WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Star Trek" - What Did You Think?

Posted: May 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Star Trek" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After years of waiting, the new "Star Trek" film is now in theaters. And since many of you have already seen it, let us and other moviegoers know what you thought by writing a quick comment below.

Director JJ Abrams promised that his new installment in the franchise is not only for the "Star Trek" fans, but for anyone interested in a great story and a big-budget film.

In addition to your comments, tell us if you've been a fan of the old "Star Trek" films and/or shows.

Click here to read our "Star Trek" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 1:35:41 AM

Showing boobs is never a bad idea.
takai writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 1:57:23 AM

It says "Forget Everything" and "This isn't your Father's Star Trek" for a reason. It's good for what it is, but not for Trekkies
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:10:51 AM

I don't like it because it's full of crappy teen actors *like they would ever be the main crew on a ship lol* yeah right. That's like letting that Wesley kid on The Next Generation be captain!
borat writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:14:38 AM

why did captain kirk have to die?
Aido4258 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:05:15 AM

I thought it was great.
vwkombi writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:16:19 AM

I liked it. It had a fantastic script, a great cast and fantastic special effects. I was very dissapointed however with the direction of most of the action scenes. I give it 8/10. I am not a Trekkie either. I have never watched an episode of Star Trek in my life and the only other movie i saw was Nemesis.
rykerwt writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 5:11:49 AM

About teen Actors i say the Movie plays on the Academy. It make no sense to take an Actor who's 40 Jears old. I am Trek Fan and i can't find anything where i must say oh that was crap.It was very good Entertainment nothing more and nothing less
UraharaShop writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 6:03:24 AM

I know some people just want to bitch because it makes them sound like a true fan, but the movie was seriously good. Overall it was well acted, well written, and well executed all around. I'd say it was about an 8.
Luigima! writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 6:27:58 AM

i am new to the Star Trek franchise, and to be honest it was a fantastic summer ride, i can't say that i have complaints :) J.J. always provides.
burpie writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 6:59:42 AM

8 out of 10 by a non-Trekkie. Great Entertainment...
Pepeman writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 7:23:45 AM

i agree with Ranger, boobs equals eyes on boobs, which then equals to party in ones pants. - Well, to be fair, depends on the boobs...or wait, no it doesn't !- saggy, perky, round, flat, huge, small, manly, All boobs are great. Say it with me: Boobs are the tits.
Forrest75 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 8:31:32 AM

I didn't like it. But, also, I haven't seen it. It was really good.
quakes1121 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 8:34:23 AM

Good movie. Kirk like you have never seen before, getting his ass straight beat !! The Best part of the movie is hand down the Kobiyashi Maru.
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:08:12 AM

Die die trekkies die star trek is no more for loosers, gays, nerds now is for the cool people hhahaha go and be fans of hanna montana you should call montakkies
Eben1277 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:20:40 AM

Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 10:49:06 AM

Pepeman... lol. I agree, as this movie is of the Academy years all the actors should have been this young (Simon Pegg isn't, but neither was Scotty), and I'm a Trek Fan from long, long ago. I'm not afraid of change... and Trek needed refreshing. I haven't seen the movie yet, but from all I've read and seen of the trailers it's going to be nice to see something a lot more than what can usually be compared (of a S.T. movie) is just another 90-min. TV episode made for the theater. I'm looking forward to this one, and glad they FINALLY made one (like Star Trek 4) that would appeal to a base outside of regular Trekdom. And JJ Abrams... great job by the looks of it. How old is that guy... like 17?! lol. Great job though. Fresh blood, fresh ideas.
MBN42 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:15:31 AM

I'm not sure why people keep saying "teen actors". Sure Anton Yelchin turned 20 in March, but Karl Urban is 37, Chris Pine is 29, and pretty much the rest of the main cast is over the age of 25. Now, I'm no math genius, but I'm pretty sure that any age over 20 isn't considered "teen".
dwightschrute writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:25:17 AM

Great movie. Abrams CPR'd the franchise just as Nolan did to Batman.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:39:30 AM

It is f*cking awesome! Not just awesome- you have to add the 'f*cking' on their because thats what you feel when you walk out- like you've been f*cked over and over again in an orgy of wonderful effects and stellar acting! It was geeked out amazingness and I would never nitpick it. What was missing I expect in the sequel. An origin film cannot be all things and all ideas.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:41:54 AM

f*ckin great film, great cast, great script...and a great Leonard Nimoy really hit the spot
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:58:14 AM

I had the midnight showing last night- I never got to sleep until 7am- Groggy as hell and I just cannot for the life of me understand why anybody would not like this film. It's a great way to see if you're one of those people with a huge stick in their ass- because if you absolutely hate it- you have no pulse and your opinions regarding blockbusters should be cast down into Frank Miller's 300 pit. THIS IS STAR TREK!!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:08:19 PM

PM - you're right. I've come to learn here that some are 'haters' just to be so. They rarely offer up evidence as to why something is bad... they just say it is. Sometimes it honestly reads as 'jealousy' on their parts. Sure there is crap made... we all know what those are, and we can all pick on them. But this movie has too much going for it. I'm a bit older, a little more patient than I used to be. I'll wait until this movie cools down in the theaters for a bit before I go. But...I'm looking forward to seeing this one for sure.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:23:24 PM

I'm 25, took my trekkie mother (first generation fan who hates the term trekkers) for an early mother's day present- she nitpicked the timeline a tad at first but once she realized what was happening with Nero and the plot she fell into it. And she absolutely geeked out over Scotty and McCoy- knew who they were before the names were uttered as she did most characters. I've never seen this 45 year old woman so giddy...and you know what? When she walked out and heard some diehards talking about how the time travel thing was stupid and ruined Star Trek, she looked at them with a scorn and said, "The original Trek always had time travel- what f*cking show did you watch?"
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:28:07 PM

Good for her. That's a nice gift you gave her. And it won over she as an original fan of the show (as am I). So yeah... it's funny (it really is) to see people pay $'s to see a movie only to pick it apart... but that's our society these days isn't it? I mean the ONLY time I can remembering doing that is seeing the (Bana) Hulk and a best friend of mine (also a comic collector way back) wondered WTF was Banner's Dad doing in the movie (time-filler it turned out)?! Other than that, picking apart other peoples work making movies that obviously are doing a better job than I ever could... well, the negative people, I wouldn't waste my time to want to meet them in 10-20 years to see where that negativity has gotten them.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:29:36 PM

And your Mother is quite right. The original 60's series jumped around through time all the time.
lost_addict writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:45:24 PM

my fav part was when megan fox took a shower with that female alien...
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:49:37 PM

Ahh... that was me with Megan, but thx!
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:57:53 PM

...and I have to say also, if you don't have a thing for Zoe Saldana- You will. Give the girl a year and Megan Fox will lose roles to her...Two sets of bedroom eyes and only one can act- yeah Zoe is gonna take her down.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 1:08:03 PM

I hope you mean that literally and physically?!
Necronullus writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 1:11:30 PM

PrevalentMind: While I have to say that as your mom being a trekkie I will have to agree with the people poo poo-ing the plot Time Travel people is thee worset plot of any film or tv show not only Time Travel but Flash Back!!!! And this damn film has both.No I am sorry unless they can pick up the sequels after this mess with something I truly want to look forward too (like the war between the Starfleet and Klingons no head rdges!) I will never except such a horrible "bloggers" cast of people.
masKritic writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:32:54 PM

sh*ttiest sh*t of the summer. Wolverine was better.
masKritic writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:33:39 PM

just kidding i haven't seen it yet but I know it'll be good.
PrevalentMind writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:14:49 PM

And Necronullus is one of the few with a stick in his ass. All plots of ST films made no sense in some respect (Final Frontier? Voyage home? All the rest of them?)...no ST plot has fully worked as a film besides Wrath of Khan...and the best flick since then was First Contact and there's plenty of time travel in that one...yeah you just got that giant stick wedged up there. I'll defend this one to the death. This film is great- if we can praise and understand and overlook leaps in logic to praise great films like TimeCrimes, we can do the same for this plot. The plot is the introduction of relationships and Nero's revenge...time travel was merely a plot device- not the plot itself. Star Trek Abbrams is awesome.
gdub1574 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:21:21 PM

I thought it was a good movie. I have never seen anything Star Trek before and usually shyed away from the series but i thought the movie turned out pretty well. definitly a perfect summer movie with tons of action and suspense.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:23:15 PM

Plus people are looking at this movie under a microscope, (like they usually do)but shouldn't for this one because this isn't (FOR A FRICKEN CHANGE) a remake (ugh!), a sequel (oi!)... and it's not even a reboot (sigh!). It's an ORIGINAL RE-introduction into the Legend that is Star Trek - for those that felt they could never get 'into it' because they didn't get it. This is ALL... GENIUS! To ALL haters and pickers... if you can do better, please do. We'd ALL look forward to viewing YOUR work on the big screen (I'm being sincere here). I was in the same room with Gene Roddenberry once. Even then I knew that was a great moment, and I was in the presence of genius. Gene - I wish you were here to see this all!
gdub1574 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:25:40 PM

anyone else weirded out to see tyler perry in a movie where he isn't in drag as an angry black lady? haha
Blank x2 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 3:25:42 PM

TRUEMAN, is that even English?
Figwit1216 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:09:39 PM

I am NOT a Trekkie, I think Star Trek is ridiculous, but I actually really liked this movie! I was hilarious though, because there were obviously a ton of Trekkies in the audience and every now and then they would start cheering and I had NO idea why. haha. I felt very out of the loop, but it was a very fun and well made movie. I dont know how the Fans are feeling about it overall, but you dont have to be one to have a good time watching this and that's really all I ever ask of a movie.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:12:17 PM

Hi Blank (we finally agree...lol). And to: Figwit1216 - nice to read an open, honest post from a non-Trekkie (Trekker). Glad to see this movie has brought your into the fold. Enjoy yourself my friend... Trek has offered us all a more optimistic future.
Fishsticks writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:26:47 PM

Do you like fishsticks??? Bitchin!!!
Spanish Brock writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:36:55 PM

Thought it was great! The plot is a mess but the great character moments, crisp dialogue and amazing special effects make it all work anyway! Can't wait for Star Trek 2!!!
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:38:45 PM

Yeah...what ARE they going to call the sequel since there already is a Star Trek II (man... I'm gonna need a flow chart to read Hollyweird in a couple of years!)
acslaterson writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 5:47:54 PM

Wow all of these comments and no complaints about the CGI. I was going to wait till Monday to see it to avoid smelly mouth breathing nerds but since so many seemed to have loved it I am going to go tomorrow. And I was kidding about the nerd comment. ;-)
Pembrokehawk writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 10:04:25 PM

Pretty good.
halostingray87 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:09:26 PM

I f*cking LOVED this movie! Being a huge fan (I own all the series on DVD and have watched them at least twice). I grew up watching this series. I think that Abrams took a huge risk but did so knowing what he envisioned. I love the subtle changes to the special effects (i.e projectile lasers rather than straight stream) and the whole cast was excellent (kudos to Scotty, Bones and Spock especially). Anyway who bitches about time-line/travel and history being changed obviously doesn't know Star Trek or they are TRYING to find something to hate on. Think this is a Great wait to bring back the original cast of characters and story. Praying for sequels to come!! A+, 10/10.
halostingray87 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:13:34 PM

Meant to say that this is a Great way to bring back the original cast and allow for a whole New set of stories/chain of events. And on another note, I think Most Trekkies big question on this reboot was "How are they going to portray Kirk??" who could possibly fill those shoes?? Well, in doing what they did they could bring about a slightly edgier and tweaked personality making this new Kirk not only a believable outcome of the different time-line but an all around more personable and universal character that is bad-ass and humorous.
richardfojtik writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 12:41:31 AM

Have not seen it yet, BUT, I have heard no one talk about the old spock (Leonard Nimoy). Did he have much to do with the film. If so, how was his acting. I think that is why I was looking forward to seeing it because of him. I love Trek, Nesmis is my favorite, can't bring back the original cast because most of them are dead. Next Gen was never really finished in my head. I thought alot was left for them to continue with. Would have been great if William Shatner had a guest spot with Leonard Nimoy, but what's done is done. I guess he feels fat and dumpy now. But still love him. Getting the Studio Scale Star Trek Ship this month, a big $1,000.00 dollar bill.. I must be a nut over star trek. Peace out. Rick.lol
OneTime writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 1:05:04 AM

wow.......unreal movie
masKritic writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:09:25 AM

just saw it it was amazing Tyler Perry caught me by surprise haha.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:40:15 AM

I have to say I always thought Star Trek was boring and super cheesey. But wow this movie was pretty rad. I saw it with my brother who loves Trek and according to him its full of little Trekkie tidbits. Those all flew over my head and I still thought it rocked.
doneehoward writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 9:49:03 AM

Kal-El writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:01:21 PM

Set Phasers to Fun! Overall, enjoyable movie with lots of clever inside stuff for Trek fans. And because of the premise, the writers have permission to rewrite characters and history against any nerd attacks, which is maybe the most brilliant aspect of this movie. Unlike the previous Trek cannon though, the science in the movie is a joke (physics mean nothing here) -- I'm not talking about technology, more like "space jumpers" falling in orbit and the reptile on the ice planet, but I understand that it's go-go-go movie logic and not real. I give it an 8/10 and I'll say that I like it better than Dark Knight, and maybe just behind Iron Man.
SmOkEdCrAcKiN writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:03:01 PM

I thought it was the most entertaining film I've went to in a long time, especially a sci-fi. Of course it beats all the prequels to Star Wars combined IMO. I am not a Trekkie, but my fave episodes involved Captain Pike, "The Menagerie" at the end with Admiral Pike in the wheelchair it made me wonder, would be cool if they put Bruce Greenwood's head on blackbox!
bacci40 writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:58:41 PM

i thought it was a great reboot
Dre-EL writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 3:27:34 PM

Im a Trekie living in Jamaica and wont see it till Tuesday. Cant wait, it looks to be a fantastic ride.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 7:25:32 PM

Star Trek was amazing! it was so good, the casting & their performences blew me away! loved it!! The action was there when needed and didnt seem over done. The overall plot & story was great also, 10 outta 10! possibly the best film of 2009
ashesandembers writes:
on May 18th, 2009 at 5:57:08 AM

It was real awesome, good script and sequences, a grade acting and loads of references back to the original. .only problem for me was the bad guys there was no stand out they were all interchangeable . . . the main bad guy could have been a grunt and you wouldnt know!
the_tortel writes:
on May 24th, 2009 at 12:12:07 AM

I have been a fan of the original series since I was too young to internet, I've always loved it, loved kirk, loved bones, loved spock, loved them all, and the first six(scratch that, the first four, and then the sixth!!) movies, and speaking from my point of view, this film refreshed what was old, and created something new, and grand. I was impressed from the start, and felt it did it's job, and opened up for new possibilities and new adventures, let alone new twists on classic adventures. However, not being someone who has been attached to Trek for forty years, I was able to enjoy it more because I wasn't soooo dearly attached to the original that I could stand it all being changed around and generally rewritten. I was disappointed my father didn't enjoy it, I think he was simply expecting a tale of Spock and kirk's younger days at starfleet, and not a reboot, of sorts. All in all I am very pleased by J.J.'s redux. I wish this franchise the best of luck!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved