WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Full Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film is Here!
Jul 31st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Post-Credits Scene Leaked Online
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum: Secret of the Tomb"
Jul 30th, 2014
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a Prequel

Posted: May 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tomb Raider" Reboot is a PrequelSubmit Comment
Back in January, we reported that "Terminator Salvation" producer Dan Lin was planning to reboot the "Tomb Raider" franchise. Not much was known at the time.

Now during the "Salvation" premiere, Lin gave a few more details about where he plans to take the franchise. "We're rebooting Lara Croft, really excited," he said. "It's a great origin story that we're going to tell. A very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies."

He added that the project is in early stages and no casting decision have been made. Angelina Jolie will not be reprising her role since "it is an origin story, so it is a younger Lara Croft."

Lin also mentioned that the new reboot will focus less on the action. "I would say it's like Terminator - character-driven action," he said. "I think for me the Lara Croft games and movies have gone a little too action-oriented. I wanted to have action, but with character."

Source: About


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
UraharaShop writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 5:49:51 PM

But the new Terminator wasn't character driven action, it was just action action. And that movie wasn't good, especially in the character department. I'll be passing on this unless it is more character driven.
akumavern writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:32:58 PM

Samantha Fox quip! SJC rant... Angelina blah blah, Katie Holmes scientolgoy mush. *insert random young celeb here* she'd be good for it
RANDYtheRAMROBINSON writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:36:06 PM

they need to forget the prequel and just do a porn with angelina. call it pune raider
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:11:15 PM

haha no it's porn raider...we'll see how this turns out
AshTrey writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

hurry up and cast megan fox... so we can all go and see that almost nude shower scene. Call me Nostradamus cause thats whats gonna happen.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:31:39 PM

yea i loved terminator but come on...that was just action....action...it was driven by explosions and helicopters crashing
Vega writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:40:16 PM

I'm thinking he was referring to the first Terminator otherwise he would have said Terminator Salvation. I hope...
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 7:43:56 PM

YES YES ANOTHER remake!, I hope Lara will be FOX, MEgan, Angelina boobs are hanging around, need some fixes, they are so low on the floor that she can´t walk forward.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 8:29:50 PM

Character driven action? clearly he has never played the game
autiger10 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 9:26:15 PM

i dont know about you people, but terminator salvation sucked big hairy sweaty crab-infested balls
BurmaShave writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 10:13:37 PM

So basically he doesn't like Tomb Raider, doesn't like what the games represent, and should probably leave the property alone. And he should get bent.
telur writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:05:02 AM

no doubt is megan fox time
JRprime writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:20:27 AM

olivia wilde would be good for this
The Duke of New York writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:26:17 AM

so, now we are so starving for content that we are reduced to re-booting movies based on video games!?! and what is "very character-oriented, more realistic than past Lara Croft movies" what is that? Are we making a soap opera out of a character who wasn't even a character in the first place? I thought she just had big cans and could hunt for treasure? Like Indiana Jones only instead of a personality and back story she had tits and guns. Is this insane or am I wrong here? Next up: Teddy Bear: the movie – the character we know, but now we can find out how he came to be and really flesh him out as a character. It will a little “darker and more intense” than the original.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 11:43:11 AM

The last game was great! One of the games had a 'young small breasted' Lara...I just hope by "prequel-reboot" they don't mean having to spend hours of training in the mansion..
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:46:10 PM

GIT A BRIT!!!! There's some many talented, acrobatic, hot accents out there...
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 12:59:10 PM

i agree with The Duke of New York...i like how you put it that way...we are reduced to that now...and it's only gonna get worse...but still i'm gonna keep sayin it...our generation can fix a lot
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 27th, 2009 at 5:08:43 PM

"Hey, you know what would be a good idea?" "What?" "Rebooting Tomb Raider" "What!?! Why the hell would we do that?" "Cuz Megan Fox will make us bank!"
lost_addict writes:
on May 28th, 2009 at 10:32:19 PM

^^^^^^^megan fox is the tits

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved