WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Titanic" Stars Help Last Titanic Survivor

Posted: May 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Titanic" Stars Help Last Titanic SurvivorSubmit Comment
The last survivor of the sinking of the Titanic in 1912 is getting a hand from Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet. The "Titanic" stars, along with director James Cameron, have contributed to a $30,000 fund for Millvina Dean, 98.

The stars came forward after an appeal by photographer Don Mullan in the Sunday edition of the paper. Mullan had asked the stars and director of 1997 blockbuster to help Millvina, who has struggled with her nursing home bills.

Millvina was the ill-fated ship's youngest passenger - only nine weeks old upon being carried unto the Titanic from Southampton, England - and is now its last remaining survivor.

The photographer had been selling a limited edition shot, entitled "Still Surviving," of Millvina's hands signing an autograph in order to raise funds for her, and decided to reach out to the "Titanic" stars to pitch in. The photo is part of a new exhibition of his called "A Thousand Reasons for Living."

"I figured that if the edition sold out, it would secure Millvina for a full year. My plan, however, was to double the impact and thereby secure her for two years. I decided, therefore, at the opening of the exhibition, to publicly challenge James Cameron, Leonardo DiCaprio, Kate Winslet, 20th Century Fox and Celine to match me dollar for dollar," Don told the Independent.

He is still waiting on a response from Celine, who won an Oscar for the film's theme song, "My Heart Will Go On," and the film's studio, 20th Century Fox.

Source: Yahoo!


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 9:08:24 PM

He 'challenged' them to donate as opposed to just asking?! What a Pud! Good cause or not... just ask.
dwightschrute writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 9:43:17 AM

yep and next week Jon Voight & Jennifer Lopez gives a helping hand to anaconda victims
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:24:47 PM

Ohhh- I thought they assisted her suicide. 98 years old- the Lord must of forgot about her. "Here's 90.000 annnnd drown the bitch."
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:10:53 PM

lol... they'd only need a pillow for that. The $90K is for the party afterward.
n/a writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:55:09 PM

you dudes are f*cked up... and if you live to be 98 you would still want every day just like her
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 2:35:21 PM

Oh I'll go on a killing spree long before that and taken out by SWAT my friend!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 3:51:49 PM

She cant even remember anything about that day- she was an infant. My problem with all this money is why her welfare is more important than any other 98 year old in the country? Put her in public nursing wards- does she deserve high class luxury while she sits and sh*ts in a bed like any other women her age? "I was there- can't remember a thing- nothing to offer historians- but hook me up with $30 000 x the number of fmaous people who actually fall for this horse sh*t.".......They made a fictional movie- they shouldn't be challenged to support a woman they dont know just because they made a movie featuring the ship she was on. Why didn't they challenge RMS Titanic INC to do the same?....The Smithsonian? Model companies that make million from fascinated people. BUT certainly RMS Titanic Inc could have been approached seeing how they're directly linked to the ship itself...Yeah...gold digging from people who dont know you is shameful no matter what your age is. f*ck her- I'll be an insensitive *sshole to her situation all I want.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 4:46:01 PM

'...while she sits and sh*ts in a bed like any other women her age?' --- lol!
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 4:55:37 PM

You take Compassion 101
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 5:30:04 PM

lol no- but my mom and I had to pay for my grandmother's care and she lived well...So all I can say coming from a hardworking family "What the f*ck is her lazy family doing?" Anyways I found some quotes from this woman: "The Titanic was a tragedy which tore so many families apart. I lost my father and he lies on that wreck. I think it is disrespectful to make entertainment of such a tragedy."....hmmmmm changed her mind once she had a respiratory infection though and challenged the makers of such entertainment to support her....sigh again- No family at 98? Useless.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 5:37:40 PM

I mean...even the world worst c*nt has a grandkid who throws a scratch ticket and a shot of rum at the poor doll every now and again...
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:20:54 PM

They should put her in that new show: 'I'm a Celebrity... get me out of here!' - it's off to the jungle with you lady!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on May 14th, 2009 at 12:26:12 PM

"Titanic" Stars Help Last Titanic Survivor" They giver her a copy of the DVD-then she kills herself.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved