WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Nov 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Bible" TV Series Sequel
Nov 28th, 2014
Marvel Kills "Fantastic Four" Actors in "Punished" Comic Book
Nov 28th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for Vince Vaughn's "Unfinished Business" Comedy
Nov 28th, 2014
"Independence Day 2" Officially Moving Forward, Without Will Smith
Nov 28th, 2014
Ridley Scott Explains Why He Hired White Actors for "Exodus: Gods and Kings"
Nov 28th, 2014
First Look: Mel Brooks is Dracula's Father in "Hotel Transylvania 2"
Nov 28th, 2014
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a Prequel

Posted: May 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a PrequelSubmit Comment
Back in January, we reported that "Terminator Salvation" producer Dan Lin was planning to reboot the "Tomb Raider" franchise. Not much was known at the time.

Now during the "Salvation" premiere, Lin gave a few more details about where he plans to take the franchise. "We're rebooting Lara Croft, really excited," he said. "It's a great origin story that we're going to tell. A very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies."

He added that the project is in early stages and no casting decision have been made. Angelina Jolie will not be reprising her role since "it is an origin story, so it is a younger Lara Croft."

Lin also mentioned that the new reboot will focus less on the action. "I would say it's like Terminator - character-driven action," he said. "I think for me the Lara Croft games and movies have gone a little too action-oriented. I wanted to have action, but with character."

Source: About


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
UraharaShop writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 5:49:51 PM

But the new Terminator wasn't character driven action, it was just action action. And that movie wasn't good, especially in the character department. I'll be passing on this unless it is more character driven.
akumavern writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:32:58 PM

Samantha Fox quip! SJC rant... Angelina blah blah, Katie Holmes scientolgoy mush. *insert random young celeb here* she'd be good for it
RANDYtheRAMROBINSON writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:36:06 PM

they need to forget the prequel and just do a porn with angelina. call it pune raider
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:11:15 PM

haha no it's porn raider...we'll see how this turns out
AshTrey writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

hurry up and cast megan fox... so we can all go and see that almost nude shower scene. Call me Nostradamus cause thats whats gonna happen.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:31:39 PM

yea i loved terminator but come on...that was just action....action...it was driven by explosions and helicopters crashing
Vega writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:40:16 PM

I'm thinking he was referring to the first Terminator otherwise he would have said Terminator Salvation. I hope...
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:43:56 PM

YES YES ANOTHER remake!, I hope Lara will be FOX, MEgan, Angelina boobs are hanging around, need some fixes, they are so low on the floor that she can´t walk forward.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 8:29:50 PM

Character driven action? clearly he has never played the game
autiger10 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 9:26:15 PM

i dont know about you people, but terminator salvation sucked big hairy sweaty crab-infested balls
BurmaShave writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 10:13:37 PM

So basically he doesn't like Tomb Raider, doesn't like what the games represent, and should probably leave the property alone. And he should get bent.
telur writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:05:02 AM

no doubt is megan fox time
JRprime writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:20:27 AM

olivia wilde would be good for this
The Duke of New York writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:26:17 AM

so, now we are so starving for content that we are reduced to re-booting movies based on video games!?! and what is "very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies" what is that? Are we making a soap opera out of a character who wasn't even a character in the first place? I thought she just had big cans and could hunt for treasure? Like Indiana Jones only instead of a personality and back story she had tits and guns. Is this insane or am I wrong here? Next up: Teddy Bear: the movie – the character we know, but now we can find out how he came to be and really flesh him out as a character. It will a little “darker and more intense” than the original.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:43:11 AM

The last game was great! One of the games had a 'young small breasted' Lara...I just hope by "prequel-reboot" they don't mean having to spend hours of training in the mansion..
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:46:10 PM

GIT A BRIT!!!! There's some many talented, acrobatic, hot accents out there...
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:59:10 PM

i agree with The Duke of New York...i like how you put it that way...we are reduced to that now...and it's only gonna get worse...but still i'm gonna keep sayin it...our generation can fix a lot
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 5:08:43 PM

"Hey, you know what would be a good idea?" "What?" "Rebooting Tomb Raider" "What!?! Why the hell would we do that?" "Cuz Megan Fox will make us bank!"
lost_addict writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:32:19 PM

^^^^^^^megan fox is the tits

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

Robert Downey Jr Comments on His Marvel Contract

Doctor Doom is an Anti-Social Programmer in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved