WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" is Highest Grossing Film of 2009 (For Now)

Posted: May 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" is Highest Grossing Film of 2009 (For Now)Submit Comment
At this point in the year, JJ Abram's "Star Trek" is the highest-grossing movie of 2009, surpassing previous record holder "Monsters vs Aliens," which opened a month and a half earlier.

As of May 27th, "Star Trek" has brought in $194.8 million domestically, compared with $194 million by "Monsters." "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is in third place with $166.4 million.

"Trek" is likely to get some competition from the "Night at the Museum" sequel, which opened to $77 million last weekend. And "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" and "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" are yet to be released.

Which film do you think will end up being highest grossing movie of 2009?

Source: Box Office Mojo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 3:50:11 AM

I think 'up' and 'revenge of the fallen' will gross higer
jaksyn writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 4:30:03 AM

STAR TREK IS f*ckIN AWESOME!!! AND I DONT CARE IF IT DOESNT BEAT TRANSFORMERS 2 ONE OF MY OTHER FAVORITE FRANCHISES ITS STILL AWESOME IN MY BOOK!!! BEST TREK FILM SINCE FIRST CONTACT!!!
gimple writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 6:14:11 AM

Avatar will beat them all, but that doesn't come out till the end of the year.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 8:32:57 AM

AVATAR IS GONNA SUCK come on people 2 hours of SAm W. no way this movie smell like crap!
Danols writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 8:58:53 AM

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen for sure, but i know maybe Harry will get the bigger number because of his millions of fans (im one of those). Hope New Moon dont get to close to any 'hit' movie.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 10:43:03 AM

Ya never know- for every person who left unimpressed there's probably an entire legion of new idiots who appreciate it for the crap it is.
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:47:13 AM

revenge of the fallen will beat everything this summer as far as money goes
Monroe writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:51:00 AM

My moneys on transformers...
BREALZ writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:53:04 AM

harry potter or Transformers hands down...i am actually surprised how low the numbers are for Star Trek, awesome movie though, i guess the recession is really putting a hit on the treckies!
hill-dwalker writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:01:52 PM

i think the transformers gonna break all records this summer
mattcl23 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:16:45 PM

Never really watch the series or the previous films, but the new one was f'n awesome. The best movie I've seen this year so far.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:28:49 PM

Transformers will be big, but it won't be Dark Knight big.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:34:21 PM

it might....they both have enough popularity now to make bank
Ranger writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 1:05:26 PM

mattcl23 - it's nice to see this new Star Trek movie is doing exactly what they set out to accomplish. Bring new ST Fans into the fold like yourself. It may even see you watching some of the old stuff (ignore Deep Space 9).
Blank x2 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 1:40:20 PM

My money is on Revenge of the Fallen or Harry Potter. Avatar will make a lot, but I don't see it making as much as it would if it was released in the summer months.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 3:27:04 PM

its between transformers and harry potter for the summer lead but i honestly dont think any of em will be better than star trek
charmed23 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 5:31:14 PM

Transformers 2 than Harry, though I love Star Trek.
gimple writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:58:58 PM

TRUEMAN you do realize that Avatar is James Cameron's first movie since Titanic? The highest grossing film. Anyone who has seen the film says its amazing, including Spielberg. Sam Worthington may have sucked in Salvation, but so did everyone, I blame McG. Just wait till you see the trailer, maybe you'll change your mind.
Derp88 writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 12:07:51 PM

Sam Worthington didn't suck in Salvation,he was the best actor in that movie,the rest sucked
mattjudge62 writes:
on May 30th, 2009 at 5:20:16 PM

I liked Star trek a lot, I also like the Potter movies and can't wait to see transformers 2 you can laugh but I feel Planet 51 will beat them all
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 31st, 2009 at 5:41:26 PM

sherlock holmes anyone....hahha i just wanna watch it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved