WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Spielberg Developing Martin Luther King Jr. Biopic

Posted: May 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Spielberg Developing Martin Luther King Jr. BiopicSubmit Comment
DreamWorks has acquired the life rights to Martin Luther King Jr and is bringing a biopic on the slain civil rights leader to the big screen. Steven Spielberg, Suzanne de Passe and Madison Jones will produce.

King, who was assassinated in 1968 in Memphis at the age of 39, copyrighted his speeches, books and famous works during his lifetime. The DreamWorks project marks the first film to be authorized by King's estate and gives the producers the right to utilize King's intellectual property -- including his famous "I Have a Dream" speech delivered during the 1963 March on Washington -- to create the definitive portrait of his life.

"We are all honored that the King Estate is giving us the opportunity to tell the story of these defining, historic events," Spielberg said. "It is our hope that the creative power of film and the impact of Dr. King's life can combine to present a story of undeniable power that we can all be proud of."

A King film has been a longtime dream for Spielberg and DreamWorks CEO and co-chairman Stacey Snider, who has been working feverishly on acquiring the rights since exiting Paramount Pictures and setting up a solo enterprise.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 2:08:54 AM

Spike Lee WILL sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 2:14:28 AM

You got that right. Good for Steven though. I know he'll put his back into a project like this like Saving Private Ryan and Schlinder's List... it'll be something to see.
AshTrey writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 2:18:25 AM

keep this away from Spike.... he f*cked up Miracle at St. Anna and even that Kobe movie on espn. You done f*cked up now Spike.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 2:55:03 AM

nice since we're ready for puffy as a black james bond.... i think its finally time for val kilmler as a white MLK... sound completely stupid and retarded?? yes i think so too....
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 2:55:22 AM

ahhh don't forget a Black captain america
tomnottommy writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 4:11:51 AM

but MLK is a real person, not a fictional character
BurmaShave writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 5:03:17 AM

Val Kilmer can do anything.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 6:26:14 AM

i don't deny the fact that this is an extreme example... but regardless, fictional or not... having the correct portrayal of an iconic image... (again.... fictional or not) is very important...
acslaterson writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 7:56:57 AM

What?! What happened to the Lincoln biopic with Neeson? This will probably be great but I want Lincoln!!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 8:54:46 AM

Spike Lee was too busy making his Kobe jackoff "movie" so tough sh*t. So is it out of line to suggest RDJ as MLK?
dwightschrute writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 9:30:08 AM

"I Have A Dream" now that's a good title. LOL @ Spike Lee hhahahahaha
bluemeenie writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 11:04:27 AM

I think they should get a white guy to play MLK
bluemeenie writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 11:04:43 AM

Like Will Smith...
Cryan Jack writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 12:20:43 PM

HA! "Like Will Smith"....that's funny....because it's true.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 3:15:39 PM

Its not cool to make fun of black people.
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 3:55:08 PM

Glad it won't be a Spike Lee joint
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 4:10:56 PM

2 MYVAGHURTZ - lighten up!
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 4:11:25 PM

I was gonna type: 'whiten up!' LOL!
Dre-EL writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 5:56:29 PM

What no INDY5 or ET2
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 7:17:14 PM

Maybe Dr. King steals ET's ship?
renzzoe writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 7:27:45 PM

Projekt SHIN- Why are you so obsessed with color? BurmaShave- Sorry to burst your bubble, but Dr Martin Luther King's character will definitely NOT be played by a white actor.... Let alone by a crappy actor like Val Klimer.
Projekt SHIN writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 9:39:27 PM

i'm not obsessed with colors, but i critique the details of bringing a true portrayal on screen of an icon. i remember a topic about a possible black 007, black capt. A, and my personal opinion beleives that some things should be left alone regardless of "change". my whole point is that if we're so easy to let something like that go, why not so much on the opposite end? like i said before, i do admit MLK is a pretty big jump, but the principles are still relative.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 11:33:48 PM

f*ck Spike Lee, if anyone can do this - its Spielberg but do Lincoln first because you said you would

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved