WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Working on "E.T." Sequel?

Posted: May 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Working on "E.T." Sequel?Submit Comment
The National Enquirer is reporting that Steven Spielberg and Drew Barrymore are planning to make an "ET" sequel. The paper's source stated: "Steven and Drew are being very secretive about this baby. But they want to do this project and work together. Steven has an incredible story in mind for the sequel that will bring E.T. back to earth."

Unless Spielberg has decided to proceed with a sequel in the last few days, this news seems a bit odd. He just revealed last month to Empire magazine: "I'm never going to make 'E.T. II' 'E.T.' is a closed story. It had a beginning, middle, and a definite ending, and we had nowhere to take it except to go home with him. Nor did I want to bring him back to Earth for a second time."

/Film added that back when "E.T." was having its theatrical run, Spielberg and screenwriter Melissa Mathison wrote a treatment for a sequel, titled "E.T. II: Nocturnal Fears." The story involved Elliott and his friends, who are kidnapped by evil aliens and must contact E.T. for help.

The director eventually decided to abandon the idea because it "would do nothing but rob the original of its virginity."

Source: National Enquirer, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 3:28:30 AM

It wasn't just a treatment. A full script for E.T. II: Nocturnal Fears really exists.
bacci40 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 6:06:45 AM

so will steven nuke the fridge a second time?
thedotsays writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 9:26:52 AM

I hope to gawd not. That synopsis sounds like sh*t. E.T. in a fight vs evil aliens??? C'mon.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 9:31:53 AM

ET TUE Steven Spielberg ? film is dead to me, nothing is original anymore
thomas deadison writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 10:15:33 AM

Eventually storytellers run out of stories to tell. :/
bluemeenie writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 11:49:04 AM

Yeah The National Enquirer broke this 'news'...?!?!?! No one wants this- Not even Lucasberg
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 12:02:52 PM

ET go home! I asked a girl out once... and she was in ET (Baywatch girl - you saw her jump out of the cake in 'Under Siege'). I didn't know it at the time that she was in ET - didn't know she had a boyfriend at the time either. I was misinformed by someone that WISHED she didn't have a boyfriend... f*cking prick (the guy that misinformed me... not her boyfriend!)!
Necronullus writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 12:09:37 PM

Wasn't that the ride at Universal back in the day?
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 12:28:00 PM

You mean Erica Eleniak? No, she was still acting (but yeah... I guess it depends on how you look at her).
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 12:38:11 PM

I guess since he ruined Indiana Jones for the majority of us, why not make us hate E.T.?
Blank x2 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 1:24:12 PM

What's next? Schindler's List II? I hate Hollywood more every day....
Snarebeast writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 1:46:00 PM

Lets give Steven a little bit of credit, people. The man may not be what he once was but he's not a complete moron. The chances of him working on an E.T. sequel are slim at best. He said a month ago that he would never make E.T. II, so I'm not sure why he'd go back on his word like that. I'll be surprised if it happens.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 1:49:25 PM

Can't wait for "E.T. in the Lost World that happens to be located in Kingdom of Crystal Skull."
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 1:59:59 PM

Don't laugh... you probably just gave them the idea to do that AF!
jball19 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 2:44:21 PM

look at the source,,, national enquirer. come on
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 3:25:47 PM

What... The National Enquirer isn't reliable?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 3:28:57 PM

as cool as E.T. II sounds...i'd rather not....only reason i can think of is that he'd be cgi animated...fail.....so he's right, 'would do nothing but rob the original of its virginity.'
-apocolyptic- writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 3:55:17 PM

Alien vs Predator vs ET.........thers a movie to see.
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:36:13 PM

E.T. and the Kingdom of the CGI Monkeys.
Ranger writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 8:59:58 PM

E.T and the American Gladiators VS. Mega Shark and the Giant Octopus! Don't laugh... I'll bet some boner is writing a treatment somewhere with this very idea --- actually, it's so bad... IT'S GOOD!
Adamtheflash writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 10:03:44 PM

I really think that Spielberg's influence in Indy 4 wasn't the big reason the movie failed. Lucas was mostly to blame for that sh*t
Derp88 writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 4:40:10 AM

Please don't do it
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 16th, 2009 at 1:23:25 PM

Evil aliens? yeah I doubt they would be Fire In The Sky bad lol.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 2:25:28 AM

E.T: Erotic Transmissions....Bow Chicka Wow Wow!!
The Worm writes:
on May 17th, 2009 at 3:04:10 PM

f*ckKKKKKKKKKKK NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 19th, 2009 at 11:03:36 AM

I think that glowing finger is a little too 'un-kid friendly'- I think like the guns- the glowing hot poker finger has got to go- cgi in an ice cream cone for the next ET special edition...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved