WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Wants to Return to "X-Men"

Posted: June 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Wants to Return to "X-Men"Submit Comment
TotalFilm had the chance to talk to director Bryan Singer (X-Men, X2) about returning to the "X-Men" franchise now that 20th Century Fox has started focusing on individual characters like Wolverine, Deadpool, Magneto and Gambit.

"I'm eternally intertwined with X-Men now," he said. "What takes an audience four hours to watch - the first two movies - took six years of my life. So, to not be part of it... It's a shame."

Singer directed the first two "X-Men" films, but left the third one in order to work on "Superman Returns." Brett Ratner ended up replacing him on "X-Men: The Last Stand." "It's weird for me to watch [X-Men 3], because I'm so close to the universe. And also Brett is a good friend of mine. But, of course, I would love to return to that universe."

When Singer was asked whether he would like to direct "X-Men Origins: Magneto," he gave a "possibly" response, because the character's background involves Nazi Germany.

"The only thing that concerns me about 'Magneto' is that if the prequel were to follow the track I used in 'X-Men,' which is Magneto's history in the concentration camp, then I've lived in that world. 'Apt Pupil,' 'X-Men' and now 'Valkyrie'... I've lived in that Nazi universe for quite a while. I just might need to take a little break before I do something like that."

And Singer is also not committing to a "Superman Returns" sequel. "I don't know, I don't know. There are still issues...I just... I just don't know. I don't necessarily... I don't know. It's one of those things where... It's so weird talking about stuff unless I'm about to ramp up and shoot it."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mattcl23 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 6:26:29 PM

In other words, Singer hates Ratner for f'n up his six years of hard work.
realgirl76 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 6:27:21 PM

His first two X-men movies were without a doubt the BEST of the trilogy. I really hope he is on board for the Magneto movie. Just think how much better Wolverine might have been if he directed. A girl can dream...
movielover writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 7:03:06 PM

I don't know which movie you two watched but Ratner did a better job than Singer (Singer also blew up superman man what a poor movie )
autiger10 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 7:32:58 PM

opening of X-2 was by far one of the greatest things ive ever seen
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 7:41:57 PM

First of all Brett Ratner is a TWAT. And movielover the third x-men movie sucked so bad i had to get a pap smear. Singer might have blown up Superman but if Ratner had gotten a hold of it he would have raped our childhood with a double sided dildo.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 7:55:33 PM

Autiger10 I totally agree. The beginning of X2 was soooo rad. The first two movies were great. I hope he comes back to the franchise (even though Valkyrie did suck ass)
Necronullus writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 7:56:06 PM

They all suck
lost_addict writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 8:52:53 PM

Singer's only good movie was the usual suspects...everything after that was gay...espically the soap opera superman returns
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 9:04:26 PM

That bastard doesn't like Nazis?!?!?! Well f*ck him!!!
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 9:11:48 PM

I know most on here slam Singer's Superman. Personally... I didn't mind it that much. I'm a HUGE Reeves Fan (they filmed most of his 1 - 3 around here - yeah, 3 and 4 were about as good as a RoBoCop sequel, I know), but Singer and Routh had big boots to fill (literally and figuratively). Singer did the bullet to Supes eye, holding up that Mustang in the same position as Supes 1st. appearance in Action Comics #1 (1938) and a lot of little touches only a true fan would notice. The thing I did think was a bit goofy in the movies is that Kent and Supes show up at the SAME TIME and NO ONE puts it together... UGH!!!! Lois... bitch... ARE YOU BLIND?!?!?! I didn't mind Singer's Supes. And for all the bitching that goes on about it here, NO ONE offers suggestions as to how it could have been better (again... typical). I'm MORE disappointed that the Studio didn't think Singer was important enough to wait 'til he was done with Superman Returns to let him Direct X3... THAT's the real tragedy.
movielover writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 10:00:25 PM

The person who made Wolverine has to do a X men over that would be great!!! I liked origin Wolverine a lot I really hope Singer won't be making another X men ( but that's my opinion)
Post_Man_87 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 10:21:47 PM

movielover - it is your opinion.....and it's horrible. Ratner's X flick was better the Singers?!? The director of Wolverine should do an X-Men film?!? Are you retarded?
mmmac writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 10:21:49 PM

i don't care if you love or hate the x-men films. if you are a fan of any comic book iron man, dark knight etc. Singer is the man who brought back/reinvented the comic book movie. The success of the first two xmen films gave execs the balls to fund these types of movies. I'm not a huge fan of Singer's Superman but I do not loathe it like half the twats on the internet who, like Ranger previously mentioned, do not point out any other way to make the movie. I thought the son was the worst part of the movie. Maybe I am just rambling because I love the movies for first introducing the comic book world to me, yes I was only 8 at the time. You can ignore me for only being 16 but atleast I realize what this guy has done for the industry. PS f*ck Fox if only the current economy could have gotten rid of them as well. :)
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 11:45:12 PM

Well i hate homos, and Singer is one. So you can probably guess what I have to say about his movies. Sure i love the first two Xmen movies, but, f*ckin a superman sucked balls. " Oh by the way superman, my child came from your d*ck." that's f*cked up. And idk I just didn't like superman returns. Idk. I hope if he goes back to Xmen he does a good job like the first time.
Charlie9 writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 2:47:58 AM

Please, anyone who says Wolverine was better than first two X-men just never post on here again because 99% of ppl who read these think you're a retard. Wolverine was appalling and its a shame the franchise should finish on that but it should be done with now. Like Ranger said, the f*cking studio should've waited for Singer to do X3. Singer should carry on his career with great films, coz he actually can make them aside from X-men. byeeeeee
LifeInAGlassHouse writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 9:50:10 AM

I really hope he goes back to the X-men movies. Third was awful. He needs to bring them back and kick ass.
tolgaboy writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 10:03:41 AM

stop making movies,you already fucnkt up the superman movie mister gaylord
Satan Kid writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 10:29:34 AM

Everyone makes such a big deal about the first 2 Xmen movies.They were ok but not great. I mean the ending of the first one was subdued and a little anti-climactic " Im taking the shot" Cyclops, you have a bazooka behind each eye lid and you get punked by some hairy sc*mbag eyeing up your woman.LAME.As far as the Plagiarism that was Superman Returns... All I can say is I could've ripped off and copied a 30 year old movie for a quarter of the price
bluemeenie writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 12:26:54 PM

X-Men is better off either dead or with Singer- he added some class to the films.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 12:35:51 PM

truly x-men is f*cked....we'll NEVER EVER see a translation that actually follows the comics...plot, fighting, character looks and accents....yea it's never gonna happen as long as 20th century fox has it....and like i said before....it's gonna be all these origin movies, then x-men first class bullsh*t.....and then when they're FINALLY ready to do x-men 4....they won't...hands down, that's the way i see it...whatever they do, fox will f*ck it up and never make it right
Blank x2 writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 5:28:49 PM

movielover should be banned from this site forever for saying Brett Ratner did a better job than Singer. Did you not WATCH X3? It was the most god awful cluster f*ck that could have been made. Then again, this is the guy who made Rush Hour, so what did we expect?
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 2nd, 2009 at 10:51:38 PM

i just wish there was a continuation x-men trilogy....the beginning of the good phoenix, apocalypse, mr. sinister, and that weirdo guy with curly black hair that was shaped like a triangle when it covered his head i guess lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved