WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Keanu Reeves in "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" Film

Posted: May 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Keanu Reeves in "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" FilmSubmit Comment
Universal is developing a modern retelling of the classic novella "The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr. Hyde," with Keanu Reeves attached to star and Justin Haythe, writer of "Revolutionary Road," penning the script.

Nicolas Winding Refn is in negotiations to direct the project, titled "Jekyll." Refn is a Danish director who recently co-wrote and directed the indie crime biopic "Bronson," which premiered this year at the Sundance Film Festival.

Robert Louis Stevenson's tale about a doctor who scientifically develops an evil self has become so pervasive in popular culture that the phrase "Jekyll and Hyde" conjures the idea of a split personality. The story has been translated to the screen and stage dozens of times, with several deviations including comedy, kids ("Jekyll and Heidi") and gender (1995's "Dr. Jekyll and Ms. Hyde"). The story has seen modern iterations as recently as 2007, when the BBC aired a miniseries with the story set in the present as Hyde ran amok in London.

Plot details for this "Jekyll" are being kept a secret.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:06:13 AM

But he's only played one guy in every film he's been in...... Keanu Reeves! lol
AshTrey writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 2:33:33 AM

anyone else?!?!?! please
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:20:47 AM

did somebody forget the jekyll and hyde film starring john malkovich and julia roberts called 'mary reilly' (1996)?...cuz that was a good one too...but i just don't understand this here...how does a director like that go from indie to mainstream?....oh i get it, it's cuz mainstream got so sh*tty that indie is actually better now
TRUEMAN writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:20:04 AM

its going to be a carreer achievement for this guy two characters in one movie my god hes brain is gonna frie lol
Satan Kid writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 9:32:45 AM

I loved Mary Reilly. It was an interesting take on the old story. It had a lot of Bram Stokers Dracula sexuality (which was very popular at the time of the films release and also had Reeves in it) and I loved the fetus transformation at the end of the movie.
Pepeman writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 10:13:03 AM

So he's gonna play the same character as he always does...BUT TWICE ? - hmm. interesting...
kagai writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 11:18:37 AM

Woah! I'm totally a bad guy right now. I'm totally going to kill you. No, wait, I'm totally a good guy right now. It's cool. Sweet!
coldplayesence writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 12:22:20 PM

Look at that picture... now, we're gonna watch that same emotioneless face x2.
Ranger writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 1:08:46 PM

lol... u guys are brutal...brutal I tell you!
synthetic1985 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 4:48:56 PM

i think something unexpected would be seeing keanu reeves do a comedy movie for old times sake
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on May 8th, 2009 at 5:48:41 PM

i CURSE the name Keanu!!
tolgaboy writes:
on May 9th, 2009 at 2:00:15 PM

make action movies thats the best for you
Vega writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 2:22:53 AM

He doesn't really have much range. He needs to find more roles like the recent Earth Stood Still remake where he can just stare blankly at the screen and say his lines. He played the emotionless alien pretty good. Maybe this will be the role where he tries to show the world that he really can act. Good luck with that.
Ranger writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 12:39:05 PM

I don't disagree. But I think he keeps getting picked because his acting is so low key. Matt Damon on 'Inside the Actor's Studio' when working (being Directed by) DeNiro said he learned so much. DeNiro keep toning down Damon's performance, and Damon really liked the results. But very true about his range when this movie (this story) calls for complete opposites... he's an unusual choice for sure. Side Note - If you find a picture of a really, REALLY young DeNiro, anyone would be surprised how much he and Reeves look alike.
majorziggy writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 2:56:38 PM

OMFG i will see this opening day if keaunu is infact jekyl/hyde. this made my week awesome, this is the best casting news i've heard in a long time. hell yea KEANU!
Gunslinger writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 7:56:00 PM

Didn't anyone see River's Edge? I have to agree with you, Ranger. The whole toning it down thing is the same philosophy that the creators of South Park have when it comes to fart jokes. They say that they always turn the volume on them down by 10 decibels, and it's always funnier that way. We'll see if Keanu's low-key style will work here. I like him, to be honest. He's made more movies that I've enjoyed than I couldn't stand. Constantine, Bill and Ted's, Parenthood, the first Matrix, Speed. I'd have been pissed if they cast him as John Connor or Captain Kirk, but Dr. Jekyll? Does anyone really care if he ruins the character?
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on May 10th, 2009 at 8:06:47 PM

f*ck you all, keanu is a damn good actor and this will be great. Jekyll/Hyde is classic and I'm glad its finally being made

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved