WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Heath Ledger's "Dr. Parnassus" Reviews are In

Posted: May 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Heath LedgerSubmit Comment
Heath Ledger's last film "The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus" made its debut at the Cannes Film Festival and the first reviews are in. Most of them are negative, some are positive and everyone was shocked by Ledger's first scene, in which he hangs from a London bridge with a rope around his neck.

BBC: The imaginary world he's created is awe-inspiring, but it's ultimately designed for an art house audience.

Entertainment Weekly: The plot's a mess of disconnected episodes, and the circus-y visual style adds to a feeling of ... quiet desperation.

The Guardian: The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus is an awful mess, and the untimely death of Heath Ledger during its making only focuses attention on it for the wrong reasons.

Times Online: The film could have benefited with a lot more hard story and a lot less whimsy. But it is a visually stunning watch.

Variety: The film possesses strong curiosity value bolstered by generally lively action and excellent visual effects.

Click here to read more about "The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus."

Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Derp88 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 3:54:36 AM

Damn doesn't sound too good but i'll still watch it
wonderBOY writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 4:08:33 AM

take that heath ledger and people on the heath ledger bandwagon he was only good in 1 movie and that was 10 things i hate about you
Ranger writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 4:14:33 AM

I like him in 'A Knight's Tale.'
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 4:32:12 AM

yea i still can't wait...i'm expecting to be shocked...you can't expect too much for his last movie...besides, it wasn't supposed to be his last
Derp88 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 5:07:31 AM

STFU wonderCLOWN
-apocolyptic- writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 5:15:03 AM

Doesn't matter......its Terry Gilliam. Like I am going to listen to some guy who sits on his ass all day "reviewing" movies. If I like it great! If not, well thats my problem.f*ck 'em watch the movie and enjoy yourself. Its entertainment. Thats what its there for.
The Worm writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 9:02:31 AM

just because he was in it before he died doesn't screams it is going to be amazing. TDK was a f*cking amazing film, but only won an academy award because he died. that's called a pity Oscar, folks.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 9:18:51 AM

Worm, there was Oscar buzz for his role long before he died. If you think someone else deserved it, then state who and why. Provide a little credibility here. Since you're taking a very unpopular stance, I think you owe it to us all.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 9:22:54 AM

And no one said it was going to be amazing based on Heath Ledger. People are excited and curious about this one because it's Terry Gilliam doing what he does best. He's re-teaming with Charles McKeown and hopefully making something that lives up to his earlier fantasy work such as Brazil and Time Bandits.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 11:12:41 AM

"designed for an art house audience." NO f*ckING sh*t! THESE GODDAMN CRITICS, ITS AMAZING THAT THIS FILM EVEN GOT FINISHED. THEY DID WHAT THEY COULD TO MAKE IT WORK AND FINISH IT AND I THINK THEY'VE TOTALLY FORGOT THAT... f*ck 'EM I KNOW IT WILL BE BRILLIANT!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 11:13:42 AM

@ wonderBOY - I hope that was f*cking sarcasm you prick
Sinestro writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 11:51:36 AM

That's what Gilliam gets for talking sh*t about the Dark Knight.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 2:44:15 PM

Why is this surprising? It was directed by Terry Gilliam...who, frankly, doesn't even understand himself at times.
AJWPProfile writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 5:41:43 PM

I agree with WonderBOY on this one. But Terry Gilliam is always excellent in his directing so I'll see it....On Blu-Ray
KirkLazerus writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 7:38:18 PM

hahahaha bandwagon,i only like 3 of his movies TDK,10 things i hate bout you and the patriot,Mel Gibson is bad ass
Blank x2 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 8:35:55 PM

WonderBoy, I'd love to have some of what you are smoking. If you think he has only been good in one movie, that must be the only one of his movies you have actually seen. And to say that he was good in 10 Things I Hate About You, and NOT good in The Dark Knight......wow. You officially have NO f*cking clue what you are talking about.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 8:38:07 PM

"His only good movie was 10 Things I Hate About You". I still can't get over that one. That is, quite possibly, the stupidest thing I've ever read on WP, and I have read some dumb sh*t on this site. And don't EVER say he got a pity Oscar. Halle Berry got a pity Oscar.
Pepeman writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 5:05:55 AM

Blank x2, WondeBOY was CLEARLY joking. It's so obvious..man i bet you're feelin' bit dumb at the moment and hoping that WP had a "edit" button.... :P
Eben1277 writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 11:59:34 AM

The Sineater was decent for kind of a B movie.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 12:05:36 PM

Retitled 'The Order'- which was alright- I heard it got screwed in post and had some major scenes widdled down for studios (expect a directors cut to be approved now that he's dead). But Brian Helgeland also directed him in Knight's Tale which is a great movie with tons of entertainment from a great cast.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 2:40:29 PM

I don't feel the least bit dumb. And if WP had an edit button, I wouldn't use it. So, try again.
Pepeman writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 6:36:41 PM

No, i don't need to try anything. You manage to look like a complete ASS on your own. Well done :)
wonderBOY writes:
on May 25th, 2009 at 3:26:38 AM

people the 10 things i hate about you was a joke but come on theres lots of people now sayin heaths there fav actor just cuz he died its getting annoying. also TDK was good but there are better comic movies like spiderman and american splendor also ghostworld only cuz steve buscemi
bluemeenie writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 4:22:22 PM

So Heath Ledger's a shoe in for another Oscar then?
froman writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 4:34:41 PM

wonder boy and ranger,ARE YOU GAY!!!!!!,the dark knight,HELLO!!!,that movie is his best movie,christan bale's best,christopher noaln's,micheal cain's,morgan freeman's,maggie gylnhal's,and aaron echart's best movie,and defintley in the top 10 best movies i have ever seen for me!!,you freakin idiot

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved