WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a Prequel

Posted: May 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a PrequelSubmit Comment
Back in January, we reported that "Terminator Salvation" producer Dan Lin was planning to reboot the "Tomb Raider" franchise. Not much was known at the time.

Now during the "Salvation" premiere, Lin gave a few more details about where he plans to take the franchise. "We're rebooting Lara Croft, really excited," he said. "It's a great origin story that we're going to tell. A very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies."

He added that the project is in early stages and no casting decision have been made. Angelina Jolie will not be reprising her role since "it is an origin story, so it is a younger Lara Croft."

Lin also mentioned that the new reboot will focus less on the action. "I would say it's like Terminator - character-driven action," he said. "I think for me the Lara Croft games and movies have gone a little too action-oriented. I wanted to have action, but with character."

Source: About


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
UraharaShop writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 5:49:51 PM

But the new Terminator wasn't character driven action, it was just action action. And that movie wasn't good, especially in the character department. I'll be passing on this unless it is more character driven.
akumavern writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:32:58 PM

Samantha Fox quip! SJC rant... Angelina blah blah, Katie Holmes scientolgoy mush. *insert random young celeb here* she'd be good for it
RANDYtheRAMROBINSON writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:36:06 PM

they need to forget the prequel and just do a porn with angelina. call it pune raider
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:11:15 PM

haha no it's porn raider...we'll see how this turns out
AshTrey writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

hurry up and cast megan fox... so we can all go and see that almost nude shower scene. Call me Nostradamus cause thats whats gonna happen.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:31:39 PM

yea i loved terminator but come on...that was just action....action...it was driven by explosions and helicopters crashing
Vega writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:40:16 PM

I'm thinking he was referring to the first Terminator otherwise he would have said Terminator Salvation. I hope...
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:43:56 PM

YES YES ANOTHER remake!, I hope Lara will be FOX, MEgan, Angelina boobs are hanging around, need some fixes, they are so low on the floor that she can´t walk forward.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 8:29:50 PM

Character driven action? clearly he has never played the game
autiger10 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 9:26:15 PM

i dont know about you people, but terminator salvation sucked big hairy sweaty crab-infested balls
BurmaShave writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 10:13:37 PM

So basically he doesn't like Tomb Raider, doesn't like what the games represent, and should probably leave the property alone. And he should get bent.
telur writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:05:02 AM

no doubt is megan fox time
JRprime writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:20:27 AM

olivia wilde would be good for this
The Duke of New York writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:26:17 AM

so, now we are so starving for content that we are reduced to re-booting movies based on video games!?! and what is "very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies" what is that? Are we making a soap opera out of a character who wasn't even a character in the first place? I thought she just had big cans and could hunt for treasure? Like Indiana Jones only instead of a personality and back story she had tits and guns. Is this insane or am I wrong here? Next up: Teddy Bear: the movie – the character we know, but now we can find out how he came to be and really flesh him out as a character. It will a little “darker and more intense” than the original.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:43:11 AM

The last game was great! One of the games had a 'young small breasted' Lara...I just hope by "prequel-reboot" they don't mean having to spend hours of training in the mansion..
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:46:10 PM

GIT A BRIT!!!! There's some many talented, acrobatic, hot accents out there...
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:59:10 PM

i agree with The Duke of New York...i like how you put it that way...we are reduced to that now...and it's only gonna get worse...but still i'm gonna keep sayin it...our generation can fix a lot
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 5:08:43 PM

"Hey, you know what would be a good idea?" "What?" "Rebooting Tomb Raider" "What!?! Why the hell would we do that?" "Cuz Megan Fox will make us bank!"
lost_addict writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:32:19 PM

^^^^^^^megan fox is the tits

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved