WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox to Reboot "Alien"

Posted: May 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox to Reboot "Alien"Submit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting just received a tip from the same source who broke the "Predator" reboot news, that 20th Century Fox is planning an "Alien" reboot as well.

The idea is to make an origins story, but stick with the original concept of having only one alien on the ship. Ridley Scott is on board to produce and commercial/music video director Carl Rinsch has been tapped to direct.

In the original, a crew of a spaceship investigates a transmission from a desolate planet, and discovers a life form that is perfectly evolved to annihilate mankind. One by one, each crew member is slain until only Ripley is left.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vwkombi writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 7:10:03 PM

Does anyone else see a serious problem with a "commercial/music video director" rebooting one of the most iconic sci-fi/horror franchises?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 7:18:13 PM

i do....i think it's silly....sigourney weaver is gonna trip!...easily won't get my 10 bucks when it comes out
BrundleFly writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 7:37:04 PM

I just shat myself and vomitted at the same time. Is this a joke?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 7:50:15 PM

btw it's called remake not reboot...sticking with the original concept speaks enough for that, and any time something gets re-imagined or rebooted, it still all falls under the same category....it's what other remakes had, only they didn't start using the word 'reboot' till recently i guess....some weird people working at hollywood i tell you!
kmccarney88 writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 8:33:19 PM

If they are going to do this for an Alien film, I highly suggest doing another sequel if anything, NOT an origins story aka prequel or a reboot. Im not sure if I would give Carl Erik Rinsch an Alien movie for his first feature length gig but I would definitely give him something to start out with because that guy has talent! Check out his commercials over here http://www.slashfilm.com/2009/05/27/the-commercials-of-carl-erik-rinsch/ Hes definitely good at what he does, but I think he needs a bit more experience before taking on such a classic. vwkombi, a lot of directors started out in commercials or music videos. A LOT!!! If you want an example how about.....oh I dont know Ridley Scott for one! or Tony Scott for another! or how about Michael Bay, David Lynch, Wes Anderson, David Fincher, Michael Mann, Spike Jonez or even Baz Lurhmann! No offense but you sound kind of dumb when you say sh*t like that and dont know what you are talking about.
Mattthoing writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 8:38:10 PM

What the f*ck, Fox!?!
Mattthoing writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 8:38:52 PM

Leave my childhood jewel alone!!
thomas deadison writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 9:14:34 PM

Please don't let this happen. :(
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 9:31:19 PM

this isn't the only franchise they're eyeballing...let's see what else they go for....eh what am i sayin....waffle man already said it plenty of times lol
acslaterson writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:16:15 PM

Trent Reznor, you want anyone of musical talent in this project it should be him! NIN!!!!
acslaterson writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:22:06 PM

I am drunk, this sounds like a bad idea. Unless you get a new director that has potential in the horror/sci-fi genre. Get the dude that did Inside or Martyrs, an American director with any type of potentiaL doesn't come to mind...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:46:34 PM

i agree with acelstron....but f*ck a reboot of Alien
BlueMobius writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 11:25:27 PM

Alien3 (which I actually liked) was directed by a music video director named...cough...David Fincher. But yeah, you guys are right, music video directors don't have talent. :P
JoshuaB81285 writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 11:41:57 PM

"Alien" and "Aliens" are two of my favorite movies...and I can only fear that FOX is going to f**k this up big time. I am going to be highly upset if it really does end up being garbage.
m1234567g writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 11:58:50 PM

actually, David Fincher's (Fight Club, Se7en...) first feature length film was ALIEN 3. he was a music video director starting out as well.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:37:14 AM

ok...david fincher is where he is now and that's great...but he can always look back on alien 3...this new director is gonna always look back on this reboot....i wouldn't feel too proud of myself participating in this one
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 1:03:43 AM

I dont think this is as doomed as everyone thinks...itll be a reboot not a remake, and it has potential as a decent film if its story/character driven and RIPLEY ISNT IN IT....(The first one wasnt that good) It only loses the table scene shock really, the main problem is if it does well they will want to remake Aliens...which is impossible.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 2:43:37 AM

oh you know they'll try anyway...besides...it says they're gonna have the original concept...meaning ripley will most definitely be in it...imagine if someone tried remaking terminator...haha...or the abyss or terminator 2...i doubt they'd f*ck with such titles...but i also think they'd try just for the money and undeserved fame...never thought they'd remake great titles that didn't need it badly but they are...it's why i'm not buying into the new karate kid or nightmare on elm street...it's just disappointing to me....as for what i think about the 1st and 2nd alien movies....hmm, i'll always respect the first just because it simply is and without it the sequel would never have been as good as it was, as there's lots of titles with similar cases...anyway, 2nd one beats the 1st...then again, you have to always keep the title in perspective when it comes to being how great it is...i like it in this order 2, 1, 3, resurrection
Snarebeast writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 2:50:21 AM

It doesn't call it a remake, so until I hear a storyline that features the same characters recasted that sounds exactly the same I'm not gonna freak out. Ridley Scott being involved is currently keeping me from cursing this idea's existence. We'll see where it goes.
Gaudion93 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 5:53:08 AM

Ridley Scott was a commercial director right before he did Alien. But I do think a remake is a bad idea, I wouldn't mind a sequel or an origins story that would be pretty good if they did it right. But then again its Fox so they wouldn't.
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 9:38:30 AM

Undoubtedly, this film will most likely rely on a CGI alien and noisy special effects. But the two most important things the first film had, mood and atmosphere, will be exchanged for gung-ho warriors in space and over-the-top gore. I've seen it happen before. I don't have any problem with blood & guts, but in these sci-fi genre remakes it tends to overshadow a good story and strong character development. I'm not against this remake. It was bound to happen sooner than later, due to the poor reception of the two "Alien Vs. Predator" films and the reboot of the Predator franchise. However, I'm still more interested in seeing a identical-to-the-novel remake of "Jaws". That or take the original concept and steer it in a different direction.
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 10:01:46 AM

How about a Casablanca and Citizen Kane reboot while we're at it.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 10:23:51 AM

The first Alien sucked to begin with, it wasnt scary and was just boring to watch. A reboot would be just as awful, Ridley Scott is an amazing director and if he managed to direct a bad movie, then whoever they bring in to do the reboot will do an even worse job.
Sylanya writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 11:52:08 AM

Classics should never be remade. Ever. There's a reason they are classics, they are good! I hate to bring up this saying but, if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 12:02:14 PM

for those that thinks the first is horrible and not scary...probably didn't scare you as a kid....probably should've watched the exorcist...now that sh*t scared me when i first saw it...i just don't like this idea because if it makes money, which i'm sure it will, they'll start doing sequels, or remakes for that matter
bacci40 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 1:27:20 PM

so creativity is officially dead and buried...i feel bad for this gen...not one good original concept coming from hollywood...good thing though, when they get to my age, nothing of their childhood will be remade
Dre-EL writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 3:44:57 PM

f*ck u Fox!!!
Kal-El writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 4:35:57 PM

@murphyslaw93, you are out of your god damn mind. I'm all for another Alien flick, anywhere in the timeline, but they shouldn't retell the Ripley story.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 5:18:56 PM

ok ok, creativity is dead...but it can always be resurrected....heath ledger's last movie looks promising on that...besides...there's still plenty more stories to tell...it's just some people out there are so hell bent on money cuz they can't afford to lose their favorite valuables...so they'll participate in any sh*tty movie to get more hard earned money out of people...it's so easy to fix a lot of wrongs in hollywood...the power is all in the audience...just don't pay to see a sh*tty movie....wait to watch one that you're interested in but don't wanna be disappointed in...wait for others' thoughts before you decide, so that way the studios don't think people buy into it everytime a sh*tty movie makes undeserved bank...and then we won't see so many sequels or remakes....the way i see it, either audiences, or hollywood will learn the hard way....and i say audiences have had to deal with that long enough...it's hollywood's turn to learn things the hard way
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 29th, 2009 at 5:22:22 PM

and the only proof we'll see of that is when new/old actors/artists make original great stuff
Bystander85 writes:
on June 1st, 2009 at 4:19:17 AM

go f*ck yourself Fox

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved