanted him as the villain since the subject came up.
MrSammich writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:50:09 AM

Two things; one, is it just me or does it look like there is some kind of blade on the whips he has, and two, are they on a race track?
alexzzzz writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 3:03:30 AM

hella badass!!!
alexgi writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 3:33:51 AM

@MrSammich: Yup, he's standing at the Monaco Historic Grand Prix.
lost_addict writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 5:01:47 AM

iron man 2 will suck.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 5:09:16 AM

2 set photos, and every one is acting like they already know if the movie will suck or not!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:18:21 AM

rourke is a monster, he's gonna be crazy in this, he'll be so much better than jeff bridges as Obadiah Stane, he was actually terrible
Sinestro writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:28:09 AM

Hey look, it's Jack Sparrow.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 8:38:49 AM

this obviously isnt the finished suit- for the tards who think he'll be this exposed in battle with IronMan- this is OBVIOUSLY a shot of Ivan before he changes into a true villain. He's testing his version of the technology. There will be more armour ya fools.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 9:38:06 AM

Hate to say this, but I hope this movie isn't as dumb as it looks. Still, Mickey, Downey, and Don sounds like a good enough cast to make this sh*t float. Keeping my fingers crossed.
acslaterson writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:28:03 AM

Do you guys remember when Stark was testing his boots and repulsor rays in his garage? How he was in regular clothes? Now think the same thing thing with this photo. He probably just escaped from prison or a prison yransport with this bare bones prototype. I am guessing the remaining armor will be built around it before he takes on Iron Man. Think before you bash people, this movie is going to be straight big fake ( • )( • ) s!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:33:24 AM

He needs to use that sh*t on Sean Penn for stealing his oscar...That's f*ckin' badass...If this was in Terminator Salvation, people be lining up that sh*t...Rourke like a muthaf*cka!!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:05:13 AM

What the?! I dunno about this but I'm going to have to see how that plays out.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:58:39 AM

He looks like a villain from the live action "Masters of the Universe" movie from '87
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 1:32:04 PM

acslaterson - I'm not judging Rourke. I just think these exposed characters (Whiplash and Gladiator) are a joke against Iron Man's armor and repulsor blasts (from a distance). CLEARLY Whiplash will have to draw Stark in within his range (somehow) to make any fight sequence work. I'm pretty sure this movie will be kick-ass. I have just always thought some of these characters are just plain, ol' lame.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 1:47:23 PM

Okay, now we better see a pic of Scarlett by next week.
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:03:07 PM

I think they're holding off on that one my friend. But it would be a nice surprise. I'm amazed how they're keeping Iron Man's on everybody's mind with these little tidbits. He's not in the tneaters 'til 2010. It's not like we're going to forget who he is when he comes out then.
IronMan2008 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 4:12:15 PM

Alright... Whiplash isn't the greatest character... but... this is clearly from the beginning of the movie... Justin Hammer will give him a way better suit... And, for the record... His whips can deflect bullets and a bunch of other crazy stuff... He will give Iron Man a run for his money (the billions of dollars he has)... And, if you need proof that Whiplash will be difficult... WarMachine isn't going to be in the movie for no F***ing reason...
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 4:20:58 PM

I'm a die-hard Iron Man fan, so please excuse me for saying this, but I'm having a nerdgasm just from seeing this pic. Mickey Rourke is one totally badass mofo. Long dyed hair, heavily tattooed, and is that a toothpick in his mouth?! I have always thought that Whiplash was one of the lamest supervillains in the MARVEL universe, but Favreau & co. seem to be doing him justice. For kudos points, i agree with BobMcBob. He does look like he came from THE ROAD WARRIOR.
John1017 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 5:48:54 PM

According to Marvel.com, Whiplash could "could turn up the electric charge to its maximum which caused anything it hit, including Iron Man’s armor, to become brittle. He also used anti-gravity bolas, heavy gravity bolas, and various other devices also of his own design. When Mark returned to his original alias of Whiplash, he also upgraded his armaments with a kinetic whip, a cat-o-nine-tails, and a whip made of super conductive filament in order to channel lightning as an offensive weapon." doesnt sound to lame
tomhanksnutt writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 5:55:20 PM

Mickey Rourke is a great actor! but i expected mor from the costume.
DIEHARDRAMA writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 5:56:57 PM

Maybe its just a beginning of what mickey's character is designing and he's gonna look cooler later in the movie. And Ranger, be logical dude :). Maybe his whips can "whip out" far enough to snag Iron Man. Supposedly the whips drain out Iron Man each time they make contact.
KirkLazerus writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 6:45:30 PM

its probably a prototype like Starks first suit, they are not gonna show him all suited up so early, there is still a year left until the movie comes out
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:42:54 PM

So yeah... I get it. We ALL get it. Whiplash is deadly at close range. Here we go... Iron Man... 200 yards away... repulsor blasts Whiplash into pudding. Fade to black. Roll credits. Nuff said.
johnny_boy writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:52:27 PM

mark my words. the surprise of the movie is gonna b how he looks in armor that Hammer gives him.then everyone bitchin how he looks now r gonna say how awsome his Crimson Dynam outfit is, not to mention a great performance.
drrrksurfer writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 1:22:40 PM

Let not for get Avenger fans that if they decide to use big time villains like Ultron, then Ant Man will be intergral in the Avengers story line. And as previously stated. The Wasp was/is just SO hot.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 1:23:37 PM

Well at least they're not going the Japanese route with IM2...with all the rings and what have yous
bluemeenie writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 1:24:53 PM

Thought this was a pic for The Wrestler 2...
Ranger writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 3:41:06 PM

johnny_boy - I didn't know Whiplash became the Crimson Dynamo. OK... this makes more sense then. Because like the Whiplash or not... as IM can fly, he'd kick WL's ass so bad, it would look like a reboot (literally) of the Rodney King beating.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 4:54:07 PM

So is Mickey Rourke's character Whiplash become Crimson Dynamo later in the movie?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved