WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writers Talks "Star Trek" Sequel

Posted: May 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writers Talks "Star Trek" SequelSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures recently greenlit a sequel to "Star Trek," which earned $76 million in box office tickets during its US opening weekend. Now, writers Roberto Orci and Alex Kurzman sat down with MTV News to talk about the second installment.

They have revealed that fans can expect characters from previous storylines, whose lives have been altered by Nero's time traveling in the first film, to return. "All the characters that existed in the universe or canon we grew up with are essentially still around in some capacity," said Kurtzman. "But their lives have been altered, so they may again intersect with our crew."

One decision that was made early on was to be able to change the destinies of major Trek characters, in order to create an "unpredictable future."

Orci added that they have already started learning and re-learning about the "Star Trek" universe. "I'm trying to read every Star Trek book I can get my hands on," he said. "We did that a lot for the first movie. I'm starting to re-immerse myself again in what's come before."

The screenwriter also ruled out further appearances for old cast members, in the way that Leonard Nimoy returned as old Spock in the new movie. "I don't think we ever need to talk about time travel again. We're stuck with this universe we're in now."

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:53:26 PM

'The screenwriter also ruled out further appearances for old cast members,...' --- Oh oh... you're boned now Shatner!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:42:02 PM

I think it would be wise to stay away from time travel now that the story has been reintroduced. It's the only thing people found reason to bitch about...and it was the simplest time travel plot I ever f*cking seen. So understandable...I pray for the Trekkies who see TimeCrimes- they'll end up overloading their brains.
Kal-El writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:42:04 PM

Ranger post counter: 1
defiant1 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:58:39 PM

This movie was even better the second time around. I am psyched for a sequel.
jaksyn writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:58:05 PM

I cant Wait!!! What Would Really be Contoversial is Having KAHN Make an Appearance lol
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:10:33 PM

hell yeah! sequel would be awesome! and it sounds like they have a valid and straight forward plan to work with. Just gotta hope JJ Abrahms comes back to direct.
Ranger writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:05:10 AM

jaksyn - don't even go there. All these re-makes are already turning my stomach. They have such a great staff/crew/Actor's with this new Star Trek... let's not taint it with old stuff. Retardo Mental-block did a fine job with the original Khan... it needn't be re-done.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:52:58 AM

i agree....the original kahn was badass....there really isn't a 'need' to bring the character back....but they'll do it anyway, it's just what happens....this new different movie prequel thing is ok...but to me, carrying on with sequels equals remaking and taking and faking lol...wow what a twisted rhyme...anyway, to me it just means a retelling is almost literally no different than a remake...reason i say that is cuz nowadays we don't see many remakes that try to copy its original exactly instead of taking a different approach with the original
dwightschrute writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 9:35:03 AM

I wanna see Khan! The perfect VILLAIN! *evil laugh*
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:46:28 AM

In the next one make "KHANNNN" the caretaker of Risa with Venessa Williams. Throw in Scotties little green pal..."Welcome to Fantasy Planet" [little green guy:"The starship!, The starship"!]
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:48:57 AM

"I'm trying to read every Star Trek book I can get my hands on," he said. "We did that a lot for the first movie. I'm starting to re-immerse myself again in what's come before."...oh oh- Don't read the ones without the Paramount seal. We'll have spock and kirk become gay lovers then...
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:56:40 AM

Khaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan!
n/a writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 1:37:00 PM

Trekkies where not the people that complained about time travel. Time travel is one of the biggest plot devises for all 5 of the S.T. series. Kahn is not the perfect villain. He was the perfect prince… that got put on ice and shot to space. He was the leader of his people, and a lot of them didn’t last after the planet shifted (plus that hot wife of his), so he wanted to go f*ck the man that put them there.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved