WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp in Martin Scorsese's "Sinatra"?

Posted: May 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp in Martin ScorseseSubmit Comment
A few days ago Universal Pictures announced that it has acquired the feature film project "Sinatra" from Mandalay Pictures and has set Martin Scorsese to direct.

It was quickly reported that Scorsese wanted Leonardo DiCaprio for the title role. The duo has already worked on three previous films together (The Departed, The Aviator, Gangs of New York) and have several others (Shutter Island) lined up.

Now, DeadlineHollywoodDaily has learned that Universal is instead looking to cast Johnny Depp as Frank Sinatra after being thrilled with his performance in the upcoming "Public Enemies" film.

Even though Depp's name has been attached to just about every new project, there are several reasons why Depp may take the role. He won't need to sing, since the movie will feature Sinatra's own recordings, and this will be his first collaboration with the Oscar-winning director.

Source: DeadlineHollywoodDaily


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thedudeman69 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 6:22:55 PM

wow. Depp and Scorsase. that's all i can say.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 6:27:45 PM

hey, id see it, i think itd be awesome! and who knows johnny-boy might finally win an oscar!
coldplayesence writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 6:49:18 PM

^^ i second that, he really needs one. Hollywood own him a lot.
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 7:29:38 PM

What... you guys are turning your back on that American Gladiator film so quickly?! You're fickle!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 7:43:23 PM

depp is not a bad choice....he's already sang before and has tried with a band in the 80s....so he's got music experience a bit and i'm sure he'll give it his best as usual....and coldplayesence, that's true...hollywood needs to stop bein a vagina and give him multiple awards already
acslaterson writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 7:50:30 PM

I second the 5thBeatles statement! Finally an Oscar role for Depp!
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 7:55:01 PM

He should win it this time (if all goes through as planned). But the Oscar's is #1 for screwing the deserving winners over. I don't know who won against Tom Cruise the year he did 'Born of the 4th of July' (I'm sure they were deserving) - but young Tom was to be denied. I'm not that sure Pitt didn't deserve it over Slumdog (some say he did) - again... too young, too successful. Back in the day winning an Oscar really topped up your salary. Cruise, Depp, Pitt, etc. etc. are already at the top of their bracket. Were I in the same boat... I'd only want to win one to say I did... otherwise (seriously), I would give a sh*t.
Monroe writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:01:35 PM

I love Johnny Depp and i agree...Hollywood owes him an oscar...or two.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:16:29 PM

Hopefully, if he is cast, he actually sings Sinatra songs, just like Reese Witherspoon and Joaquin (ZZ Top) Phoenix did in 'Walk the Line', it always looks good that way!
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:28:28 PM

I'll be the Academy is licking their lips over the prospect of this film thinking: 'Mmmm... here's another deserving project, Actor, Director we can f*ck over!'
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:43:44 PM

'I'll BET' (that should have read)...
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 10:00:15 PM

awesome
dwightschrute writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 12:53:18 AM

Even better.
shadaypr writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 10:15:49 AM

I'm just worried about Sinatra's distinctive blue eyes. Besides that it sounds awesome.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 10:27:04 AM

f*ck YEAH!!! THOSE TWO TOGETHER WOULD BE f*ckING GOLD!!
AJWPProfile writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 8:42:29 PM

Epic!
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 5:22:44 PM

When I originally say this, my first reaction was "are you kidding me? It has to be Leonardo DiCaprio! And recently in a magazine I saw a poll for who should play Sinatra in the Biopic and the results were 38% for LD and 23% for JD...I still think it should be Leo. Nothing against Depp, but I just think Leo has more of a resemblance.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 9:23:44 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved