WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Barack Obama Reviews "Star Trek"

Posted: May 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Barack Obama Reviews "Star Trek"Submit Comment
It was recently reported that the new JJ Abrams-directed "Star Trek" film was screened at the White House for President Barack Obama. In an interview with NewsWeek, Obama talked about the screening and his opinion of it.

"Movies I've been doing OK [with] because it turns out we got this nice theater on the ground floor of my house. So 'Star Trek,' we saw this weekend, which I thought was good," he said. "Everybody was saying I was Spock, so I figured I should check it out and — [the president makes the Vulcan salute with his hand]."

He continued: "I used to love 'Star Trek.' You know, 'Star Trek' was ahead of its time. There was a whole—the special effects weren't real good, but the storylines were always evocative, you know, there was a little commentary and a little pop philosophy for a 10-year-old to absorb."

If everybody says that Obama is Spock, then who is Kirk?

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: NewsWeek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Valis writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 4:38:51 AM

Biden is so Kirk.
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 5:36:07 AM

Kirk is their new dog, pissing everywhere.
Dannoral writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 6:56:56 AM

You have a realy cool President ^^ (I'm Belgian)
Horatiohornblower writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:26:29 AM

Who cares who Kirk is whats cool is that you can see where he may have gotten part of his "everyone should be included" philosophy. It was a major theme of the original Star Trek, and to know the president loved watching Star Trek says something about the man!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:30:44 AM

WTF!!!!!! Yea, you have the most powerful job in the world, and the U.S. is jacked up right now. Get off your a$$ and do your job!!! You asked for that job, so you don't have the right to take it easy, when EVERY Sunday you tell the nation how we are in terrible times. Talk crap about previous administrations and yet he does the same thing, freaking unqualified hypocrite!!!!!!!!!!
smokemouth writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:41:39 AM

Pembrokehawk - why are you typing on the internet when you should be driving your tractor trailer? Get to work. t I'm sure even with everything going on, the president still has time to take in a movie or fill out a bracket here and there. People need to calm down.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:53:05 AM

Your President is cool, be happy with him, the world likes him , which is rare!! Australia has a Prime Minister that is famous because of some comedians funny sketch he does
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 8:06:02 AM

Smokemouth, lets see, I typing just like you are typing. Great argument there. Anything else for the good of the people? You must be one of those who live in a bubble where 'the world is a great place and nothing is wrong'. How is it there? Yea, I hear that everyone has to be P.C. there also. That is too bad that you let society determine how you feel and think. I like that 'tractor trailer' comment, you sound like you speak from experience.
quakes1121 writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 8:19:48 AM

Are you kidding, after the funny ass comment about the supreme court justice messing up the oath of office, Kirk = Biden .....
Mr.Purple writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 8:23:25 AM

To everyone who said we should be happy we have a cool president who everyone loves: It's not really about making friends and being cool. I actually just prefer my president to do their job, regardless of whether they're pissing people off or not.
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 8:53:49 AM

William Shatner is Kirk. End of story.
freshfromthedeli writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 8:55:35 AM

Sounds a little c*cky to refer to the White House as "my house."
dwightschrute writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 9:47:57 AM

Kirk is totally Michelle Obama.
Cinestarr writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:24:57 AM

He's President, but he's not chained to the office. He can take 2 hours to watch a movie with his kids. Get over yourself. And he's right...he is totally Spock (Classic Spock, of course).
JKline writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:37:51 AM

Star Trek is an American classic, the President should be aware of what the American public is being subjected too (including films). I have absolutely no problem with Obama watching a movie with his family. He is a man, just like any other man. Who knows, after watching the film maybe he was inspired to further fund the space program. If I were President, I'd end every day with a movie!
JKline writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:39:11 AM

BTW it s refreshing to hear people from other countries acknowledge how good a person Obama is. A drastic change from the last 8 years...
darthraige writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:43:52 AM

RE: Pembrokehawk You don't even make sense? What do you expect the President to do? Work 24 hours a day 7 days a week? I'm sure he has a 9-5 job like everyone else. Obviously he's on call for crazy sh*t and has many meetings and probably works late most nights. But give the guy a break. He can have down time to watch a f*cking movie like everyone else. I would have just chosen a better movie than Star Trek. He probably watched it around 10pm at night.
lost_addict writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:52:34 AM

I'm gonna detonate a hydrogen obama
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:06:30 PM

Pembrokehawk - ahh... if need be. Watch all 7 seasons of The West Wing. The President has a Staff... they do stuff for him. He is GREATLY improving the US - in image alone. And before you comment (you little box thinker you) - the US has to get along with the rest of the world for MANY reasons. 1. They're broke $11.5 TRILLION (let's all give a warm round of applause to George W. Bush!) - China owns EVERY SINGLE bullet/shell/missle/plane/tank/ship the US Military owns (US Treasury Bills - look it up - see who is 'lending' the US their war chest). 2. Terrorism (which Bush started anyway with 9/11) - the invisible (yet exists) is too expensive to continue money to borrow to fight - so it's actually CHEAPER to get along with people and other countries. 3. The US needs friendly trading partners. And... the list goes on. There is NOTHING ELSE an efficient President could do in those 2 hours it takes to watch a movie that his Staff (Executive and General - which runs into the thousands of people) couldn't handle. Go read a book or something (on US Government structure - just a suggestion). And if the Man knows Star Trek... it says a lot of the Man (as someone above posted) - it also says a lot for the show as to the intelligent people Trekkies/Trekkers have always known it draws into it's Roddenberry genius. So Pembrokehawk, unless you're doing more for your country (whichever one it is) by your Mid-40's like President Obama... how about you take a chill pill and not ask what your country can do for you, but rather what can YOU do for your country (besides bitch).
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:25:00 PM

We love President Obama!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:33:12 PM

Yes, how dare he see a movie here and there! Because when he does things or says things, they can happen immediately! Jesus...
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:34:08 PM

That was toward pembrokehawk btw. Just woke up. *waves Obama pennant* go team!
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:36:06 PM

Pembrokehawk - you're not George W. Bush are you by any chance?! Oh right... that guy couldn't finish a sentence. OK... you're not George W. Bush Sr. are you by any chance?!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:43:57 PM

Yeah, people's minds don't work if they don't relax once in a while. Its all about maintaining a balance man... if he works too much his mind will crap out and he won't be doing sh*t. Not that he'll be doing anything important anyways. He's got the Council on Foreign Relations, the Trilateral Commission and the Bilderberg group to do that for him. He's just gotta smile and tell us everythings all right until the global economy collapses and we're thrust into the police state that will be the one nation New World Order. And dammit if Star Trek won't make him smile!
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:49:55 PM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:09:07 PM

Obama could get a LOT MORE done were he not handed that gift basket of sh*t to deal with from Bush. I actually feel sorry for the tasks that lay ahead of this guy. Most of it (by far) is just damage control. It'll take years of his Presidency to even put a dent into that multi-generational debt. Then there's the in-bred hillbillies like Pembrokehawk's welfare, trailer park residing parents that were stupid enough to vote Geo. W. in for a 2nd. term.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:33:47 PM

What the hell is Obama doing? We are in a crisis, and all he does is go on ESPN and watch movies. Obama truly stands for "One Big Ass Mistake America".
bluemeenie writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:37:36 PM

Chris Pine is Kirk
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:39:13 PM

Wow Ranger, take it easy. Well, I guess I was a bit abrupt as well. Don't worry, your Ritalin is still next to your Conspiracy Theory magazine in your grandma's basement. But on a serious note, allow me to acknowledge one of your questions. Yes, U.S. is my country. And I have actually done my time in the Middle-East for the U.S., have you, or do you just live the 'fight' by playing video games? I will agree that you have to relax once in a while, but c o m e o n fellas/ladies, if you think he is doing a great job you might want to pay more attention. But I digress, this is a site about Movies and I have played devils advocate for too long. Keep up the banter fellas, its good fun. Ranger, RANGER . . . . don't forget your Ritalin.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:48:07 PM

We all know he has a thing for Uhura
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:01:13 PM

Pembrokehawk - good reply. And yes, as for fighting for my country (even more irrelevant to a movie site) - that's personal, but would have you lean towards the affirmative. Obama may not be getting done what needs to be done as fast as it needs to be done. ALL I was saying that he's been given a near impossible task, with a sh*tty economy, from a prev. President hell-bent on bankrupting a country for his (and those of his friends) own personal financial gain (Conspiracy Theory?! Iraq had NOTHING to do with 9/11 and Cheney's old Co. and Bud's rec. the contracts to rebuild it - these guys don't even care to cover up their corruption(s) anymore). I think too much is expected of Omaba considering the US (and the World's) financial condition (let's not even get into Health Care). Bush left him a sh*tty, impossible mess to fix.
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:01:47 PM

And the man likes Star Trek... u can't go wrong there!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:03:55 PM

Bluemeenie, you are tripping me out. Your like that kid at the dinner table who's parents are arguing violently, and you don't know what to say or even look up. Uhhhh, can you pass the mac & cheese please? I got cha man, stick to movie talk. Star Trek was pretty sweet, although Kirk did get his butt kicked alot in it. That ok though, he hooked up with that green chick.
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:09:02 PM

Pembrokehawk - whatever you future reply may be to my replies... I think you're an ok sh*t. We've both have opinions, and respect what the other has to say. Your service to your country is a far, far greater sacrifice you (and your family) have personally made, than President Bush ever did. Good on you. Great on your for following the orders of your Commander in Chief. I just think Bush is a c*nt (lol)... and not in the good way. Have a fab. day. God Bless.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:14:51 PM

Ha ha, o k Ranger. Lets just agree to disagree. We are obviously getting into a debate that is WAY off topic and has no obvious solution. Politics never does, because nothing ever pleases everyone and EVERYONE has an opinion. Although I do enjoy the back and forth, it really has no logical end. Back to the movies!!!!!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:16:35 PM

Ok, now Ranger and I have made up, isn't that sweet? Is everyone happy? Get out the kleenex, I feel a gusher coming on!!!!! Hahahahaha
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:44:45 PM

I took the kleenex out for a different kind of gusher.
JKline writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:45:59 PM

Can't we all just get along so we can all live long & prosper!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 3:46:07 PM

yes Pembrokehawk mac&cheese sound geeerrreeatt! (That has the taste kids grow to love)
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 4:29:53 PM

Pembrokehawk - right the f*ck on!! exactly what I was thinking!
rzmsauce writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 5:52:12 PM

Put down the watermelon, and the movie and get back to work you lazy spade!
ghosttomost writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 6:15:43 PM

wow, can't believe those guys made up....that never happens on here, quite inspiring actually...
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:12:07 PM

Hey folks. There's never a right or a wrong in a debate. And Pembrokehawk (a classy person) knows that as well as I. TO: rzmsauce - LOL! Almost fell off my f*cking chair her you bugger!!!!
The Worm writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:38:26 PM

Obama is a fag who only got elected because he is black. BUSH 4 LIFE!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 7:51:12 PM

Umm... actually, Obama is only half black. The other half is white (his mother), that raised him actually. So he is as much white as he is black. So... you're gonna have to do a little better than that my friend. OK... back to movies. The US Pres. knows Star Trek (it's meaning, philosophy, etc.), how cool is that?
Planetastudios writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 11:17:19 PM

lots of comments here...wonder why
HOCK writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 12:18:41 AM

I <3 our president :)
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 10:55:34 AM

Rzmsauce, that was hilarious!!! Good read first thing in the morning. Ranger, wtf, how come I get a 'tractor' comment and rzmsauce skates free? I guess it was just too funny to be serious.
Ranger writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 11:50:17 AM

lol... yeah, Rzmsauce has the best post on here for sure. Hey... trailer comment wasn't from me my friend.
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 12:23:17 PM

Oh right, my bad.
afterkwiss writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 12:41:31 PM

To Dannoral - Yes, they do have a cool president. And if they could send us a copy here to replace our countless and useless ones, that would help.
afterkwiss writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 12:42:25 PM

... I'm Belgian too.
Ranger writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 1:00:35 PM

Oh I love your waffles!!!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 1:28:06 PM

Waffles are tasty, but I prefer pancakes. Ummmm, pancakes. Its settled, IHOP in the morning! Who's in?!?!?
Ranger writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 2:07:05 PM

Buckwheat Pancakes?!?!? I'm in. Let's invite the Belgian!
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 2:59:23 PM

Belgian, BELGIAN, you up for some IHOP? There is a strawberry extravaganza right now. How can you resist that?
Ranger writes:
on May 22nd, 2009 at 4:53:19 PM

And I'll spring for the free coffee refills!
bacci40 writes:
on May 23rd, 2009 at 12:58:19 AM

10???? obama didnt watch during its orignal run? guess his mom and/or grandparents werent fans of the show
BondMcClane007 writes:
on May 26th, 2009 at 9:54:39 PM

That whole confrontation was by far the weirdest ive evr seen.. but i was distracted by the fact that our prez has good taste in movies

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved