WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shia LaBeouf Declines "Y: The Last Man" Lead

Posted: June 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shia LaBeouf Declines "Y: The Last Man" LeadSubmit Comment
It's been a while since director DJ Caruso announced that he would helm a big screen adaptation of the "Y: The Last Man" comic book. The goal was to sign Shia LaBeouf, who Caruso previously worked with on "Eagle Eye" and "Disturbia," for the lead role of Yorick Brown, the lone survivor of a plague that wipes out all males on the planet.

Now, LaBeouf tells Wizard magazine [via ComingSoon] that the Yorick character is too similar to his Sam Witwicky role in the "Transformers" franchise.

"You take Sam and you put a monkey on his shoulder," said LaBeouf of Yorick's sidekick Ampersand. "I don't know if it's that big a differential. It seems like he's the ordinary guy in an extraordinary situation again."

He added: "I'm not willing to make that movie currently, and may be too old to play the role by the time it does come around."

Source: Wizard


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:34:52 PM

"hmm so Spielberg isn't involved? DECLINE!"-Shia LaBeouf's motto
acslaterson writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:50:08 PM

Thank God! I stopped reading after Volume 4 because I found out LaDueche was going to be in the adaptation. I can't wait to pick up Volume 5 tomorrow!
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:51:00 PM

Maybe Shia is too busy being 'in love' with his Mom.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:37:45 PM

^nice one Ranger. I'm glad to hear this news. There are plenty of young actors that I would rather see. I'd rather see Anton Yelchin.
i3u7n5 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:38:20 PM

I cant wait until he's bald
Sinestro writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:49:00 PM

Thank you, Jesus!
Sinestro writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:49:59 PM

Now they need to get rid of Caruso and this movie is back in track.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 9:08:42 PM

Sinestro I agree completely
whoever writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 9:54:11 PM

I think Christopher Egan would be best to play Yorick.
lost_addict writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 11:08:47 PM

no no no no no no no no no no....
bacci40 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:28:48 AM

thank god...in fact, someone should tell shia that all the roles offered to him are exactly like sam witwicky
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:30:07 AM

I don't know, I like him. I guess it's good since it seems like he's in every new movie.
bacci40 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:30:42 AM

you want the perfect yorrick? get michael cera, or john francis daley
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 9:36:29 AM

Until Cera begins to actually act- Im fonna have to say thats a terrible casting idea. The guy just mumbles out the corner of his mouth while looking insecurely at the ground every movie he's in. Watching the Year One trailers and all they did was take his hoodie off- WHICH I might add he wears in every movie he's in too. SO until he begins to actually act and changes his f*cking clothes Im gonna pass on that overrated annoyance.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 9:40:23 AM

"You take Sam and you put a monkey on his shoulder,"- and who's LeBeouf kidding? We all know he plays the same character every film. How exactly is his roles in Disturbia, Constantine, Eagle Eye, or Transformers, or Indiana Jones any different? Goofy, normal kid, who rambles intermittently funny stuff while slapping on a serious face now and again to kick some seriously choreographed ass. I can't wait for the the YouTube parody of his screaming different names: BUMBALLBAAAAAAAAY!!!!! OPTOMUSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:36:50 AM

"Too busy having sex with my mom"- SL
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:06:31 AM

Super weak. The guy looks like a Sophomore and he thinks he's getting too old, lol.
akumavern writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 1:42:06 PM

Finally. Some GOOD news from this hack.
PirateDave128 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 4:24:20 PM

"that the Yorick character is too similar to his Sam Witwicky role in the "Transformers" franchise???" Sorry but arn't all Shia's performances exactly the same??? Well I'm actually quite excited about this film now he's not in it =D
Mattthoing writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 9:13:55 PM

f*ck YES!! This is great! Oh my heart jumped with joy at the new of this. Now Y: The Last Man have chance to be a epic movie!!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:44:00 PM

I surprised he can talk during interviews with his Mom's tit still in his mouth.
Sinestro writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:44:54 PM

Joseph Gordon-Levitt could do the role justice. Did someone say Michael Cera? Dude plays the same clueless nimrod in every show/movie he is in.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on June 12th, 2009 at 1:06:10 PM

This is amazing news. Great comic that would've been an awful flick with Shia involved. Now I'm looking forward to it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved