WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

William Shatner's "Star Trek" Cameo Revealed

Posted: May 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
William ShatnerSubmit Comment
JJ Abrams previously revealed that he couldn't include William Shatner in the new "Star Trek" film, because he couldn't find a way to bring back a dead Kirk. Instead, he offered Shatner a cameo, but Shatner turned it down, stating that he wanted a larger role. But what kind of cameo would it have been?

io9 chatted with writers Robert Orci and Alex Kurtzman and asked him just that. "We had a scene with Shatner," said Orci. "We wrote it, it was in the script."

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Kurtzman revealed: "The very last scene when Spock and Spock meet each other, finally. And elder Spock is convincing young Spock that he couldn't interfere, because it would have diverted [Kirk and Spock] away from their friendship. And that their friendship is the key to the whole sort of shebang. He [elder Spock] said, 'Don't take my word for it.' And he handed him [younger Spock] a little holographic device and it projected Shatner. It was basically a Happy Birthday wish knowing that Spock was going to go off to Romulus, and Kirk would probably be dead by the time."

Orci added: "It turned into a voiceover, at the end of the movie."

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:50:40 AM

I love the job Shatner did in Star Trek (it was right/proper for his time - fate - he did it up right). But honest to God he's difficult. He wanted a bigger role?! Get over yourself... you're DEAD for one! You time has past (for 2), and (I'm sure not) last, give these new Actor's a clean slate. Even writing his book 'Star Trek Memories' (back when he wrote it), Leonard Nimoy and Nichelle Nicols weren't fans of his. Doohan wasn't even talking to him. And he is STILL pulling this sh*t?! Like that show: 'How William Shatner changed the Universe' - we ALL know he had to have his name in the title for him to do it. And the show in the first few minutes sees him explaining that it was actually 'Star Trek' that made ('changed' is a weird thing to say when describing) history. Shatner must be the most insecure of all the insecure actor's EVER. He turns down the cameo here... thus he's not in it at all. Yeah, nice work Bill... you really taught everyone a lesson... Putz!
UraharaShop writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 2:23:28 AM

Well said, Shatner's a diva of the worst kind.
Eben1277 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:01:32 AM

George Takei would never pull that sh*t
jaksyn writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:55:30 AM

Why...Cant...Iii..Have.Aa...Biggerah...Role!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:13:07 AM

When shooting Shatner with phaser, you gotta change the settings from stun to "lipo" LOL.
dex12 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:37:56 AM

saw startrek twice, didn't even miss shatner, coolest startrek movie ever.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:41:55 AM

Thx... nice posts as well.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:13:31 PM

...and now Shatner kicks himself. Think of how much more he could promote that crappy book of his if he just gracefully followed other people's ideas and did the cameo........PLUS young Kirk could see what a bloated fat sh*t he becomes and do all he can to stop that outcome.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:26:10 PM

i know cameos are short but geez....that's like taking a minute to prepare for a minute long shoot
bacci40 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:27:23 PM

shatner still insists he was never offered a cameo
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:31:04 PM

And best of all, Shatner would have come out of this without looking like a complete ass... even generous, gracious possibly. A classy 'passing of the torch' without all the suckage we saw in the 'Generations' movie. Gassspppp.... wheeezzzeeee.... 'it was fun' (and.... fade out... forever!).
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:34:07 PM

bacci40 - we'll never know. Personally... I'm not a fan of them (remember... ugh... Starsky & Hutch - gag?!). But if JJ did offer it to him... and the movie is this good, sure Shatner would deny it. Were he never offered it... I could see why. He has this exact reputation for the past 40+ years. Yeah... we'll never know the truth (but could understand more that JJ wouldn't have to lie, and Shatner being a d*ck, than listening to Shatner's side of his story).
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:43:58 PM

bacci- Shatner still insists that Takei never invited him to his wedding either...not going was the only way he could bring attention to himself. Personally I feel its the same case here for Star Trek. He got invited, and stayed out of it to get more press. I mean here he is days after Takei's marriage saying the man has "a sickness" against him. http://www.timessquaregossip.com/2008/10/william-shatner-lashes-out-at-castmate.html NOW THAT'S AN ATTENTION WHORE.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:51:00 PM

Pay attention at 2:00- I mean Takei should stop and have an epiphany and say "Poor Bill?"............and the ONLY person who made a big deal out of it was Shatner. Takei only responded to his bullsh*t. Shatner is an old blowhard who needs to have am epiphany- some people dont like rude, arrogant fat people and choose to detach themselves from the sort.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:09:17 PM

Yeah... I think Shatner has had his head up his ass for so many decades, he's oxygen deprived, and it's giving him memory problems.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:17:22 PM

I enjoy his performances, especially in his senior years now, as do a lot of people- he just needs to accept that he's already secured his legacy in a number of ways. We're not going to f*cking forget you Bill!
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:22:49 PM

He won't let us!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 3:55:03 PM

And a funny thing is he TOOK A CAMEO IN A "STAR WARS" FANATIC MOVIE...I guess this Star Trek canon he is so strongly wanting to be involved in was served better by being in the film Fanboys....which again is for STAR WARS fans...and basically sh*ts on Trek every chance it gets. Awesome movie though haha.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 4:06:06 PM

I didn't even know he was in those shows (haven't seen them), which even furthers my theory that he feels like Star Trek OWES him something (and not the other way around). With his acting, were it not for Star Trek he sure as hell wouldn't have the horse ranch he has and he sure as hell wouldn't be in Boston Legal (maybe TJ Hooker though...LOL!)!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 5:17:46 PM

Maybe he found the cameo on Priceline, but didn't bid high enough for it...
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 5:20:51 PM

And he's done cereal commercials. But he has too much pride to do a Star Trek cameo?! WTF?!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:00:31 PM

Really- I think he's bitter that they wrote Kirk's origin story before he did in that new Star Trek novel of his (which he's aiming at that diehard trekker fanbase he despises so much)...so he completely snubbed the new film hoping some fans would buy his crap thinking it was the more compelling version of "what happened"...and I doubt we'll see "Collision Course" on the NY Times Bestseller list.
Kal-El writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 7:35:15 PM

I would have enjoyed that scene. Spock/Kirk's relationship always got me in the original movies. I balled when Spock died in II.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:09:51 PM

We all did my friend (but I told my lady friend I just plucked a nose hair).
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:17:37 PM

really glad they didnt do that.. it makes sense but at the same time not so much
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:31:31 PM

really though if they had to have put Shatner in there it shouldve been in some cross over of the two times like that but again, good they didnt end it like that with how awesome that film was

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved