WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Buffy" Being Rebooted without Joss Whedon

Posted: May 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Buffy" Being Rebooted without Joss WhedonSubmit Comment
Vertigo Entertainment is working on a "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" reboot with the original movie director Fran Rubel Kuzui and her husband Kaz Kazui.

"Buffy" creator Joss Whedon isn't involved and it's currently not set up at any studio. Even though Whedon is associated with all things "Buffy," Kuzui Enterprises holds the rights to the franchise.

The new "Buffy" film will not have any connection to the TV series, nor would it use popular supporting characters like Angel, Willow, Xander or Spike. Vertigo and Kuzui are looking to restart the story line without trampling on the beloved existing universe created by Whedon.

The goal would be to make a darker, event-sized movie that would, of course, have franchise potential that includes sequels, video games and foreign market remakes.

The parties are meeting with writers and hearing takes, and later will look for a home for the project. The producers do not rule out Whedon's involvement but have not yet reached out to him.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Barney Stinson writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 1:30:05 AM

I haven't seen a single thing "Buffy" but do we need to have everything be dark now? Thank god Pixar isn't following the trend to make darker movies.
coldplayesence writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 2:21:23 AM

^^ yet
jaksyn writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 3:24:08 AM

Good cause the TV show Sucked, The movie was The best!
aqualily6 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 4:32:23 AM

OMG!!!What is up with this? Are they crazy or just plain dumb. There are so many fans of the TV show that they kept bringing Buffy back and even created the spinoff Angel. The fans of Buffy are going to be furious with all of these predicted changes. I know at least 10 Buffy fans and they aren't going to be pleased. I certainly am not. I probably won't even watch this movie, but if I do it's just to laugh at it and write bad reviews. I can't hardly believe they plan to get rid of sexy brooding Angel, sweet yet powerful Willow, goofy funny Xander, and HOTTTT bad boy Spike. Are they just planning on tossing the best part of the show out so that this movie can bomb... again? This movie will be the laughing stock of sci-fi movies and television if they strip it bare like that. Knowing the way movies are going these days I won't be surprised if they get some sleeze of Hollywood to play our beloved Buffy. If they replace the actors and change the characters and change the mood they shouldn't even call it Buffy anymore. They should just call it "Money Scheme 10,001" because movies are dead and remakes are easy because the plot has already been done for them. They might as well tell Buffy fans to line up to get "staked through the heart" as their favorite TV show commits movie suicide. So, for the sake of many many Buffy fans, I hope they don't trash a good thing. The show is great and they'd make millions more if they'd just make a movie about the show. Every fan and then some will be standing in line to see it. All the collectors would be all over the merchandise. I know me and my friends would be. Whatever they do, they should not destroy all the good things about the show or they'll devastate the fans they have. Changing the show doesn't make the so-called cool people think that Buffy is any less geeky. There won't be new fans and they'll chase away the fans that already love it.
sachem writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:48:21 AM

Sigh.
vineethchacko writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 10:11:43 AM

I thought Whedon had the Buffy rights and wanted to make a movie.
doneehoward writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 11:28:11 AM

Who is this movie for?
Mawii writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 1:35:09 PM

I'm a super fan of buffy (the Serie & the movie) and i think is good to see something new about it.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 3:32:12 PM

They would be nuts to do that sh*t
bluemeenie writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 3:33:00 PM

pass
mariachi writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 4:14:16 PM

Speaking as a fan of the show and a hater of the movie, I think this is a terrible idea. This would effectivly destory any plans that Wheaton had of making a movie from the show AND it would basically sh#t on the 7 seasons of that world that had already been established. F@ck these guys.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 4:42:30 PM

Morbius in Spidey 4?!?!
makingcircles writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 5:56:53 PM

Sure...way to take this concept and drive a stake through it. Get it? Get it?? Ahh..f*ck you guys.
MMJoe writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:46:27 PM

I'll tell you this much; the creators of the first or the original film didn't have any vision. It was because of Whedon that the show had any life in it. Now they are thinking about going about it without him. f*cking idiots. Of course we all know why they are considering and doing this, thanks to "Twilight" or shows like "True Blood". This is basically saying we are doing a remake because everyone else seems to be doing it.
MMJoe writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 6:54:32 PM

In other words this is basically what it is, a re imagined, remake or a different take on the now established franchise.
BlueMobius writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 11:43:20 PM

^^OK...wow. Yikes. But honestly, I don't see the point in taking everything that makes something work, throw it out, and start over. I get it with Batman and the like because those franchises were dying. Buffy, on the other hand, has had nothing but success under Whedon's reign (take a look at the current blockbuster comic). This might be a terrible idea.
BlueMobius writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 11:43:57 PM

Oh sorry, people posted too fast. My "yikes" was for aqualily6.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 8:40:02 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved