WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Chris Hemsworth is Marvel's "Thor"

Posted: May 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Chris Hemsworth is MarvelSubmit Comment
After much speculation, Deadline Hollywood Daily is reporting that Marvel Studios' Kevin Feige and director Kenneth Branagh have now chosen the actor to star in the upcoming "Thor" film.

That actor is Chris Hemsworth, who can currently be seen in theaters as George Kirk in JJ Abrams' "Star Trek." He was also just cast as the lead in the "Red Dawn" remake, taking the role of Jed Eckert, originally played by Patrick Swayze. Currently, he is filming Joss Whedon's horror film "Cabin in the Woods." Hemsworth is 25 years old and is 6'3 tall.

The site adds that Marvel wanted Daniel Craig to play Thor, but the James Bond actor turned it down. Kevin McKidd ("Rome") and WWE champion Triple-H were also considered. The following actors tested for the role: Charlie Hunnam ("Sons of Anarchy"), Todd Hiddleston ("The Gathering Storm"), Alexandar Skarsgard ("True Blood"), Liam Hemsworth (Chris' brother) and Joel Kinnaman.

The rest of the cast should be put together by the end of the month.

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Deadline Hollywood Daily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:13:03 AM

This would have been a VERY TOUGH character to cast (of ALL the Marvel SuperHeros).
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:17:18 AM

cool, didn't expect an aussie for the lead role, could work!
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:21:52 AM

If American's took a look of how many foreigners were in Hollywood... they'd sh*t themselves. This Thor could/should be an incredible movie! I was in comics when Walt Simonson took over THOR and re-did the art, a lot of the story... really injected some FRESH blood into the mag (#337 on if memory served) - what an amazing job he did. I hope they grab it (and 'the look') from that era.
Foop writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:35:26 AM

I was rooting for hunnam. hell of an actor.
bacci40 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:42:43 AM

mckidd wouldve been perfect...now we get the high school musical version of thor...oh joy
Ari Gold writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 3:46:43 AM

Australia is taking over superheroes! HAHA!
rocketman writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 6:45:18 AM

Wrong,wrong,wrong on so many levels.Not butch enough,too young,needs another 50 pounds of beef,and i bet he can't do the accent.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 8:11:24 AM

Is Thors alter ego meant to be sort of skinny, then when transforms inot THor he is bulky, maybe they get this to work...he is an actor, so he is way better than Triple H or John Cena
atn5022 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:47:54 AM

i really liked him in star trek, i'm excited about this casting news
acslaterson writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:03:47 AM

Cool, he has a good five inches on RDJ, now he just needs to put on weight! Time to start eating 4,500 calories and 350 grams of protein a day! Haha, cast Skarsgard or Hunnam as Fandral! Both of them could stay their current sizes and do great in the role!
acslaterson writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:07:51 AM

@Ranger, you should really check out JMS current run on Thor. It is amazing! They are only on issue 14? They started rwnunbering them a few issues ago for the 500th issue. Not a lot of action but A+ story telling. And when there is action, holy sh*t! Issue 500 was the tits!!!
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:16:50 AM

^^Agree, JMS run on Thor is f*cking stellar.
dwightschrute writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 10:37:14 AM

Dang, wanted Skarsgard for the role. Too bad.
LegacyAR writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 11:27:17 AM

While watching Star Trek, I thought that this guy should be casted as Thor!! I thought he did a great job with how much screen time he had and I can't wait to see him hammer some bitches!
acslaterson writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 12:11:08 PM

Man, I hope I don't die before this movie comes out! I will be pissed!
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 12:24:38 PM

acslaterson - lol... I hear ya. Oh... thx. for the Thor story lead. I'll look into it (seriously). If it's around Simonson's calibre... I'm in. His intro to adding fresh blood to the story... Thor fighting (and losing, thus losing his hammer to) Beta Ray Bill, was quite the story. He was laying in bed... all depressed. Odin had to go in and do the Father to Son pep talk. Good enough for a movie, I'd say.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 1:19:54 PM

I think he could do it, he looks the part and in sense of height thats another plus and again Thor dosent have to be f*cking build on muscle on muscle although he does need some (obviously) but I'm glad they have picked a good actor. I liked a few of the others they had considered above but he seems solid for the role. Thor is probably one of the hardest to cast because he's gonna be all human/god the whole time. No transforming like the Hulk and no real suit or something like Iron Man. What you see is what you get with him.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 1:24:56 PM

Skarsgard would have been better, but Dolph would be the ideal!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:05:20 PM

I don't know this Actor they have picked or Skarsgard (other than what I've read about them on their IMDB pages), so Dolph was my pick. It'll be good either way. There are too many people working behind the scenes of these movies to make these comic heroes come to life.
Dre-EL writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:58:10 PM

So I guess this means they'll be doing young thor, thus no Donald Blake.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 3:15:07 PM

No one knows what Kenneth Brannagh is going for with Thor...so if this is the guy he chose over the rest (especially McKidd!) then I'm going to have to say its the right choice. He's been painstakingly involved in the entire project- can't see him f*cking us now.
mattcl23 writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 3:33:59 PM

could work. He's tall and he has plenty of time to bulk up. doesn't take long with a hollywood trainer. and he's basically a fresh face which i think works better for these roles. it worked for superman, too bad the story took a wrong turn.
Ranger writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 3:38:52 PM

I couldn't see them leaving Dr. Blake out of the story. We need him for Thor's (obvious - weaker side) - Earth-bound storyline. Thor is a huge story to be told, but I can't see them leaving him out, it's just too great of a 'dimension' to the character, and they never leave out the 'alter-egos.'
thedotsays writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 4:29:09 PM

not a bad choice. I would have like hunnam but he's not that tall. Ehh we'll see
whoever writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 8:36:39 PM

HELL YES, I called this back in mid February - http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=12145
The Worm writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 9:09:00 PM

no thor or captian america movie! to good comics have been talked about for so long for a movie, it's not worth the risk of f*cking them up.just keep leaving clues and sh*t in other marvel movies.
Ranger writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 12:30:38 AM

Thor and Captain America are both really tough castings. Thor... well... A GOD! Size, voice... by far the toughest! Capt. America, essentially the 'hub' of the Avengers Team. No suit to hide behind like Iron Man. No CGI like the Hulk. Black Widow and Fury are just Actors (albeit the Widow is VERY fit!). But Captain America is all muscle... but big (not teenage-tiny like Peter Parker). And both Thor and Captain America's basic stories are tough(er) - WWII, and Asgard. Either of these could turn out really well... or suck bit time (I couldn't see either of them just landing in the middle somewhere). So, I can understand (although I don't like it anymore than the rest of you) why Hollywood has dodged these 2 bullets for as long as they have.
vineethchacko writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 1:37:23 AM

I think this choice could grow on me. In Marvel, I trust.
makingcircles writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 10:24:45 AM

This could work. I didn't really think he did superb in Star Trek...but I think it could work under Kenneth's direction. We shall see.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 12:38:02 AM

^^There's still something more there with this guy... I know Abrams had him deliver lines in the old "cliche scream out while things blow up behind me" deal- BUT can you deny that half of your attending audience was crying their f*cking eyes out after his scene? I can't...muthaf*cker made me misty.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved