WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sylvester Stallone's "Cliffhanger" Being Remade

Posted: May 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sylvester StalloneSubmit Comment
StudioCanal has announced that it will be teaming with Neal Moritz's production company to reboot Sylvester Stallone's 1993 film "Cliffhanger." The plan is to take the original Renny Harlin-directed film and turn it into a big-budget thriller that will center on a group of young climbers.

"Just as they rebooted 'Star Trek,' we're going to do the same with 'Cliffhanger,'" said Moritz, who will produce. Unlike the original, where Italy stood in for the Colorado Rockies, the new film looks set to feature multiple cliff-face locations.

At this point, the goal is to find a screenwriter and to begin shooting the film by 2010.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 2:31:44 AM

"Just as they rebooted 'Star Trek,' we're going to do the same with 'Cliffhanger,'" --- ahh, how confused is this person?! They've TOTALLY REMADE Star Trek... and this guy is comparing that (actual REBOOT), to his movie of remaking the SAME Cliffhanger but just using different mountains?! This guy is 'name-dropping' Star Trek so people will remember the remake of Cliffhanger (oh, but with different mountains)?! f*ck me... I'm flying down to Hollyweird this week to open a 5 gallon pail of whoop-ass! Why doesn't this guy make a movie... drop the name: 'The Expendables!' and call his: 'The Unoriginals!'?
telur writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 3:59:06 AM

I bet Sylvester Stallone will have a part as cameo :P
MRW007 writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 7:04:36 AM

I HATTTEEEE REMAKES!!!!!!!!!LEAVE THE f*ckING ORIGINALS ALONE!
Bonzaitri writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 7:04:55 AM

AHAHAHA... AHAHAHAHA
OLK writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 7:33:26 AM

f*ck hollywood
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 7:35:53 AM

just don't pay to watch it...simple fix
quakes1121 writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 8:56:12 AM

Somebody needs to drop this Neal Moritz off a cliff like Stallone did to that girl in the first ten minutes of the original .... " Gabe I'm slipping, NOOOOOO !!!! ( Death )
The-BRAD writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 9:44:42 AM

too soon.. Just too soon. ..sniff..sniff..
The-BRAD writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 9:47:18 AM

But it's going to be a "darker" reboot.. Like The dark knight.. Ah! nothing like coat-tails and fads and catch phrases!
darthraige writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 11:29:28 AM

Way to kill the original. Why do people feel the need to remake great movies? How can anyone replace Travis in that movie? haha
darthraige writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 11:30:28 AM

I mean, Travers.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 11:38:52 AM

Without Stallone- this property is simply Vertical Limit....what a dumb reason to take the name for more box office....They're not even remaking the movie- just the NAME...hahaha f*ck they must think we're stupid- or dont care either way.
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 12:20:57 PM

Oh... and don't forget they're using different mountains... yay!
Luminus writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 12:56:04 PM

WTF? Does ANYONE make original movies anymore!? This is the Bad Boy Records of Hollywood why make something new, when you can just sample previous successes? lol
acslaterson writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:07:41 PM

I love the original but didn't it win multiple Razzies?
n/a writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:15:17 PM

was this even a good movie?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:18:46 PM

"They rebooted Star Trek". Well sure, but Cliffhanger isn't a f*cking franchise, now is it, genius?! It's a single film, thus a "remake". Nobody used the term "reboot" about Man On Fire either, correct?? Pay attention to the language we've all agreed on!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:18:46 PM

I didn't realize that "Cliffhanger" was somehow in the same class as "Star Trek". While were at it I think a "Rhinestone" reboot is in order...Dolly Parton's bony ass yet giants tits can make a cameo as well.
akumavern writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:49:38 PM

As a worse movie?
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:50:31 PM

AF - I met Buzz Aldrin once. So I guess I can tell everyone I'm an Astronaut now!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 2:16:09 PM

who is this guy anyway? 'just as they rebooted star trek'...i dunno if he was trying to sound up to date...but they've been rebooting and remaking movies for quite some time now....let's spread the word out so nobody pays to watch it
Ranger writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 2:27:10 PM

OH... there's already a PILE of these 'remakes' I won't spend a dime on (included when they go to rental). I've ALWAYS been a fan of 'voting with my $'s.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 2:44:07 PM

Sly don't star in this! your career would go downhill again!
vwkombi writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 7:47:35 PM

They are not remaking Cliffhanger, they are making a movie ripped from the concept of Cliffhanger and claiming it to be a remake. This has to be the dumbest sh*t i have ever heard.
jaksyn writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 12:01:52 AM

WATCH JASON STATHAM WILL BE THE STAR!!!
Eben1277 writes:
on May 15th, 2009 at 9:28:48 AM

Of all the movies to remake, why CLiffhanger?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved