WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christian Bale Won't Lose Weight for Films Again

Posted: May 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christian Bale WonSubmit Comment
Christian Bale insists that he won't lose a dramatic amount of weight again. He previously set a record by losing 63 lbs to play an emaciated insomniac in "The Machinist," before bulking up to for "Batman Begins," and then shedding the pounds again for "Rescue Dawn."

"I wouldn't want to take it to that extreme again, because firstly, it was necessary to lose weight for that role - not as much as I did - but it was a challenge mentally to see if I was capable of doing such a thing," he said.

"I know that I can now, so there would need to be a certain gimmick if I was to do that all over again. But I do like, very much, the notion of seeing how far you can push yourself so I'm very happy that I did that. Everybody told me that I was risking my health the first time around, so doing it twice? I'm probably being an idiot."

For "The Machinist," Bale dropped from 180 lbs to 120 lbs by eating only one can of tuna and an apple per day. He wanted to lose another 20 lbs, but producers wouldn't allow it for health reasons.

Instead, Bale would prefer to put some weight on for a movie. "Hey, listen. It sounds like so much more fun, getting to sit down with a big bowl of pasta and beer and wine, that sounds so good," he said. "Maybe we could do that if we do another Terminator - we could have a rotund John Connor!"

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 5:44:52 PM

this guy is a beast, no way i will loose to much weight for anything crazy bastard, there are some people not eating in the world come on respect them!
borat writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 6:19:39 PM

tuna and apples f*ck that! whoever post after me licks balls
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 8:06:46 PM

The Producer's wouldn't allow it (for health reasons)?!?!?!? Like going from 180 to 120 didn't bother them (greedy f*ckers!)?
akumavern writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 8:30:17 PM

Maybe instead of worrying about weight roles, he should try using a different voice for his rolls now instead of his growling throat-cancer batman voice
ilovebatman writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 9:08:14 PM

Ranger you prick, if you actually researched it(and not just believe what everyone tells you), you'll find out that they didn't want him to lose that much weight in the first place, but he basically said, "f*ck you!"
Shiroshibal writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 10:24:08 PM

whoa tuna ana 1 apple?? sick
murphyslaw93 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 10:33:19 PM

I'm not a Christian Bale fan, I don't think he's an extraordinary actor like many make him out to be, he's kinda bland in most roles (except for a few exceptions) but I do give him a lot of credit for losing all that weight for those roles. That's a huge accomplishment and it shows how determined he is to act. It seems though that he now wants to follow in Charlize Theron's footsteps and bulk up for roles. Maybe he's looking for an Oscar.
OneTime writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:00:43 PM

im going to try this diet
JKline writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:21:14 PM

Only thing rotund bout him is his ego, oh yea and his bank account can't be that slim. Looking forward to Public Enemies, but more because of Depp!
telur writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:30:04 PM

bale is famous and rich now, so he not need do that again
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 2:17:32 AM

Exactly. And ilovebatman watches little boys on the playground, and offers to 'push them on the swings'
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 2:24:20 AM

ilovebatman - also sniffs bicycle seats in the racks at his local elementary school next to the welfare trailer park in which he and his loser mother live (his dad only c*ms around on bowling night to give him his $2 allowance and to violate him).
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 2:26:34 AM

And 'research' this movie?! Are you for real putz?! I have a life. I only took from this article what was given. You only have time to research this stuff since your brother plugged that peephole you drilled in the shower.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 3:42:21 AM

borat- your "whoever posts after me...." shtik is getting old & lame.
cave canem writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 3:42:58 AM

@ranger: you don't have a life if you post on every single news on WP. also, your comments are not funny, just gross and immature
BlueMobius writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 11:27:29 AM

OneTime> totally thinking the same thing! Ha! Oh, and whoever posts before me with the name "borat" can lick anus. >:)
Ranger writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 1:05:42 PM

cave canem - diff. alias's to post pillow biter... rump roaster? Your opinion matter's to me as a fart in a hurricane.
mattjudge62 writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 5:25:13 PM

If they offered him $1,000,000,000,000 he would loose an arm
nurback writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 7:25:03 PM

mattjudge62 you're stupid f*ck.Bale isn't crazy.Lose weight and loose an arm itn't same thing.
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 3:07:27 AM

Ahhh.... Nurback, I believe mattjudge62 was being 'sarcastic'... making a 'joke' making 'light' of this post. You're the stupid f*ck if you couldn't figure that one one (tough guy at the end of a computer monitor...lol). Get a grip.
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 3:56:23 AM

cave canem - is there a posted 'limit' as to how much one can post on WP (if not... f*ck off!). Ques: do you own this site (if not... f*ck off!). As my # of postings is or isn't an indication (to you... loser) as to whether I have a life or not, well... go ask your Mom is your opinion really matters in this world. If she's honest, you're in for a widdle, tiny heartbreak you pathetic shut-in... lol.
cave canem writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 4:14:51 AM

@ranger: you're making a fool of yourself. i bet you love fishsticks :D
jaspis writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 7:23:37 AM

@ranger what r u taking man?i want the same stuff.
mattjudge62 writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 1:10:13 PM

nurback, my comment wasnt ment to upset anyone, the article shows me his passion for acting
Ranger writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 4:55:14 PM

cave canem - still thinking your opinion matters? Lol... good luck with that.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 10:58:05 PM

lol ranger is so horrible hypocritical its funny... keep at it ranger, you became my entertainment for 1 min.. congrats
Ranger writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 1:32:09 PM

Projekt SHIN - LOL... and your sentence structure gave me a chuckle for a couple of minutes, so thank you back, loser.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved