WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Reveals New Details for Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, Avengers

Posted: June 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Reveals New Details for Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, AvengersSubmit Comment
At the Sony Pictures lot in Culver City, Marvel's president of production Kevin Feige spoke about some of the upcoming Marvel films, including "Iron Man 2," "Thor," "Captain America," "The Avengers," "Ant-Man," and a new, mysterious film. We broke down all the updates below. [via FirstShowing]

* In "Iron Man 2," Scarlett Johansson's character has "two sides." She is first an assistant to Tony Stark, but later is revealed to be the Black Widow. Seems like she will eventually betray Stark just like in the comics.

* "Thor" takes place on both modern Earth and other worlds like Asgard.

* In "Thor," Kenneth Branagh will not use classic Shakespearian dialogue like in the comics.

* The order of films (Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America, Avengers) is on purpose. Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston have signed on for multiple films in "multiple franchises." Feige mentioned that he wants characters to make surprise appearances just like in the comics.

* "Captain America" is a period piece that takes place during WWII.

* In "Captain America," the hero's sidekick Bucky will make an appearance.

* "Avengers" was first considered as an animated film. Feige added: "why don't we wait" until the characters are introduced in their own movies and then have them come together in a "surprise" manner in "Avengers."

* Marvel will look at Edgar Wright's "Ant-Man" script, after Wright is finished with "Scott Pilgrim."

* Feige mentioned that another Marvel movie will be announced for a 2012 release.

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 5:22:21 AM

what if 'thor' and 'captain america' turn out to be bad movies?will they still make 'the avangers'???
acslaterson writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 6:16:26 AM

^^^Blasphemy!!! Haha, what is the new movie they are talking about for 2012? I don't know about Ant-Man, I hate the character and a whole movie about Pym shrinking and beating his wife? Uhhhh, no thanks. You want him just put him as a secondary character in the other movies(probably work best in Iron Man 2).
Gaudion93 writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 6:21:54 AM

Maybe The Incredible Hulk 2?
Koolkrazykid55 writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 7:15:22 AM

i think thor is gunna be stupid. i never liked him. tyhey should just make an incredible hulk 2
LastActionHero writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 7:18:29 AM

All I can think of with Ant-Man is the old SNL skit where all the superheros are at a party and they start making fun of is lame powers.
wonderBOY writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 7:54:02 AM

if captain america is set in WWII how will he be in avengers will bucky become captain america or will it be a 60-70 yr old CA
WV-Films writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 8:21:46 AM

Why Ant-Man? Do these execs think Ant-Man is this great seminal comic book character?
Monswine writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 8:27:48 AM

Oy! It's so difficult to be reading comments from the un-initiated. Cap is gonna be frozen-unfrozen like in the original Avengers comics (if you want proof watch the alternate opening to The Incredible Hulk and look real close when the sea ice breaks up). The "new movie" is probably Iron Man III since it was already announced Favreau wants to do a trilogy. Even if Thor and TFA:Captain America end up being bad films, it's not going to stop them. It will bring down their box office, but it won't stop them. If anyone is a master at continuing to publish material that has long been abandoned by their market, it's the Comics biz. Marvel Studios has a grand McU vision, and they WILL complete it.
Monswine writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 8:31:26 AM

Ok, I'll admit Ant-Man isn't the most engaging of characters but that's because he's hasn't had a solo adventure in SOOO long. At this point Marvel has admitted that Hank Pym will probably hand over the mantle to Scott Lang during the film, which should make it a little more interesting. Particularly with Janet Van Dyne(The Wasp) involved. I mean, come on, The Avengers can't be a total sausagefest. All they have no is Black Widow with 9 other guys. BTW, is anyone else glad they've ditched the Donald Blake storyline for Thor?
acslaterson writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 9:18:16 AM

If you don't mind me asking why don't you like Thor?
thomas deadison writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 9:42:34 AM

I'm actually most excited about Ant-Man simply because of who is behind it.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 10:49:34 AM

2012 mite be Dr. Strange
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 10:50:45 AM

Animated "Avengers"? I have faith in Kenneth Branagh for "Thor" So far, he's famous for making alot of good movies back in his heyday, including 1995's "Hamlet". As for thomas deadison, you don't like Edgar Wright? Are you serious?
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 10:51:22 AM

Captain America better be Matthew Mcconaughey & be filmed with the look of Private Ryan if its period!
thomas deadison writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:11:46 PM

RoadDog, I'm implying that I do, and it was meant to be a response to WV. I love Edgar Wright. I think Ant-Man and Thor are easily the most interesting projects of this whole lot.
Barney Stinson writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:12:01 PM

@Roaddog - I think deadison does like Edgar Wright. Re-read his comment.
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:19:08 PM

Matthew Mcconaughey is a pencil neck and doesn't even know how CA is (ugh... even CA's name should be a clue... even to the clueless like Matthew). Neil Fifer has been in talks with them to play CA. Monswine - I agree with everything you say, except... Ant Man sucks. He really, REALLY does. Ant Man sucked so bad they made him Giant Man... cripes! Was he created, then re-created on Fridays with impending deadlines? Even the Wasp is useless (HAWT... but useless). Maybe the Avengers would see Tony just bring in whores for the guys on Poker Night? I like the CA WWII idea. And again Monswine is correct on the timing of it all. And to the one that asked... yes, CA just won't be 70 years old like the animation claims... but closer to 100 by the time he's leading the Avengers. And yes, I believe they'll go ahead with an Avengers movie even if CA and Thor are sub-par... which I won't believe they will be. $'s R $'s and every movie counts... in the theaters and/or straight to DVD (which by the way 'straight to DVD IS intentional for some movies made - it's usually the cheaper budget movies... but in DVD - sometimes, cult following - and it's makes a lot of $'s). I'm rooting for Fifer to get this role.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:52:42 PM

I'm on board with everything said about Iron Man 2. not sure about the rest. At least it's being financed solely by Marvel Studios and not with Fox. I'm hoping DC does something other than Dark Knight... which was great, but one character out of the DC pool??? That's just unacceptable.
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:07:20 PM

Well...there's Superman. And you knew Green Lantern was in the works...yes?
lostwarrior writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:29:46 PM

you know what Fifer would be great, keep Mcconaughey away from anything that has to do with comics unless he is just an innocent bystander and gets killed, that would be one hell of a cameo. And no Ant Man, or Giant Man or what ever name they want to give him I mean, he just kinda schwag in my book. And I know this will not happen but it would be kinda kool if they somehow got spider man in on these somehow even if its just one scene. Who knows maybe someday they will do a civil war series or something u know.
Monswine writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:48:39 PM

to acslaterson If youre query was directed at me, I'm sorry if it came off that way. I LOVE Thor and consider him one of the most powerful and important heroes in Marvel. Without his might and eternal wisdom there would be no Avengers. I mean who else could pose a challenge to The Silver Surfer? I still think Ant-Man is worth it. Who else can keep up with Tony Stark mentally and comedically?
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:49:03 PM

I see Neil Fifer is a comic fan too. While checking him out, one site has led to another with some info. Lead to a couple of issues of a 'Fanzine' on comics he published. They're on eBay under 'Comic Cellar' Hey... an actual comic fan to play a Super Hero in Hollywood... FINALLY!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:51:17 PM

Monswine - good post. Yes Giant/Ant Man could keep up with Tony that way... good point. They sure made him (Pym) out to be quite the dink in the animated Avenger's Movie... then he died (thank God!). LOL... note - Thor saved Stark but let Pym kick the can (Thor... U ROC!). And yes, Thor is a VERY important character in the Avengers. I think we're all headed for some amazing movies my friends!
zetterberg writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 2:35:18 PM

wonderBOY, Cap gets frozen in ice during WWII. They thaw him out. He doesn't age.
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 2:39:36 PM

NO he doesn't (suspended animation and all that) - I was just referring to his years on the planet being closer to 100, but yeah, in the Avengers he's just his WWII age. Should be an entertaining movie.
Dre-EL writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 2:53:51 PM

In "Thor," Kenneth Branagh will not use classic Shakespearian dialogue like in the comics. Why not? This kind of dialog is contributes to the believe-ability of Thor's asgardian world. Unless of course they plan to use ancient norwegian (norseman speaks) like in pathfinder. "Avengers" was first considered as an animated film. Didnt they already do that? "Captain America" is a period piece that takes place during WWII. I hope they have him wearing the Red White and Blue unlike the animated film. Plus they should show a lot of his WWII adventures with him vs the Red Skull and establish why he is so celebrated. I remember that crapy CA movie from the early nineties, he disappeared on his first WWII mission, please dont go there again. Looking forward to all these movies, its about time.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 3:27:34 PM

@ thomas dedison I'm sorry. I misconstrued.
RedHeadedStud writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 3:28:33 PM

Incredible Hulk TWO pleASE!!!!!!
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 3:29:53 PM

As for Ranger's comments about his choice for Captain America: Niel Fifer is a little too old for the role, and he's from Canada.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 3:32:27 PM

Maybe they will bring Blade back in 2012??? The thirst always wins! And f*ck Morbius fighting Spidey in the fourth movie. They should have saved him for Blade, but we'll have to see if they still care about that franchise.
BlahblahIV writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 3:42:15 PM

lol Really Roaddog? Fifer shouldn't be cast because he's Canadian? God forbid someone who isn't american gets cast as captain america. I sincerely hope that was just a joke.
MRW007 writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 4:43:16 PM

who cares
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 6:29:07 PM

Fifer is a better choice than Seth Rogan (also Canadian)... as Seth's name has come up... lol. Ugh!
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 7:29:19 PM

Would someone remind me of the original Capt. America story. Why did they make only 1 Super Soldier. Did something happen to the secret formula and it was lost... or what?
Ari Gold writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 8:09:02 PM

mattcl23 thats a sick idea! bring morbius in blade 4! he makes himself a vampire accidentally, loses his mind turns others into vampires and blade has a new enemy! get rid of the night stalkers and make it more like the first blade!! f*ck yeah!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 1:10:58 AM

i agree...morbius should be in blade....there's way cooler villians that have yet to be shown in spiderman than morbius
Eben1277 writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 9:11:32 AM

Ant man has the strength of a human
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 11:29:43 AM

Yeah... he has a helmet that talks to ants... Zzzzz... Even as Giant Man it's a toss to see if they waste The Avengers Movie and stick his smart ass in there. His 'super power'... he grows big... Zzzzz... I have more fun crapping out a bran muffin.
Kal-El writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 1:11:33 PM

Using "whilst" and "thou" hardly classifies the dialog from the comics as "classic Shakesperian."
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 1:56:00 PM

Whilst thou was writing that... I had the same thought.
onthejon writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 6:32:34 PM

There has been more than one Super Soldier made...see US Agent
Ranger writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 7:45:32 PM

I did not know. Thx.
James.Speed writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 2:48:10 AM

X-Men First Class, with new actors portraying Cyke, Beast, Jean, Iceman and Angel.
flaggingmoose writes:
on June 10th, 2009 at 7:28:07 PM

New film could be venom spinoff. If edgar wright is making antman, he would make it a comedy, perhaps with simon pegg? It'd be different to most marvel films. But yes, antman is a sh*tbitch character. That's interesting that Kenneth Branagh won't be using the shakespearean language, seeing as hes a shakespearean actor.
EMET120 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 9:07:47 PM

I HAVE THE PERFECT CANDIDATE FOR CAPTAIN AMERICA... SHON LANGE.. WATCH THIS AND SEE...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9z8kF3jwFY
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 4:35:16 AM

LOL.... ahh... no.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved