WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Says NO to Helming Comic Book Films

Posted: May 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Says NO to Helming Comic Book FilmsSubmit Comment
Back in the 90s, Kevin Smith wrote a script for a "Superman" reboot and while that didn't go anywhere, he ended up also penning a draft of "The Green Hornet," with the similar results.

He now tells MTV News that he has no interest in ever tackling a comic book film again. "I have no interest in making those movies," he explained. "They look very tedious to make. It takes a talent that I just do not have. But I love to kick back and watch them."

He went on to cite Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight) and Jon Favreau (Iron Man) among the ideal candidates to direct comic book properties. And when it came to the question of writing another script, Smith questioned the very need for a "name writer."

"When I got hired for that 'Superman' gig, the first thing out of my mouth was like, 'Why are you talking to me?'," he said. "Why don't you talk to Dan Jurgens or somebody who works on 'Superman?' You'll get a great script out of a dude who's worked on 60 issues of 'Superman.' I guarantee it."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MrSammich writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:52:27 PM

Good because his Superman script was sh*tty as hell.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:57:45 PM

It couldn't have been any worse than the script for Superman 3, Superman 4, and Superman Returns. THOSE were terrible scripts.
MrSammich writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 7:34:55 PM

Too-shay on Superman 3 & 4, but I think Returns was better than his script was, but really that is like saying this turd is better than that turd because it has some corn in it.
atn5022 writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 7:43:18 PM

i'm glad he knows his boundaries and sticking to what he knows best, vulgar comedies
mariachi writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 8:33:19 PM

I don't understand why Smith would suggust they hire a writer from the comic. *Comic book* writers usually know nothing about making a good *movie*.
acslaterson writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:07:24 PM

JMS wrote Eastwood's "The Changeling" and is getting offers left and right AND he is still doing Thor. Millar, he may be a whore, buy 2 of his comics have been adapted and he may be involved the Superman reboot. Frank Miller penned the screen version of Sin City I believe. To say comic writers shouldn't pen scripts is quite arrogant. Hell, a lot comics are better written then most TV shows these days. I think it is cool that he is giving props to comic writers. I could see him doing Deadpool, if he had full control. I think he was holding back from saying how hard it is to make a quality comic flick with producers and studios constantly wanting to change things.
acslaterson writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:08:44 PM

Can someone please tell me where you people read these scripts that never get made! Is there a website or something?
thomas deadison writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:09:38 PM

His point is he doesn't nor would ever want to tarnish what others have worked so hard to create.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:31:25 PM

Yeah keep writing surreal, overblown sex jokes and dialogue that doesnt even come close to touching reality in any way shape or form, and go f*ck yourself thin.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:10:47 PM

PrevalentMind - you obviously dont know humour you piece of f*cking sh*t, learn to live & laugh. Nextly, Smith has stated this over and over on his Evening With... dvds that he will not ever direct a comic book film. I'm sure as much as he'd love to he knows its not his bag. I respect him for that.
Ronsauce writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:21:34 PM

What's your problem Prevalent? Smith didn't say one negative thing about comic book movies, comic books, or the people associated with them. It was actually quite the opposite. So you trash him simply because you don't find his humour funny?
Ronsauce writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:23:06 PM

mariachi, comic book writers don't have to know how to make a good movie. They just have to know how to write an interesting story, and most of them do(it's why they do what they do).
bacci40 writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:48:22 PM

smith gets it...why the f*ck doesnt hollywood hire comic book writers to write comic book related movies? and smith's script for supes was a mess..but not his fault...he just did what he was told and got a paycheck
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 1:18:18 AM

I think it's pretty cool Kevin admits his limitations here.
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 10:54:57 AM

First smart thing he's done or said. Yeah don't do any because if you do it'll never get finished or delayed to high hell like your written comic work.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 12:06:19 PM

Pls, some body kick in the nuts this gay!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:32:37 PM

You guys can suck my d*ck frankly-My problem is the Smith has shown absolutely NO DEVELOPMENT throughout his career. Sure his movies are funny as hell, but when you hear his dialogue its some of the most thoughtful, in depth rantings- probably the best Hollywood has ever seen. BUT just because he was to please his fag fanboys like you single minded f*cks who'd rather see him stick to c*ck jokes at the age of 40 instead of reigning himself in so he can topple the likes of Woody Allen or David Koepp. He had all this amazing promise after Clerks but never once took the time in his career to elevate his status. I'm not hating the guy- this is disappointment I'm voicing in that the best writer of our generation cant get his head out of the minds of f*ckheads like you who just want to see sh*t hit a wall...he remains a gutless filmmaker. He has already pushed the envelope every film- he cant shock me anymore and the joke is running thin. Add the fact he feels it necessary to cast talentless community college dropouts and you have one of the most successful disappointments in Hollywood history.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:37:58 PM

He admits to limitations- Whoooo yea respect to a guy that sat on his ass and never strived for anything more technical to add to his resume. It took him 3 films to include a dolly shot or a pan for f*ck sakes. Im not saying he HAS to do a superhero movie, but if Chasing Amy was exactly the same limit a few suck d*ck and p*ssy jokes he would have had that Oscar. Great writer- sh*tty, lazy ass director incapable of striving for more- and frankly he doesn't want to. Its been his bag since quitting film school he doesn't want to get better. Zack and Miri proved nothing except he can make the same funny movies with a polished talented cast. He isn't going anywhere even though he easily could and that's why I cant stand him. Funny as hell though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:41:31 PM

If a 14 year old tool can download After Effects and learn it in a week this guy can get off his sh*tter to learn a thing or two more than he already does. Ya open a book, flip the page from right to left, and YOU f*ckING LEARN!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 2:45:54 PM

A Kevin Smith comic book movie would be all dialogue panels...
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 4:33:29 PM

"It takes a talent that I just do not have." Granted he's talking about comic book movies, but the guy sticks to what he knows. You have to give credit to a director that admits he doesnt have what it takes to make a certain type of film. And I guarantee everyone who wants him to make a comic book film will take a big sh*t on it if it comes out.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 4:49:31 PM

PrevalentMind - okay I am about 50/50 with you now, thanks for giving us more detail into what you meant. You still come off as an *sshole but I can agree with you on somethings you've said and still also disagree. I love the man, his films are comedic inspiration and gold. But I agree he does seem to be "running thin" with his dialog. The thing about it though is after watching & loving Zack & Miri is that I thought. Oh damn he couldnt possibly come up with more d*cking sucking/star wars induced/weed & fart jokes but he did with Zack & Miri. I think though its the farthest he is gonna be able to go because of how they almost rated it NC-17. He obviously knows where he stands and also knows he is lazy, he talks about how lazy he is all the time. Fact is though, he isnt lazy - yeah he didnt complete film school but he's a lucky motherf*cker for getting where he is now for not doing that much. I myself am in film school now and could only dream of doing what he's done. I've sat and watched all his "Evening With" dvds and I f*cking hate 95% of his fans, f*cking stupid fratboys who never had but probably one peice of ass ever. I consider myself a true fan of his films and own a poster & shirt here but I wouldnt drool and c*m all over myself if I was in the same room with him like most do. I would though consider it an honor to meet him and thank him for his awesome comedies.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 4:52:00 PM

superman returns was the biggest sh*t of them all a sh*t on sthe singerman
Ranger writes:
on May 21st, 2009 at 9:20:32 PM

There were still some neat elements. Landing that 747, posing with the Mustang (car) over his head exactly as Supes appeared in Action Comics June 1938, that age-old question about how bullet-proof he is when he took that slug to the eye. Routh (and Singer) had big boots to fill for that movie (brave for both). The part I thought the funniest? Is that NO ONE put it together that Clark Kent AND Superman show up again at the same time after 5 years. I mean... eyeglasses or not, Lois should have figured that one out decades ago (stupid bitch!), but in this moving, both Clark and Supes back as the same time AFTER 5 YEARS... and NO ONE puts THAT together!? What kind of 'investigative reporters' work for that f*cking newspaper anyway?!?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved