WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG Comments on "Terminator Salvation" PG-13 Rating

Posted: May 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG Comments on "Terminator Salvation" PG-13 RatingSubmit Comment
"Terminator Salvation" director McG defended the decision to edit the film in order to receive a PG-13 rating, even though all previous installments have been rated R.

"It just became clear that the things that would take it to an R or an NC-17 would be: There goes the arm, and now the blood is squirting on my face," said McG. "That wasn't in service of the character or the story. The elements that would have taken it to R just ended up feeling gratuitous in the editing room."

He continued: "There's a topless scene with Moon Bloodgood. But it just felt like, 'Oh, there's the genre stunt of the good-looking girl taking her top off.' And it felt counterproductive in the spirit of what we were looking to achieve on a storytelling level."

McG added that the topless scene may end up on DVD.

The director also mentioned that ultimately he wanted younger audiences to be able to see the film as well. "Truthfully, I'm pleased, because I know when I was 14, 15 years old, I wouldn't want a guy busting my chops, keeping me from seeing the movie that I ultimately wanted to see," he explained. "Ultimately, we were able to make exactly the film we wanted to make without any compromise whatsoever, and it happened to garner the rating it got."

Click here to read our exclusive "Terminator Salvation" preview.

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:45:19 PM

thats alright i don't want those topless scenes because lately it comes off as a desperate attempt for people to watch. Violence is awesome though i enjoyed that in the previous Terminator films.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:55:55 PM

f*ck you McG. What kind of f*cking name is that anyway? f*ck
MRW007 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:10:20 PM

Terminator 2: Judgement Day....the one and only best terminator movie ever made. they should have left james cameron's movie alone.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:33:35 PM

I hear christian bale has a topless scene... i just puked a little in my pants.
acslaterson writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:46:52 PM

Man I hate this guy, him and bay's stupid little feud has increased my hatred for both of them. I hope he didn't f*ck this up, if he did I am going to track him down when I move to LA and roshamboing the f*ck.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:11:06 PM

i don't care about rating...just as long as it is good
Gunslinger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:47:35 PM

Does anyone really think that a topless scene and some gore would make the movie any better or worse than T2, in which little Eddie Furlong whined like a b*tch through half the damn picture and everyone except Arnold and Robert Patrick kept their clothes on? As long as the story is good and the special effects and acting are up to snuff, what does it matter?
Gunslinger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:49:32 PM

Also, my nephew is ten and I can't wait to take him to see this. I'm glad it's a little toned down.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:18:42 PM

minus boobs = :( but all in all who cares this movie will have so much awesome action that we wont miss them
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:21:15 PM

also, really there was no need for gore either this isnt a slasher film for gods sake its robots and people and guns not knives and f*cking every which way. Not teens in the woods and all that. So it makes sense not to have any of that so cut McG some slack in wanting to make it ya know... good for Terminator
coldplayesence writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:29:36 PM

How come that Terminator and T2 were rated R and did'nt sucked?
acslaterson writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:44:09 PM

Remember that spike through the head/milk container? That was the coolest scene ever and an R rated scene. Guarantee you won't be talking about one particular death scene in this movie. I am still pumped for it though!
Skywalker121289 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 11:00:44 PM

I'm glad that McG is considering the plot abvove all else- anyway, most of the really great movies don't involve very gatuitous scenes- they subtract from the mood of the movie.
Blueyedragon writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 11:10:08 PM

I'll wait 4 the dvd.
DisasterBlaster writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 11:51:23 PM

Yeah, we wouldn't want a lot of violence in a movie where there is all out war. In my opinion, dont f*ck with a rating that was working. You want pg-13, go see Transformers or some sh*t. And since when has an R rating stopped kids from going to see it anyway? I saw more kids at Friday the 13th than I did adults.
acslaterson writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 12:09:42 AM

I was hoping for first 15 minutes of Saving Private Ryan meets Terminator, how f*cking cool would that have been!
acslaterson writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 12:11:59 AM

And f*ck young kids! I had to watch Toy Story 2 instead of End of Days because I got busted. They can go see some animated sh*t like I did! Hahaha.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:15:16 AM

haha...i remember watching r-rated movies at a young age....it's funny how people who got in really bad trouble blame movies cuz i wasn't stupid enough to do too many stupid things...stupid lol...but yea watching those bad movies were kinda fun...it beat watching the same crappy kiddy sh*t all the time...never could get enough of 'friday' lol...was just talking about chris tucker in 'the fifth element' lol...cracks me up all the time in that one
brazzmunkie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 3:27:26 AM

Ahh yes, the glorious rating of PG-13. Provocative is this rating with its moderate language and mild drug content. Taunting us with its explicit nudity (side boob) and throwing intense violence in our faces. A TOAST to PG-13 and its ability to lure ages no younger than 13 unless supervised by an adult. If you were a woman, I'd take you to a fancy dinner and then maybe to a PG-13 movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 10:21:55 AM

I want it to be gritty and I don't need over the top violence or nudity. Bring it on, but MCG better not brick.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:10:07 AM

All I hear is excuses excuses excuses. The film may be entertaining, but come on.. we're not stupid, you corporate drone. You edited it down for the money. Name one kid who was EVER not able to see a movie because of it's high rating? They WILL find a way. McG, I was willing to give you the benefit of the doubt, but f*ck you. How do you sleep at night? Maybe next you could co-direct with Paul W.S. Anderson, another studio kiss ass.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:37:42 AM

"McG added that the topless scene may end up on DVD." On the front cover even...? He forgot to mention that, 'her top falls off and then blood squirts up in her face'. I'm with ya who wants to see that.
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:38:52 AM

MYVAGHURTZ how do you "puke in your pants"? Are you wearing them on your head?
bluemeenie writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 11:41:43 AM

McG forgot to add that he (and studio) gets 3x as much BO $$$ from a PG-13 Vs. and R rating. And it's pure crap that there was even ever a consideration for it to be edited and viewed with an NC-17 rating. Not unless it was going to be titled, 'Termintor: Sodomy'
Gunslinger writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 2:22:36 PM

Jesus, you guys. Some of you sound like Republicans who are bitter because Obama won. It's just a movie, no need to throw tea parties. If you don't wanna see it, don't. The promos look bad-ass enough to me.
BurmaShave writes:
on May 13th, 2009 at 4:20:27 PM

McGay

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved