WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"SNL" to Develop a "MacGruber" Movie

Posted: May 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"SNL" to Develop a "MacGruber" MovieSubmit Comment
Two months ago, New Line Cinema announced that its planning a feature film based on the popular "MacGyver" TV show that ran from 1985-1992 on ABC. "We think we're a stick of chewing gum, a paper clip and an A-list writer away from a global franchise," said New Line's Richard Brener.

But New Line will have a bit of competition, since Lorne Michaels and the people from "SNL" are working on turning a "MacGyver" spoof skit, called "MacGruber," into a movie. In the popular skit, Will Forte is always seconds from disarming a bomb, but gets sucked into idle chatter or an argument while his friends yell at him to focus on the bomb.

"SNL" writers and actors will go back to work in September, which is why Michaels said that "MacGruber" "would have to be made in the Summer. But since nothing is finalized yet, the film might not be made till next Summer.

MacGruber with Shia LaBeouf:


Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:07:19 AM

Do people find Will Forte funny? He's a terribly unfunny writer, so I'd avoid hiring him to script this.
SpecialKShaw writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:15:31 AM

the reason that skit is funny is because it's so short
DeathMaster writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:31:34 AM

SNL on the big screen = failure by default. Maybe with a few exceptions made in the past by Will Ferrell and others, but the current cast of SNL is simply not good enough.
doneehoward writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 8:15:18 AM

wow. I will avoid that like swine flu. (run away from it fast like the Target lady.)
doneehoward writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 8:16:27 AM

They should just take that money, put it aside in a "Get Justin Timberlake as often as possible" fund. lol
acslaterson writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:14:06 AM

This will be as good as Corky Romano(huge eye roll).
Bonzaitri writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 10:49:25 AM

agreed doneehoward. JT's hosting was the only episode all season with consistently funny sketches. I think the biggest problem with snl right now is that some of the writing is just horrible.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:40:42 AM

People will pay up to 0 dollars to watch Will Farte on TV. Have fun trying to find a producer- Lorne I think won't even return those calls...
bluemeenie writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 11:58:01 AM

I think an entire movie based on the ping pong ball storyline would be a great film.
masKritic writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 12:15:39 PM

you guys are dumb SNL is great and Will Forte is as well. I love the current cast except for keenan thompson he sucks and Darryl Hammond needs to find something better to do. As far as making a movie out of this i think its a bad idea but then again i dont know what they are planning on doing with the character so it could be good. I think there is a 90% chance of this failing miserably but sh*t i f*ckin love MacGruber.As far as writing goes, there is always bad writing. Every episode will have something bad in it. Like the finale with Will Ferrell. I didn't like it too much. Only certain parts. The Justin Timberlake episode shouldve been the finale. But old old old episodes are the same way. Some will suck and some will be great.
Stuntastic writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 12:22:25 PM

Hell, they should just hire Timberlake like doneehoward said. He's naturally funny
c-prime writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 12:34:30 PM

masKritic, you forget: Darrell Hammond has nothing better to do. That aside, this movie's gonna suck hard. "SNL" has been slumming since the oppressive reich of Tina Fey. And Justin Timberlake needs to stop appearing on the show. I'm sick of them trying to impose his supposed comedic talent on viewers. Don't mistake me, "d*ck in a Box" was rapture and I think he showed a bit of promise with his performance in "Black Snake Moan," but it's just becoming very aggravating now. He's a singer, not an actor.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 1:19:15 PM

Keenan Thompson is the only one that makes me laugh anymore- Seth isn't bad either... overall you have to be on pot to like SNL...new product sponser idea for NBC maybe...?
Kal-El writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 2:39:41 PM

Ugh.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 4:28:53 PM

Hahahaha "So who's the luck lady? ............Scott"
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 6:15:52 PM

yea i'm sorry but i have to butt in...lol, but i have to butt lol...i know stupid me haha...anyway, i was gonna say i think justin timberlake has enough fame and fortune...there's no reason he should be trying so hard to get more of it....he had a crush on cameron diaz then dumps her, he still sounds like a girl when he sings, he's been in a few movies already and now he has his own show and it seems he's trying to be a maintstream comic in SNL?...as busy as he might be, the work he's done(music wise of course) is just not inspirational to me...he was not hilarious in 'love guru' but he was funny to look at...i dunno how i couldn't sound any meaner or jealous...but i thought since he was working out and getting older that his voice would deepen after all that...but i was wrong
akumavern writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 8:15:29 PM

...In other news, SNL is still on the air.
masKritic writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:23:27 PM

i dont like keenan at all he never changes his voice with the characters i like bii hader, kristin wiig, andy samberg, and jason sudeikis the most.
masKritic writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:23:52 PM

I meant Bill not bii
The Worm writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 9:33:50 PM

i would not see that sh*t if my life depended on it

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved