WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hanks Almost Died During "Cast Away"

Posted: May 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hanks Almost Died During "Cast Away"Submit Comment
While promoting his new movie "Angels & Demons," he revealed to a Radio 1 that he was "almost killed" during the making of the 2000 film "Cast Away."

"[Cast Away] put me in the hospital. I was there for three days with something that, believe it or not, almost killed me," he explained. "I got an infection from a cut and it was eating its way through my leg. I didn't know it, I just thought I had a sore."

He continued: "I went to the doctor who took one look and said, 'I have to put you in the hospital because we have to get this infection out of you before it poisons your blood and you die.' We had to shut down for three weeks while my skin reformed."

In the Robert Zemeckis-directed movie Hanks played a FedEx delivery man who got stranded on an uninhabited island after his plane crashed flying over the South Pacific.

Source: Radio 1, Digital Spy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:00:27 PM

He made $60 mil.+ on Forrest Gump. Who cares?!
Blank x2 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:08:19 PM

Funny. I thought they were gonna say it was "malnutrition" that almost killed him. LoL
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:13:11 PM

That was my first thought. Not much left on his bones for that movie (quite the commitment - like Bale in The Machinist). Big money or not... not sure I could do that.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:15:56 PM

Yeah i thought it was gonna be malnutrition, they filmed the bits when he was bulky, then took a full year off so he can loose the weight, which he did. People in hollywood must have thought he had aids and was loosing it witha ll that long hair.
lost_addict writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:21:21 PM

maybe he died and the smoke monster took over him...
Blank x2 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:27:45 PM

LoL. It was WILSON!!!
Blank x2 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

Skippy Spartan, maybe Hollywood just thought he was doing a sequel or prequel for "Philadelphia". LoL
The Worm writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:43:29 PM

should have died so he didnt make f*cking "angels and demonds"
Planetastudios writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 7:51:14 PM

O give me a break
JKline writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 8:05:59 PM

Lesson learned...STDs from volleyballs result in leg infections
MRW007 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:07:12 PM

The Worm....go f*ck yourself douschbag!!!
The Worm writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:13:58 PM

MRW007, f*ck you f*cking c*nt. I like tom hanks but A&D was a f*ck you to god and jesus and every one who loved the da vinci code.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:18:26 PM

It's not a "f*ck you" to God and Jesus. I would like to think they probably enjoyed it. LoL
The Worm writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:22:23 PM

@Blank x2, thats true they injoyed it, but they will LOVE it when they send them all to hell
masKritic writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:38:26 PM

Tom Hanks was funny as hell in celebrity jeopardy on SNL this past weekend.
Blank x2 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:16:16 PM

I'll be the first one to tell you a little secret The Worm...."hell" exists about as much as Middle Earth and the flying monkeys from the Wizard of Oz do. People can get mad if they want, but there is NO basis of fact for religion. I'm just glad they made a movie out of it. If there was a "hell", people will probably say I'm going there. But there isn't. So I'm not.
Planetastudios writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:21:44 PM

^ o here we go again...
MRW007 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:26:33 PM

The Worm....were you watching the same movie as I was? Angels and Demons is one of the best that has been released. 100 time better than the pieces of sh*t that they have been releasing lately.
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:48:08 PM

masKritic - 05/17/2009 (21:38:26) Tom Hanks was funny as hell in celebrity jeopardy on SNL this past weekend. ------ I just caught that segment channel surfing. That skit is an INSTANT CLASSIC!
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:49:48 PM

Second City TV a LONG TIME ago did a 'Night School IQ' show with Alex Trebek skit... just as funny. And Tom Hanks rocked that skit last night!!
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 12:37:19 AM

I don't know if Alex will leave this up (OK if he doesn't... his site and all), but I found the Hanks/Jeopardy Skit on SNL last night. Damn... funny sh*t folks! Sean Connery and the Mother Jokes... Tom Hanks! 'Catch these Men'... LOL. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDgkzDvC7kw
acslaterson writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:00:20 AM

Oh nuts, finally found a evangelinut on the site!(Big eye roll). I agree Ranger, that SNL skit was awesome! The final Jeopardy part killed me! Hahaha.
masKritic writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:14:42 AM

haha i love the pickle jar and the dry cleaning bag
BlahblahIV writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 11:39:10 AM

Who cares if the movie said f*ck you to a 2000 year old man and a mythical being?
makingcircles writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:55:30 PM

The Worm -- You must be a f*cking idiot to think Angels and Demons was going to somehow justify your silly beliefs. Dude...if you are looking for that kind of movie just check the credits and if Kirk Cameron is in it then you'll probably like it.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 2:21:53 PM

The infection was named after him I think.
akumavern writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 3:30:02 PM

Actually, Wilson tried killing him to gain the spotlight. The ending was changed and Wilson was lost forever...because Hanks KILLED HIM!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved