WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zachary Quinto Couldn't Do the Vulcan Salute in "Star Trek"

Posted: May 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zachary Quinto CouldnSubmit Comment
The makers of the new "Star Trek" film ran into a small problem when they cast Zachary Quinto as Spock. It turned out that the actor had trouble with the Vulcan salute, stating that he found it impossible to form his fingers into the distinctive V-shaped gesture. "It's much harder than it looks," he said.

While on set, insiders say that "Zach could do the salute some of the time but only after he'd positioned his fingers the right way off-camera."

So the experts on the $150 million blockbuster came up with a low-tech solution; they glued his fingers together. "In some scenes he has to do the salute while speaking his lines so they ended up using skin-protective superglue, like they use in hospitals, to stick his fingers together," said the Daily Telegraph.

William Shatner, who played Captain Kirk in the long-running TV show and the first seven Star Trek films, was also unable to do the salute, so he used fishing line to tie his fingers together.

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: Daily Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 6:19:06 PM

Hahaha. Thats crazy.
i3u7n5 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 6:51:33 PM

"solute". Really?
MK ULTRA writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:15:42 PM

is this a f*cking joke?
bacci40 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:23:05 PM

quinto is a spazz
Pepeman writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:27:48 PM

What, this is bullsh*t, ive seen him do it in interviews...
ddschneider1972 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:28:47 PM

I bet he can spell it though...the author obviously can't.
akumavern writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:47:58 PM

Wow. When I solute people I use K-Y...
Ranger writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 8:06:31 PM

I 'solute' when I want to carry the little lady like a 6-pack.
Ranger writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 8:07:44 PM

Maybe Zack old boy should go to Temple. That's where Nimoy saw it first and adopted it. Think Jewish Mr. Gant... you must think Jewish!
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 8:34:55 PM

Bullsh*t. It's super-easy to do, and like someone else said, I've seen Quinto do it with no difficulty.
alexgi writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 9:32:00 PM

The spelling error has been fixed.
Ranger writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 9:47:08 PM

Well that's no fun.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 9:52:26 PM

all that aside he was PERFECT! for Spock! damn that movie was damn good!!
lost_addict writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 10:49:08 PM

that salute is dumb anyway...
AP102390 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 11:55:34 PM

i call bullsh*t on this article.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:33:32 AM

I could be true. In the 60's episode 'Amok Time' the crusty old bat on Vulcan had to place her fingers apart on her thigh (off camera) to get them right. Even if people have seen Zach do it in interviews, he may have done the same thing. I'm self-taught (see: 6-pack carrying post above).
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 8:59:10 AM

He's gonna give Uhraua "The Spocker"!! That's how he got her first name in the movie.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 10:44:48 AM

I thought it was the: 'Vulcanian Clit Yank!'?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 11:35:48 AM

Ranger - He could just hit her with a "c-buster" and call it a day...
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 12:26:48 PM

So, you're a Member of the C-Word Club as well eh? I thought I saw you at the last meeting!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:32:53 PM

Ranger - Hell yeah I was at the last meeting I signed in under my stage name: "mike hunt" We gonna start making jackets too.
Ranger writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 1:52:14 PM

I was there wearing the white carnation and selling the 'C-Club ROCS!' buttons under the name Phil McCracken.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 10:43:28 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved