WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tarantino Asked to Cut 40 Minutes from "Inglourious Basterds"

Posted: June 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tarantino Asked to Cut 40 Minutes from "Inglourious Basterds"Submit Comment
It was previously reported that Quentin Tarantino may take advantage of his contract with The Weinstein Company to extend "Inglourious Basterds" to a length of 2 hours and 48 minutes, which is 21 minutes longer than the Cannes Film Festival cut.

Now, The Wrap is reporting that The Weinstein Company is having some financial troubles and are in a desperate need of a hit. All hope falls on Tarantino's shoulders, but will American audiences go see a film that's almost 3 hours long? According to the results for "Grindhouse," the answer is NO.

So to make sure that a film starring Brad Pitt and directed by Tarantino doesn't end up losing money, the Weinsteins and Universal Pictures are both trying to convince Tarantino to cut 40 minutes out of "Basterds," making it a 2 hour movie.

Considering that the main complaint out of Cannes was that the film contains too many scenes of people sitting around and chatting, it may be a good idea to do a bit of slicing. But Tarantino won't go down without a fight.

Click here to read more about "Inglourious Basterds."

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boyle_anderson_lynch writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:31:39 PM

Dont you dare Tarantino!! You make cult classic blockbusters not just blockbusters. Stay true to your art........i think i just pretended whoever was on the other side of this message was Quentin Tarantino, I need to get off the internet..
jgrantt18 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:35:25 PM

Tarantino is kind of a self-indulgent cliche at this point. He is literally the Billy Walsh character from Entourage. I had high-high hopes when I saw the trailer for this movie and even higher hopes when I heard Michael Fassbender was in it, but after hearing that it barely features the Dirty Dozen-esque (read: rip-off without having to pay anyone for the remake rights) plot and that it has an epic run-time from a director who hasn't really delivered lately, I have to say I'm not expecting much anymore.
acslaterson writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:48:44 PM

Why not release both and let audiences choose which they would rather see? It is an August release, not much competition and I would pay to see the Director's cut.
Dre-EL writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:50:19 PM

I like QT's movies but some time they do tend to be packed with too much dialog, and sometimes the dialog has nothing to do with the story. I say cut the freakin thing and put the 40mins in a Directors cut DVD.
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 5:56:11 PM

Dre-EL - again... well said. I'm agreeing with you too much today Dre. But you're saving me some typing. And Tarantino doesn't have the push behind him like a Lucas or a Cameron to make a stand either. But yeah, save the long version for DVD. Let's ALL be honest... there were parts of Kill Bill that were too, TOO long to sit through.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 6:04:10 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOO...never never ever....short movies taht are missing something ALWAYS suck...
jjjjjoey writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 6:04:45 PM

Cut 15-25mins. And the lenght of Grindhouse was great.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 6:20:47 PM

i just saw the original inglourious Basterds, not bad.Actually im relieved because from the previews of QT version or what ever u wanna call it, I can tell its not a rip off of the original, unlike Kill Bill was a complete rip off of Lady Snow Blood. But regardless if he cuts it or not Im going to see this the day it comes out. It just looks kool, but to say this would a master piece I dont know yet. And know this is just my opinion but a masterpiece is something that is completely original and since Inglourious Basterds is a remake of some kind, it would have to do more than just raise the bar for it to be considered a Masterpiece.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:31:24 PM

Ouch!!! That will most likely kill this movie. Scraping 40 min from any movie is not what you want to hear as a director or anyone for that matter.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:43:02 PM

The Weinsteins are such d*cks! Its because of them that Red State has yet to be released and why Sin City 2 has been continuously delayed. I'm almost as tired of them as I am of 20th Century Fox. I would rather Tarantino delay the film and find another distributor because I will be so angry if he is forced to splice it down.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 9:34:03 PM

LOL, i told you that this movie will suck like crap,Tarantina its so desperade, because the movie have only one action scence and the studio is cuting his ass hahahahaha, Hollywood suck! You can lick my balls Tarantino`s lover`s
Kal-El writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 12:53:55 AM

Grindhouse isn't a good barometer because of RR's Planet Terrible anchor. The longer cut of Deathproof, on the other hand, is superior to the Grindhouse cut even though it has more "chatting." Don't f*ck with QT.
telur writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 1:44:18 AM

Tarantino too much talking sh*t. He's only good in Pulp Fiction. The lenght movie should cut away to 2 hours
bacci40 writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:40:32 AM

Dre-EL, so you woulda cut the entire diner scene and the royale with cheese scene from the car in pulp fiction....right? what makes tarantino movies different is that the characters bs about nothing...makes them real...and he should cut the movie so it will increase the grosses...he can toss everything back on the dvd...the economy sucks...theaters are not gonna book a 3 hour movie and hurt popcorn sales
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 9:02:45 AM

Whatever gets rid of Weinstein. Look he's allowed some great material to float out there- but for every good flick he's put out there's been 20 films he's trashed, scrapped, dismembered and completely f*cked over (Crossing Over anyone? Fanboys?) Let him go down. He's a terrible producer and a cutthroat businessman- why's it Tarantino's responsibility to bail him out of 10 years of bad marketing and release decisions? Either way Tarantino has a CONTRACT...so if he wants his movie that length HE GETS IT!...You dug your own hole Weinstein- climb out yourself.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 10:37:39 AM

It was too Ingloriousey
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 11:17:44 AM

@jgrantt18 - You are so freaking right in too many ways! Plus really people, Only 40 minutes? He, or maybe we, should be so lucky.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 11th, 2009 at 9:03:57 AM

im gonna see this one only on internet or CD, it is not worth the pain to see it in the cinema, its gonna suUuck!
Donald Kaufman writes:
on June 13th, 2009 at 1:57:59 AM

^^ No one gives two sh*ts where you're going to watch it. If you hate the man then why watch his movies anyways?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved