WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Battleship" Board Game to Become a Movie

Posted: May 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Battleship" Board Game to Become a MovieSubmit Comment
Peter Berg (Hancock) is in talks to direct a big-screen version of the Hasbro board game "Battleship" for Universal. Brothers Jon and Erich Hoeber (Whiteout) have signed on to write the script.

The game, which began in pencil and paper form in the early 20th century and is now available on platforms from cell phones to computers, consists of two players arranging a variety of ships on a grid. The game proceeds in alternating salvos as players try to "sink" the opposition's ships by guessing where they sit on the grid.

While plot details are being kept a secret, the studio is looking to make an epic naval action adventure.

Universal has several board game titles in development as part of its six-year deal with Hasbro. "Ouija Board" is being produced by Michael Bay's Platinum Dunes, "Candy Land" has Kevin Lima attached to direct with Etan Cohen writing the script, and Ridley Scott is developing a project based on "Monopoly."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:22:39 AM

wtf mate
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:41:31 AM

I'll bet a kidney the 'secret' part of this sh*t movie involves the American Gladiators!
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:57:14 AM

Or a Mega Shark and a Giant Octopus! What's next... 'Tip-it!'... 'Hands Down!'? They'll probably only be able to get Shatner to star in these as he's so busy snubbing Star Trek!
jaksyn writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 5:07:38 AM

B5!!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 5:12:58 AM

WTF, only board games i can see them adapting into a film are 'Risk' and 'Fortess America'. 'Clue' also worked because it wasn't a serious film, kinda jsut good fun. If they make a 'Twister' film i am sure it will be about a 'Twister' tournament with Cheerleaders and maybe some ditzy slutty girls like Kim Kardashian!
acslaterson writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 6:42:26 AM

Riiiiiggggghhhhhhtttt.....what next, a Go Fish movie about butch lesbians?
Ari Gold writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 7:04:26 AM

Skippy.. That is gold! you know what, get that idea and make twister into a porno!!!! with a play along dvd where you and your missus can join and follow movie! choose your own ending!
JKline writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 10:21:05 AM

They make video games into movies. Why not board games?
mgraybop writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 10:42:46 AM

Im thinking that next it will be the horror spectacle "Hungry, Hungry Hippos 3-D"
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 10:45:24 AM

David Fincher's making Hungry Hungry Hippos. I'm calling it now.
mgraybop writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 11:16:11 AM

Naa it will be Michael Bay. Big Budget, explosions, Hippos coming to earth by means of asteroids... oh wait that sounds familiar
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 12:11:38 PM

they should make 'don't wake daddy' into a movie...i'll bet with battleship, they will totally kill it lol....they'll say it all dramatically 'you sunk my battleship, bitch!'....it'd be great if they made these movies as comedy and not so serious
buttabean writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 12:32:09 PM

They should really make a movie off of Enterprise. That ship went through hell and back.
makingcircles writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:02:56 PM

The two kids on the old battleship box in the picture are actually my brother and I. We did the photo shoot in 78'. We had no idea how to play the game...they just told us to pretend like we knew what we were doing and smile. BTW...if you think what I just wrote is true then you probably think that Battleship is a good idea for a movie.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:56:17 PM

give it to Michael Bay and he'll do it right - hahahaha!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:01:34 PM

So...are wew supposed to be playing the game while watching the movie-??? I think "board" is the keyword here when discussing this movie.
defiant1 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:02:43 PM

Stratego: The Movie.
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:31:07 PM

Twister, Go Fish and Hungry Hungry Hippos...LOL! NICE! Hey... how about 'Operation' - Jeffrey Dahmer Edition?!
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:32:53 PM

When I even suggested (as we all have) that Hollywood 'get original for a change'... I honestly couldn't have imagined they would even CONSIDER troweling out this kind of sh*t! The only thing I am intrigued about this idea is how you'd actually turn the game Battleship into a movie? Like Tron maybe... kids are playing the game, and somewhere their actions are creating a real battle on the high seas somewhere?!
thomas deadison writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:34:00 PM

synthetic, I always thought Don't Wake Daddy would make for a hilarious movie adaptation. It'll be about an abusive drunk who starves and beats his kids.
JRprime writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:37:02 PM

this would only be good if it ended with someone saying, "oh man, they sunk our battleship!" haha
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:37:34 PM

... with the molested daughter that sleeps in the closet under the stairs next to her Harry Potter doll.
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:38:08 PM

I'm still laughing at: 'Go Fish' - for a movie idea.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:23:55 PM

haha thomas deadison that was good....next it'll be 'mousetrap' featuring fivel from 'an american tail' lol....or how about 'trouble'? haha wow.....what else is there?....oh yea...'connect four' 'don't break the ice' 'antz in the pantz' 'sorry' 'cramium' 'backgammon' 'pictionary' 'have you scene it' hahaha
mariachi writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:29:57 PM

disgusting
siebener writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:35:32 PM

why don't they just ask that "mad max 4" guy to make a 3D-CGI remake of Das Boot?
akumavern writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:41:37 PM

B-4....YOU SUNK MY CHILDHOOD!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 6:37:34 PM

Mine went when I boinked my baby-sitter (HAWT!)
vampires_suck writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 11:31:12 PM

This board game to movie stuff is old news man, you're behind the ball on this one mate, what's goin on? :)
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 12:41:17 AM

THIS IS A RIPOFF OF THE FILMS I HAVE LINED UP!!!! I'm writing, producing and directing- Snakes & Bladders, MouthTrap, and And You Dunked My Battled*ck....it's an anthology film.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 3:22:32 PM

some board games should never be movies. this sounds stupid
swoooop writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 5:31:29 PM

Hollywood! f*ck of!!
Ranger writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 3:48:48 AM

I'm still scratching my head as to how they could even make this into a story!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved