WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" is Over 3 Hours Long

Posted: June 5th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" is Over 3 Hours LongSubmit Comment
According to FilmCrewShirts, the runtime of the upcoming James Cameron movie "Avatar" is 3 hours and 9 minutes. /Film followed-up with "Avatar" producer John Landau at the E3 video game convention where Landau confirmed that the film is "definitely over two and a half hours."

This comes as so surprise, since most of Cameron's movies are about two and a half hours. "Titanic" is at 3 hours and 14 minutes long and it is the highest grossing film of all time.

Cameron is planning to release "Avatar" in 3-D and on the IMAX screens, but due to limitations, the IMAX corporation only allows movies that are under 2 hours and 40 minutes long to appear on its screens. It seems that the director may have to cut 34 minutes out of his movie to have it be available in IMAX theaters.

Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: FilmCrewShirts, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:09:05 AM

sh*t duration like titanic and LOTR
Dannoral writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:17:27 AM

i don't understand why people doesn't like long movies... the journey is bigger !
alexzzzz writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:29:52 AM

thats good i hate short movies
Whitta writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:43:44 AM

because if the journey is sh*t, then were stuck there forever, ideal length of a movie is 2 hours... not short, not too long
ZombieKingz writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 5:02:40 AM

I hope its lenght indicates one great movie, for i fear that its hype is way bigger than the outcome...
DeathMaster writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 6:10:35 AM

"the IMAX corporation only allows movies that are under 2 hours and 40 minutes long to appear on its screens" And what if he doesn't? As if they could miss the cash this is gonna make.
warnuts writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 7:55:06 AM

yeah right, Cameron will cut out 34 minutes for IMAX... Nonsense! IMAX will rather build new theatres for Avatar. ITīS A JAMES CAMERON MOVIE!!!!
Quatro writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 8:48:47 AM

they should just do a little intermission for IMAX imo. I dont know how long it takes to set up an IMAX reel, but if its only a few minutes, I wouldnt mind waiting some point halfway through to get a new reel in. Id rather that than have the movie cut short by 30some minutes
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 9:35:19 AM

OMG, 3 hours of Sam worthington, ok i cant see this movie now, i dont want to have brain damage, sorry cameron i will see it in segments on some pirate web site, sorry
bluemeenie writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 10:10:14 AM

Is this the game or the movie?
makingcircles writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 10:30:02 AM

Long movies in the hands of Cameron? I'm okay with that.
Ranger writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 12:56:15 PM

I'm surprised Cameron isn't having new IMAX's built...lol. The movie length limitation on IMAX is due to the loading to the large rolls of film onto the horizontal film table. Boy... cutting a movie back, I'll bet Cameron and his ego are pissed!
BobMcBob writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 1:33:49 PM

he has to cut 29 minutes not 34; do the math
lostwarrior writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 1:39:34 PM

come on guys he wont cut it and Imax sure as hell wont refuse it. Its James Cameron. Do u really think he wont get his way. Hey may be a person who demands a lot of he delivers when it comes to film. The man is one of the few directors left who has a right to be a d*ck
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 2:43:52 PM

Thats not long enough.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 3:13:12 PM

Bluemeenie are you a howard stern fan?
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:16:33 PM

Cameron will never cut 30 minutes just to fit in IMAX- The guy will just create technology or a new type of compatible compression to extend IMAX's limitations...he solves problems- he doesn't conform for them.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 4:31:35 PM

um no GrandpasWeiner- but I do like your Grandpa's weiner
AJWPProfile writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 5:30:07 PM

Wow this is a pointless spread can't we just wait for a trailer before we mention Avatar again.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 6:35:32 PM

In the age of remakes, sequels, and reboots I'll take 3 hours of originality from James Cameron any day of the week. Bring it on!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 5th, 2009 at 6:40:44 PM

By the time the 3 hours is over hopefully I will have forgotten every mindnumbing minute of McGoof's Salvation.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved