WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" Box Office Results

Posted: May 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" Box Office ResultsSubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures' "Star Trek" grossed over $76 million in its domestic box office debut, including $4 million in Thursday night shows. JJ Abrams' reboot of the classic sci-fi franchise came in on the upper end of expectations, and all but guarantees that the studio will pursue a next installment.

"Star Trek" took a bite out of 20th Century Fox holdover "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," which debuted to $87 million last weekend, the best opening of the year. But it fell a steep 68% in its second week to $27 million from 4,102 theaters for a 10-day domestic total of $129.6 million.

Summit Entertainment's "Next Day Air," the weekend's other wide opener, struggled to find an audience. Urban comedy grossed $4 million from 1,138 theaters.

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:42:24 PM

for 'next day air'....that's what happens when you have it compete with hit movies like star trek...you just can't expect people to flock to that instead....i hope they knew that...but at least it was being watched
jaksyn writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:44:32 PM

WOOT WOOT! STAR TROK!
Dre-EL writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:47:24 PM

The movie Gods prediction came true, they are all knowing.
acslaterson writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:50:55 PM

Star Trek was awesome! 9 out of 10. The only thing I didn't like was the choppy begining when they were kids. Like why did Kirk steal that car and who was the guy he was talking to at the beginning of the scene? Also, what happened to his mother? Maybe I am missing something because I am not a Trekkie. Was there any Easter eggs that a Trekkie would notice and not a newbie?
Dre-EL writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:51:08 PM

To synthetic1985: The same thing happen to ST Nemis which opened with one of the Harry Potters and Lord of the Rings.
flymikei writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 4:00:33 PM

next day air was a good movie it had funny moments it was smart comedy one of the best movies of year cant wait for the d.vd thank u worstprevws 4 covering next day air
froman writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 4:56:41 PM

i actually thought it would beat wolverine in the opening weekend,because i saw it on friday,and i thought it was a 10/10,i thought it was increidble,and i hated star trek befor i saw it,but i really thought it was incredible
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 4:59:30 PM

People may have been paring off some of their funds for that obligatory Mother's Day card/gift.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 7:24:25 PM

Star Trek was amazing! it was so good, the casting & their performences blew me away! loved it!!
masKritic writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 8:39:38 PM

i thought it would do better but thats just me. It was amazing and critcally acclaimed so im sure in wont drop 68% like that sh*tty Wolverine film did. Seriously when i saw star trek i totally forgot about Xmen origins: Wolverine.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 8:52:29 PM

Soooo...They don't count Mother's Day in the grosses? I'm sure it's well into the 80's and onto the 90's after tonight...Wait until Monday...geeez.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 8:54:26 PM

And Acslaterson- it was his step fathers's car...
DNAonherCHIN writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 8:59:39 PM

FIRST LEMME SAY THAT WOLVERINE WA NOT sh*tTY...IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE ...WE REALLY ENOYED IT..NEXT DAY AIR SHOULD OF GONE DIRECT TO DVD...WHY A STUDIO WOULD WASTE THE TIME ON IT IS BEYOND ME...I'M SEEING STAR TREK NEXT WEEK...WOLVERINE WAS PERFECT...IT SET THE STAGE...IT WAS HIS "ORIGIN" YOUR NOT GONNA SEE EVERYTHING YOU WANNA SEE IN IT...IT'S A 2 HOUR MOVIE...WHY DON'T THE SCYFY CHANNEL REALLY DO SOME COMICBOOK SERIES INSTEAD OF THESE DUM TV MOVIES.
dhkenobi writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 9:45:27 PM

DNA, it seems that you left your caps lock on when you posted that. It seems it was accidental. Otherwise it might have been on purpose to make yourself appear to be a lot more important than you actually are. Wolverine was not perfect. Not even close, was watchable.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 10:35:40 PM

lmao ^^^
Gunslinger writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 10:36:27 PM

Scyfy can't afford the rights to comics that people would actually want to see, and Wolverine had a lot lacking, like gore, comic violence instead of cartoon violence, and a decent explanation as to how he ended up with flat knives for claws instead of metal coated bone-shaped things. It was pretty much a kid's movie, and for what it was, it was okay, but this guy's a brutal killing machine with animal instincts who can't even smell the difference between human and pig's blood. What are we, stupid?
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 2:47:58 AM

*curls up in a ball crying out loud baby herman style* 'NO APOCALYPSE!! WHAAA!!! WHAAAAAAA!!!! MY DOOBIE!! er DOOGIE!!' lol
wonderBOY writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 2:49:18 AM

nxt week is angel and demons
dwightschrute writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 10:06:48 AM

man I just hope it holds strong against next weeks Angels + Demons.
Kal-El writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 2:10:16 PM

Can't believe Wolverine pulled in more cash than this in an opening. I guarantee ST will outperform Wolverine's second weekend. @synthetic, urban comedies DO NOT compete with tent pole/popcorn extravaganzas, and no one intends that they will compete. Urban comedies target a small, niche audience and you can find them in theater 24, all the way at the end of the hall.
Figwit1216 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 2:26:09 PM

Firstly, I saw Midnight showings of this and Wolverine, and Star Trek was at least worth my money. Wolverine was just crap, but I blame Fox for that. I really enjoyed Star Trek, even though I am certainly not a Trekkie and I didnt get a lot of it, but it was so much fun to watch. And to whoever is saying the should figure Mother's Day into the weekend tally.... haha. wow. Firstly, Sunday is never counted in the weekend, it's generally not a big movie going day, and I HIGHLY doubt Star Trek is a movie a lot of moms will want to see on Mother's Day. haha. Sure, I am SURE there are some Star Trek loving moms out there!! But I dont think it's going to effect the weekend tally much. ;) Trekkies, rest easy, your film is better that Wolverine, people noticed that one was crap and they're noticing Star Trek was pretty cool. ;) I think is has a fighting chance against Angels and Demons. It might not beat it next weekend, but it would expect it to be a close number 2 for sure.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 5:19:07 PM

SEE I TOLD YOU FUKING TREKKIES this movie is not for you this is for the cool people i hope some trekkie see the real deal no more crapy movie of star trek its time tomake the things right HAHAHA die trekkies die
usualclerk writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 7:31:05 PM

Just so you know "FIGWIT". Sunday is a weekend day and it is included in the total. With the Thursday night numbers AND Sunday, Star Trek did $79 million. They do an estimate for Sunday figures and an "official" number comes out Monday afternoon.
Horatiohornblower writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:14:17 PM

Trueman, theres just so much in your post worth ripping into, if only you were worth the time to type it. Youre not. And just to let you know, if you think youre the definition of "cool" then I'd hang with the Trekkies ANY day.
Horatiohornblower writes:
on May 12th, 2009 at 6:16:57 PM

BTW, I think if Trek & Wolverine swapped release dates, they would also have swapped their box office figures. A combination of Mothers Day (I know a family that could only go on Sundays, but since it was Mothers Day..), the first "big" release of the season, and people who only see one film every so often, make the first film have an advantage. Not huge, but say about 7mil difference or so, just as the difference b/t Trek & Wolverine. Oh, and not to mention word of mouth, since I found Wolverine to be embarrassing and childish, and Trek to be much better than I expected.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved