WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Todd McFarlane Reveals New "Spawn" Details

Posted: May 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Todd McFarlane Reveals New "Spawn" DetailsSubmit Comment
"Spawn" creator Todd McFarlane previously revealed that he is currently trying to decide which direction to take the new "Spawn" film. He is leaning toward making a low-budget PG-13 horror film, instead of a big blockbuster, in order to keep some creative control.

Now, McFarlane tells MTV News about some of the ideas he has about bringing "Spawn" back to the big screen, low-budget style.

"To me, it's more along the lines of 'Jaws,' where you didn't see [the shark] for half the movie, and then you caught glimpses of him," he explained. "Jaws was somewhat fantastic in that movie, and to keep it low-budget I can't have spaceships and super-villains and all that stuff."

He continued: "You're not going to get an [origin story] with a rubber costume. As a matter-of-fact, you'll never see Spawn in his full regalia, because to me, he's more of a sentinel, like a living shadow. I've shown the artwork [to potential investors] and he's all black; he doesn't look exactly like what people have seen in the comic book."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 6:23:02 PM

So Spawn without the Spawn? Ummm... interesting.
acslaterson writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 6:24:58 PM

Then call it something other than Spawn you stupid sh*t. God this guy pisses me off.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 7:00:23 PM

lol...
FanboyXP writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 7:03:24 PM

wtf?
BREALZ writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 7:06:28 PM

so will it be a cloverfield type spawn. WTF, i be could watching and get the same effect and not spend the money.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 7:16:18 PM

So were not going to get an origin story? because you don't want anyone to touch your character huh? well your not getting my F*%#*#! money!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 8:35:57 PM

He's going about this the wrong way. If its not an origin movie and you aren't showing him off as the established Spawn, you Mr. McFarlane are setting yourself up for failure.
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:01:08 PM

yea what a sell out....changing the look of the character especially after there has already been a movie means i won't pay to watch it unless it's on tv
bacci40 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:11:38 PM

this is funny...the toddler is about to rape his own creation...well, it cant be worse then the first movie...can it?
LegacyAR writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:33:06 PM

acslaterson, I'm right there with you. Why make a Spawn movie without Spawn? Stupid
acslaterson writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 10:59:41 PM

^^^I think the guy has lost his balls and doesn't want to piss off the churchies and is just going to turn him into a generic monster. I want the war between heaven and hell and Spawn in the middle killing Angels and Demons. Too bad that will never happen. sh*t, bring back the animated series on HBO! I would rather watch that then this half assed teeny bopper pleasing sh*t fest.
Ranger writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 12:12:39 AM

If he did do a story like that he'd make a frickin fortune like Mel did with his movie (stirring up the church and anti-Christ people). Not a bad idea at all acslaterson.
MrSammich writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 1:09:34 AM

He has been saying this sh*t for years... shut up and do it or just shut up and let someone else do it you f*ck. Nobody cares how you feel about the movie, we just want a movie close to the comics that you created, and those weren't anything like the movie you are trying to describe you f*cking *sshole, I want another Spawn movie one closer to the HBO show, stop the f*cking dreaming and make the f*cking movie or let someone else do it, your dreams don't entertain me until they become something tangable like a book, comic, or movie. And listening to you blabber about it for the last six years has become very annoying, put up or shut up!
TGDirector writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 1:16:52 AM

I do like his thinking though. He's trying to be smart. Rather have creative control than having none at all with a big budget. I see where he's going with the project overall but where he goes, creatively with the project is in questions right now.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 1:35:02 AM

Like MrSammich said.
Gunslinger writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 7:18:55 AM

"...he's like a sentinal, like a living shadow..." Like a Dark Knight, maybe?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 12:07:19 PM

Dose he think we want to see a low budget Spawn? because I guarantee if fans were given the choice everyone would tell him to F*#*@ing let someone else do it.
MordhouseMD writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 6:41:51 PM

dumb ass sh*t!!! wtf
majorziggy writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 2:53:06 PM

i'm happy to hear that he's going low budget and not doing something retarded like giving it fox to ruin, but it sounds like he's doing it just so he can ruin it himself. spawn and pg-13 just shouldn't be in the same sentence, the reason for going lowbudget is so you can getaway with more brutality and language and keep it true to it's origins, why go lowbudget if ur just going to do what a big budget movie would do?
scarface85 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 4:19:33 PM

wow this will unevitably suck ass
BlueMobius writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 6:59:27 PM

Oh man you guys are all cracking me up! This is the creator of the original concept. He saw what happened when they threw money at it and it sucked all kinds of ass. If he wants to reinvent the hero (something he's done time and again in the books anyway), I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Also, I don't NEED the same old Spawn--I've got the animated series for that. Seriously, you guys all get pissy about the remakes Hollywood spits out and when an original creator comes forward and says he doesn't want to just remake the same old sh*t, you jump all over him. Most of you will probably go see it anyway so get the pacifier out of your mouth and grow up! :)
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 7:51:58 PM

so in other words, its gonna be total sh*t like the 1st one... f*ck that! this dudes an idiot! Spawn has the potential to be so f*cking badass but oh nope, he's gonna p*ssy him down to a level that onle 11 year olds can enjoy
Movieboyy writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 10:14:49 AM

Fail.
Satan Kid writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 1:10:34 PM

*YAWN* Its gonna suck worse then the sh*tty cape-less version from the 90's.Here you have a pretty straight forward concept(hells warrior/sold his soul blah blah) and for some reason they keep screwing with the formula. In the 90's it was as if they hired an entire cast NOT to act. Now Im gonna sit through a movie and NOT see the title charcter. Heres an idea: hang Todd Mc Farlane by his balls. Now thats something I'll pay 10.50 to see
mattcl23 writes:
on May 11th, 2009 at 3:34:51 PM

?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved