WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Early "Terminator Salvation" Reviews

Posted: May 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Early "Terminator Salvation" ReviewsSubmit Comment
The whole point of an embargo is to let magazines and newspapers a chance to release their movie reviews at the same time as the online blogs, who can post a review minutes after seeing a film. For some reason, Warner Bros has decided to favor the trades by giving them permission to post their "Terminator Salvation" reviews, while the rest of us have to wait till Friday.

So while we can't tell you what we thought of the movie, we can tell you what Variety, The Hollywood Reporter and The College Times thought.

Variety: Darker, grimmer and more stylistically single-minded than its two relatively giddy predecessors. "Terminator Salvation" boasts the kind of singular vision that distinguished the James Cameron original, the full-throttle kinetics of "Speed" and an old-fashioned regard for human (and humanoid) heroics.

The Hollywood Reporter: Although director McG manages to keep the machinery humming 18 years after James Cameron's "Judgment Day" and its liquid metal raised the F/X stakes considerably, anchoring it in any sort of satisfying dramatic context is another story.

The College Times: Terminator: Salvation is still a good entry and a marked improvement over its third predecessor that may not exactly set the sci-fi genre ablaze with its effects or plot line but progresses the saga in an interesting direction with good action to boot.

Click here to read more about "Terminator Salvation."

Source: Variety, THR, College Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Pepeman writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:08:01 AM

So..3 out 5 then...Yeah,thought as much..
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 4:01:41 AM

8.9 on IMDB, either people have managed to see a private screening or McG has way too many IMDB accounts
quakes1121 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 8:31:35 AM

McG = Charlies Angel, how the hell did he get the chance to take over a James Cameron project.
dwightschrute writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 9:29:47 AM

I read in one of the reviews that claims "McG is ALWAYS an intelligent director"...umm srsly? You seem to forget the atrocity that is Charlie's Angels my friend lol
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 10:38:08 AM

so, story-wise we're f*cked but "blow-sh*t-up factor" is on 11, huh?? And this isn't like "transformers", McG?? Ok, whatever...
mgraybop writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 11:20:58 AM

I think they figured that Bale was a good enough actor to counter the McG effect. Too bad, I was really hoping that they could take this one and make it on the level of T1 or T2
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:55:22 PM

so its mixed? ofcourse it is, I still think it'll be damn good
shayhiri writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:05:41 PM

There's only one fcking reason for Warner to behave like cnts. The movie sucks and they know it. And to think I expected it to be the best of 2009...
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:34:02 PM

if i didn't know any better, it would seem that McG is loving every second for taking on the 'Terminator' franchise...what i mean is, it seems like he's taking credit as if he came up with it and not james cameron...and if this is what McG looks like now, how young he must have been while directing charlie's angels
Post_Man_87 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 5:47:51 PM

Have any of you actually seen the film yet? No. Then quite your bitching until you can judge it for yourself. Could this be bad? Sure it could. But let's wait 'til we see it first. And as for all the Charlies Angels comments, I agree those were terrible movies, but my question is - weren't they both EXACTLY what they were suppose to be? Way over-the-top action-comedy plot-thin popcorn films? Because that's what they were. So McG actually executed what the studio wanted. They were sh*t - but that's what the studio wanted. Now he's been given the chance to make a more serious - better film. And synthetic1985 - how is McG taking credit for the series? I've read many interviews with him over the past several months and he talks alot about Cameron, the mythology that's been built because of him, and the desire to honor that. He's not taking credit for the entire series before him - but (as far as I can see) wants to make a film that continues the series success. All in all this movie could suck. But I'll wait to judge for myself. You should too.
alexzzzz writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 5:56:05 PM

so is the movie good or not
Dontdoit writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 6:27:30 PM

And the award for Giant Robot battle scenes goes to.....Revenge of the Fallen. Sorry, but Salvation could really only expect 3 of 5 as a filler for the biggest blockbuster of the year. At least Terminator has gone the direction of the most interesting part of it's storyline (and the only part that is left...).
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 6:46:01 PM

Wow another article on WP that provides absolutely no helpful information
OneTime writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 8:21:42 PM

can i download this movie yet?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 8:31:05 PM

From those reviews it seems like Worthington's character is written much better than Bale's. Naturally considering he's a cyborg who doesn't know he is. Almost automatically makes him more interesting to watch. From the clips though it seems like Bale is missing his mark. Thursday I guess we'll all find out.
bacci40 writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 3:10:09 AM

Post_Man_87 ....havent seen the movie, but mcg has been kind enough to upload a ton of clips...and all i havge to say is...this sh*te looks craptacular
Ranger writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 1:04:25 PM

Nice to see Variety giving the very first Terminator movie the credit it deserves. Obviously it's the one that started it all, and it's still my fav. The Terminator in that one was just that... 100% *sshole! A Killer. No joke telling. No funny sunglasses. He'd stop at nothing --- a Terminator! But then again I like most 'first' movies: Star Wars (now episode 4), The Matrix, RoBoCop... hell, even Get Shorty (not spectacular in itself, but better than the sequel)!
MadLad writes:
on May 20th, 2009 at 3:21:06 AM

Well We know the reviewers dont know what the Heck they are talking about when they say Kyle -- given a slightly geeky and perfectly plausible portrayal by Yelchin ("Star Trek") -- will grow up to father John Connor after being sent into the future to meet Sarah Connor (if you haven't followed the "Terminator" time line, this is no time to be catching up). Ummm you might want to catch up with what is going on if you think going into the future to father someone your frinds with works....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved