WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Esquire Says "The Road" is The Most Important Movie of the Year

Posted: May 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Esquire Says "The Road" is The Most Important Movie of the YearSubmit Comment
While we all patiently wait for the upcoming Viggo Mortensen movie "The Road" to give us a trailer, Esquire magazine has already seen the entire film and has called it "The most important movie of the year."

In the film, a father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food and each other.

Here are some quotes from the review:

"It is a brilliantly directed adaptation of a beloved novel, a delicate and anachronistically loving look at the immodest and brutish end of us all. You want them to get there, you want them to get there, you want them to get there and yet you do not want it, any of it, to end."

"In every moment even the last one you'll want to know what happens next, even if you can hardly stand to look. Because The Road is a story about the persistence of love between a father and a son, and in that way it's more like a remake of The Godfather than some echo of I Am Legend."

Click here to read more about "The Road."

Click here to read the entire article

Source: Esquire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:39:38 AM

With that beard he looks like Odin! Pretty pumped for this movie, I kind of can't wait for summer to end. There are so many good movies coming out next fall!
Donald Kaufman writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:54:43 AM

I like the parallel to The Godfather, it really is about the dynamics between a father and son under strained circ*mstances. I want to see a trailer already.
thomas deadison writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 4:08:38 AM

I'm so anxious to see a trailer for this and Parnassus. Any day now...
dwightschrute writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 9:11:34 AM

Makes sense because the book was one of the best reads I've had ever.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 9:16:38 AM

Viggo rocks- I'm sure the story's great, but I've never actually read the book. Has anybody seen History of Violence? Is it worth watching?
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 10:17:20 AM

I want to love this movie, let us see it! I have complete trust in the film's director and cast. This is going to be a power house of a film.
acslaterson writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 10:54:44 AM

@ Skywalker121289, YES! Extremely violent flick, Hugo bangs his wife who is wearing her old cheerleading outfit and then again on some steps. Great movie!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:33:01 AM

Good thing Esquire isn't 'the most imporant magazine.'
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:34:13 AM

Wow! A mix of Mafia and Vampires! Sounds very "important" indeed.
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:39:52 PM

Acslaterson, you meant to say Viggo, not Hugo. Then again, I get Viggo Mortensen and Hugo Weaving (if that's who you were thinking of) mixed up every now and then when I see them with a beard. I'm way too impatient to wait until October to see this flick. THE ROAD is by far my favorite novel of all time and to see John Hillcoat as the director insures that this will be an excellent and true-to-the-book adaptation. If some of you are not familiar with John Hillcoat's work, then I strongly urge you to rent/buy THE PROPOSITION. Guy Pearce, who is the lead in that movie, has the role of THE VETERAN in THE ROAD.
Gunslinger writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:24:40 PM

Release it, already, dammit!
acslaterson writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:49:55 PM

@ JohnnyMonad86, Hahaha, thanks for catching that! I always mix up their names, every time I talk about V for Vendetta I call Hugo Viggo. Damn weird names!
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 5:39:37 PM

It looks good and I will see it, but please give the "most important movie" crap a rest. It is not vital to my existence.
shayhiri writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 8:06:01 PM

bluemeenie, how did you learn to spell? It seems highly improbable for a guy like you.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 8:34:03 PM

if this is one of his last films it will be a damn good way to end it all
bluemeenie writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 11:56:18 AM

"Highly Improbable" shayhiri that I "can spell"? I didn't know such you were sitting around calculating such "probabilities" for strangers on the internet. It seems "highly PROBABLE" that you need a life. Thanks for noticing my typo teach.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 11:58:13 AM

Did I make any more mistEAKS in the above postsst? Let me know if I did please...
MK ULTRA writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:06:00 PM

before everyone gets too excited let me clear up a few things. first: viggo mortensen needs more respect, watch history of violence and eastern promises again to see what i mean. second: read the book first so you can become as pissed off as i am. yes this is a excellent father and son tale of overcoming hardship in a drab time but making a film about it is such a f*cking waste. im not going to ruin anything for you but this is a great adventure survival story where the elements are the villians unlike a Doomsday/Mad Max/28 days later healthy movie

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved