WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How IMAX is Ripping You Off

Posted: May 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How IMAX is Ripping You OffSubmit Comment
Comedian Aziz Ansari ("Human Giant," "Parks and Recreation") posted a rant on his official blog that has spread all over the internet and outraged many moviegoers.

Ansari writers: "AMC theaters are running FAKE IMAX's and charging $5 extra for a slightly bigger screen. Boycott IMAX, AMC, and Regal. Don't let them fool you."

This started when Ansari went to see "Star Trek" at an IMAX theater, but was surprised to learn that the screen was slightly bigger than a screen at a conventional theater. Apparently this is happening at most Regal and AMC theaters, but the cinema chains continue to charge for the IMAX experience.

People at Regal and AMC have tried to differentiate the smaller screens from the giant IMAX ones by calling them IMAX Digital. And the IMAX Corporation seems to be ok with this. So if you see your local IMAX theater call their screens IMAX Digital, expect a smaller screen.

Ansari also provided a drawing that illustrates the sizes of the two IMAX screens. Click here to see it.

Source: AzizIsBored


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:48:17 PM

I would just think going to the FULL TIME, 100% GENUINE IMAX Theater (not one's that have appeared to have been 'modified for a release') would eliminate this problem.
masKritic writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:23:55 PM

Amen Ansari
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:27:08 PM

aziz is my 2nd cousin
Kal-El writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:32:03 PM

The little brown man is right!
acslaterson writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:39:37 PM

That is some shady f*cking sh*t. Money grubbing whores, now I have to check the one I go to.
thedudeman69 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:49:30 PM

motherf*cker's got a point
Gunslinger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:39:01 PM

I've been to both kinds. Batman on the smaller and I Am Legend on the bigger. There is a huge difference. At the real thing you don't mind paying double.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:48:01 PM

Wow I always go to the Lincoln Square one, when I realized there was another at the Empire 25 at Times Square I was thrilled...not so much anymore. For 16.50 that screen better be massive.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:02:41 PM

true that, I dont much care to see films on IMAX anyways
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:59:15 PM

Dang I don't go to many but that's messed up.
Planetastudios writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 11:50:08 PM

its true....Basically, a true IMAX is going into a theater, with the screen being draped over your heads like half a globe.
KaloVisor writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 12:15:59 AM

That's awful. Talk about ripping people off!.
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:08:45 AM

Planetastudios is correct... HUGE (did I already say H-U-G-E-?!) screen in a TRUE IMAX. If you've ever been in one, you'll never mistake anything else for one. True IMAX is worth the $'s (I think). If you go and pay for a theater that claims to be such that it's not. Take the standard bag of sh*t... light it and throw it at the screen (that's what I do).
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:33:27 AM

haven't been to an imax in a while....can't say they're really ripping me off lol...but yea that's terrible...watching a good movie on a huge screen is always worth it given the movie is good
prabuwiz writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 3:02:28 AM

thx ansari
Ted Mosby writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 3:09:09 AM

<~~PWN'd... i just saw Star Trek in an AMC "IMAX" theater... i thought i remembered the IMAX theaters to be a lil bigger lol damn... kudos Aziz
DeathMaster writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 7:22:59 AM

How can one compare IMAX only by the size of the screen? Are you simple? Are all of you agreeing with this clown simple? You don't pay just for a larger screen, we're talking about perfect sound that blows your hair in a new model, crystal clear images and where possible the actual only good 3D experience. If you want to enjoy a movie like you should, you pay a little more. Like most things in life.
Sinestro writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 8:49:18 AM

I've only gone to the one on 68th street on Lincoln Square.
dwightschrute writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 9:04:14 AM

man that Lincoln screen is f*cking HUGE!
Ronsauce writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 9:24:27 AM

@DeathMaster: Most people will find the sound and image quality between regular theaters and pseudo-IMAX theaters comparable. IMAX essentially means "huge as f*ck" to your average movie-goer, so this is such bullsh*t.
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 10:44:55 AM

I thought this was well known by movie lovers but obviously not by the whatever public. Still it is some shameless sh*t.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 10:56:44 AM

"my d*ck is brown, motherf*cker." LOL.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:25:46 AM

In order for it to be TRUE IMAX. The entire movie must be filmed with the c*mbersome IMAX Camera. To achieve this, 65 mm film stock is run horizontally through the cameras. While traditional 65 mm film has an image area that is 48.5 mm wide and 22.1 mm tall, in IMAX the image is 69.6 mm wide and 48.5 mm tall. (square Vs. rectangle) In order to expose at standard film speed of 24 frames per second, three times as much film needs to move through the camera each second. No major motion picture has been made filming every scene with an IMAX camera.
darthraige writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 12:49:04 PM

It's a buck more in my area and well worth the price... It's only 11.50 to see any movie in IMAX. Well worth the price. I don't know where you are getting 5 bucks from?
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:58:47 PM

IMAX - BOTTOM LINE is... you can NOT mistake an IMAX Screen for ANYthing else. When you see one for the first time, it'll blow you away. It wraps around the WHOLE theater. Where there aren't people sitting, and the projectors hole in the wall... ALL the rest is screen. Anything else is not IMAX... it's an amazing accomplishment.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 12:18:08 PM

"I don't know where you are getting 5 bucks from?" From a real city darthraige. There's a big world out there beyond your cow pasture.
tolgaboy writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 1:42:28 PM

kal el f*ck you

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved