WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Rich is Michael Bay?

Posted: June 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Rich is Michael Bay?Submit Comment
Forbes magazine did a piece on Michael Bay and listed some of the wealth he has accumulated from his seven movies, which include "Bad Boys," "Armageddon," "The Rock" and "Transformers." His films have pulled in over $2.6 billion at the box office, putting Bay in the same league with James Cameron ($3 billion).

Bay started directing commercials for Coke, Budweiser and Nike, and in 1994 Jerry Bruckheimer offered him the chance to direct "Bad Boys." But the script was so bad that Don Simpson threatened to take his name off the movie before the first shot. But Bay didn't give up. He made some changes to the script and even paid $25,000 from his $125,000 salary to shoot a particular scene. "Bad Boys" ended up earning $140 million at the box office.

He realized that to make money, he couldn't be a director-for-hire, but instead needed to become a partner. For "Pearl Harbor" he declined upfront pay in favor of a 50% split with the studio, after it has recouped its production and advertising costs. The film grossed $450 million, earning Bay $40 million.

For the 2007 "Transformers," Bay was able to increase his share even more. After the film brought in $708 million, Bay took home $80 million. He also gets 8% on all "Transformers" toys tied to movies, which is equel to even more millions.

Bay has also launched Platinum Dunes, which remakes 1970s classics like "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "Amityville Horror." Bay gets an average 8% of the studio's net on each film.

Source: Forbes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on June 6th, 2009 at 7:20:13 PM

Well, that's better than a kick to the nuts with a frozen work boot eh?
AJWPProfile writes:
on June 6th, 2009 at 7:27:30 PM

We Don't like Richie's around here! Get out of her Michael Bay!
Osiris3657 writes:
on June 6th, 2009 at 9:32:34 PM

No one will top Spielberg and Lucas...they both have BILLIONS of dollars, no exaggeration.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 3:09:11 AM

He has around 2.6 Bil, yet ALL his movies are f*cking TERRIBLE!! (Armageddon's deent though)
lost_addict writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 3:22:29 AM

he'll still die like the rest of us
Post_Man_87 writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 4:52:38 AM

OK?!? Who didn't know this already? So a massive Hollywood director has a ton of dough. Who cares? How is this news? Is there some kind of race I'm unaware of?
dwightschrute writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 11:20:28 AM

I can just imagine how much dough Lucas makes with his Star Wars franchise and all. He's probably earning $20 per minute. Damn.
Moviewatcher1234 writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 1:32:15 PM

I agree with gatesoftanhauser. Michael Bay is a complete hack of a director. He substitutes special effects and explosions for plot and good dialogue. The only big director worse than Michael Bay is Uwe Boll. South Park and Robot Chicken are SPOT ON with their assessment of Bay
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 2:35:00 PM

dwightschrute - lol... Lucas is making a hell of a lot more than that, believe me. He was paid $1 billion in for merchandising his 2nd. trilogy alone.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 4:44:40 PM

Its actually kinda sad u know. these people make crazy amounts of money and yet do they give to charity, probably but its very little compared to the amount of money they actually do have. they most likely spend it on hookers to do rails of coke of them and think of unoriginal story lines and bullsh*t ways to make more money. Its just sad.
swoooop writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 5:19:29 PM

Cant say Im feeling guilty downloading movies. They still gets payd by the look of it.
Adamtheflash writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 8:58:49 PM

I don't understand why this is news either. But ripping on him for being rich is just dumb. Who gives a sh*t? He's made money doing what he does. We all wish we could do the same. If you disagree with that, you're a hypocrite. It's not like he swindles money from people. He may or may not be terrible, based on your own entitled opinion, but he's just working like the rest of us. Isn't that the American dream?
Ranger writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 10:13:43 PM

Well said. I can't believe to jealous (and yes folks... they ARE jealous, no matter how you want to re-label them in your head). Most of you (from your comments) have gone to his movies... he's earned your money (that's a business transaction). And none of you would turn down his pay were it offered to you. As for what they give to charities. Don't worry what the wealthy give to charity (they do, as opposed to paying it in taxes, believe me)... calling them on that crap is just your deflection on how little you give (or may not) to charity. There must be good (no... great) points about his movies, as a lot of his deals appear to be on a sliding scale, meaning he's paid more $'s the movie makes. I have no problem with the super rich. I figure they're out their sticking their necks out taking the big chances. Good on them. Everyone has that option to go out and do the same.
Moviewatcher1234 writes:
on June 7th, 2009 at 11:35:48 PM

I agree, attacking them for being rich is wrong. Their job is to make movies. They are doing their job. Now. What my original comment brought up was the QUALITY of Michael Bay's work. I am not denying the fact that I have seen his movies. But, his directing creates a movie that is almost completely focused on special effects and explosions- there is no substance to his movies. And the comment about him getting piles of work now-a-days: of course he is getting more deals! His most recent movie grossed over $700 million worldwide! Wouldn't you want him on your next project? My observation is that it is SAD that his movies, which are garbage, are outselling and making more money than talented directors and their films. Michael Bay movies are explosions, bad dialogue, attractive women, and special effects. That is it. He makes terrible films. Prime examples: Pearl Harbor and Transformers.
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:03:01 AM

Again... well said. It's nice a few of us can see both sides. Yes, it's a shame that his 'explosive blockbusters' bring in all the cash over the artsy Director's films... but apparently, it's that escapism/fantasy - mostly unrealistic people want for 90 minutes. Honestly... were I a Director, I'd crank out the same stuff Bay does with pay checks like that.
Ranger writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 12:09:32 AM

Whoops... I meant to type: but apparently, it's that escapism/fantasy - mostly unrealistic FILMS people want TO SEE for 90 minutes.
BurmaShave writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:11:26 AM

Nice.
Ronsauce writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:49:56 PM

I think Bay is an awesome director. He wants to make blockbusters with a lot of explosions, and he does. I really don't understand the ridiculous amount of hate thrown at this guy. gatesoftanhauser, Bad Boys 2 and The Rock are two pretty entertaining action movies from Bay, neither of which are terrible.
Figwit1216 writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:50:48 PM

Way to go, make billions for CRAP films and for being an arrogant a**hole. I'm sure his mother is very proud.
Ronsauce writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 1:54:46 PM

"Michael Bay movies are explosions, bad dialogue, attractive women, and special effects." And? What makes you think he's trying to make anything different? By the same logic, Darren Aronofsky is a hack as well because his movies lack kick ass explosions and special effects. I don't give a sh*t if there's heartfelt dialogue, that's not what I want to pay $10 to see in the theater. Maybe more explosions and titties would elevate Aronofsky to "decent" director instead of hack.
Kid_A writes:
on June 8th, 2009 at 4:58:58 PM

How much did Christopher Nolan earnt from "The Dark Knight" by the way?
Stuntastic writes:
on June 9th, 2009 at 10:55:42 PM

I'm tripping on how he gets a percentage of the toy sales too. He really dooped Hasbro

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved